Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Albuquerque, New Mexico

In general, Albuquerque is pretty non-descript, but Central Ave especially in the University of New Mexico is hippy-friendly. The hippy hangout is Winning's coffee shop. The Peace and Justice is located nearby and has all the local info for events. La Montanita co-op, Peacecraft, Stella Blue (dead-head music club), The Guild Theater, a few head shops, bike shops, the big weekend flea market, music stores, alternative video (Alphaville), and Buffalo Exchange (kinda pricy for a thrift-store), are all right on Cental. The downtown and University scenes are also right off Central.

Added: February 25th 2005
Reviewer: Stuart Rasmussen | See all reviews by Stuart Rasmussen
Category: Place
Location: New Mexico

Hits: 17544

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by Kindred5570 on 2013-02-05 20:31:55
Can anyone tell me if there is Community living anywhere in New Mexico?

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by on 2010-06-17 01:11:36
Enlighten Others has ABQ's FIRST floatation tank (aka sensory deprivation tank) I am a hippie and i definately spend alot of time there! Its at 4th and montano

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by Paul Milner on 2010-02-06 19:29:31
Stella Blue has been closed for several years now. But the same people have a fantastic pizza biz in Cedar Crest, NM just east of Albuquerque. It's called Sandia Crust Pizza.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by Tanzinlabrie on 2009-06-21 09:42:03
hi

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by AbqDez on 2009-04-25 05:25:36
I wanted everyone to know about the Million Marijuana march which takes place in Albuquerque New Mexico on the first Saturday in May every year. I good key to how HIP Albuquerque is the number of locals and businesses that come out to support this march. This year it is going to be on May 2009 and leaves University and central about NOON. The march goes up central to Birdland (a major supporter of the event) and then back down to the corner of the UNM at Univ. and Central. It is really amazing, there are over a dozen cops who volunteer to patrol that day because they believe in the cause. Food Not Bombs brings lunch. And almost all the shops along the route have something interesting. The fact that no one ever gets arrested or even hassled also tells you a lot about this town.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by westman on 2008-05-18 05:03:02
The Frontier Resturant has been a popular spot since the late 60's.It was always a great place to land back on earth from those far out cosmic experiences of the day.Im sure that it still vibrates from all of the mind waves.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by nola on 2008-01-30 21:44:55   My Score:
Winnings has good food, good coffee and a fairly chill/pleasant atmosphere. My favorite aspect of Winnings is that a small used bookseller comes in 3 times/week (Bradley's Books). Bradley is a great guy with a great love of books, great selection, and great prices. I'm giving Winnings only a 4 out of 10 rating. The problem lies in that it takes way too long to get your order, the staff is not friendly. They're rude and and don't seem to care about customer service. It also bugs me that they spend an extraordinary amount of time delivering orders to tables. Their system is that when you order, they jot down a vague description along the lines of "blue shirt" of you so that they can find you when your food is ready. I assume the idea is to create the illusion that they really pay attention to their customers and know who everybody is. In reality, they spend a lot of time asking everyone in the restaurant in a blue shirt if they ordered the soup.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by Orange Morning Starr on 2007-03-15 03:58:49   My Score:
i love new mexico, and downtown abq is the place to be if you are a hippy. hippies stand on the corner of satellite coffee and play their guitars. its beautiful peace...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by David on 2006-03-22 16:46:55   My Score:
Silver City New Mexico- Very hippy & artist, musician friendly. Many alternative peace niks ect.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by Nicole on 2005-11-20 17:42:29   My Score:
It seems to me that every time I go back to visit my home of Albuquerque it gets more beautiful each time. Of all the places i have lived I've never seen a sky like New Mexico,the sunset seems to swallow you're entire human existence.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posted by Brad on 2005-11-15 02:32:25
The Frontier Restaurant located on Central right across from the campus is a place for great coffee and their famous cinnamon roll. Breakfast at any time (best with green chile) and a spectrum of clientele from bums, students, families, businessmen, to, yes, HIPPIES! Get from quinching that munchie craze and people watching.

 
Main Menu
Search


Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls

Votes 12255
New Articles
· Wrong answer, try again.
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun

[ More in News Section ]
Random Headlines

The Arts
[ The Arts ]

·Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
·International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam
·Hollywood Propaganda vs. The Movement (1969)
·Hip Profile: Lee Bridges, The Cannabis Poet
·Art Links
Features
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· Irwin Klein And The New Settlers: Photographs Of Conterculture In New Mexico
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy