Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Atlanta, Georgia

"There is a certain area in Atlanta that is known as Midtown which houses an area known as Little Five Points. This is truly the hippie haven of the south - or at least Georgia. In this little portion of town there are many body art and vintage shops, including a favorite of the locals called Groovy Girls. Other odds and ends are sold around here such as African drums, futons, and crystals. .

Just like the goods that are sold here, the people are an assorted mixture as well. New age Flower Children, aging Flower Children, skateboarders, and Rastafarians line the streets daily. Drum circles are common practices here. Little Five Points and the nearby Piedmont Park also host the Pot Festival every year."

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Georgia

Hits: 38125

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by carl on 2014-11-18 22:21:37
Little 5 Points is still very much the heart of a vibrant community, but that supporting community has grown vastly larger. The diversity is still ground-centered in L5P, but our roots now extend to Decatur and Oakhurst, to East Atlanta, to Cabbagetown up into the Highlands. The range of urban restoration continuing to take place has never been greater, and it is on an expanded scale. Affluence has certainly repainted a lot of the landscape back into the condition it once was it is previous heyday. It is precisely the success of those urban pioneers in Inman Park and Candler Park, surrounding L5P, that now fuels the extended recovery into more neighborhoods. If you want a taste of how authentic Little 5 has remained to our roots, check out any YouTube video of the last Halloween parade. Yes, the crowds were gigantic. It's a LOT bigger than it was 5-10-20 years ago. But it is still Little 5. Personally, as I think about all of my neighbors in Candler Park, and many I know in Inman, I have to say... we're all a bunch of hippies. So enjoy Little 5 for what it still is, a place to have fun being yourself.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by britknee1992 on 2014-03-19 19:53:31   My Score:
im reading that some of you are in the North GA area. im from Chatsworth and wanting to visit a commune near by that is okay with bringing small children. im starting a new leaf on life and being more natural and crunchy. i have starting cutting out all cheicals and starting cloth diapering for my youngest. any of you good people know of any hippie towns or communes really trying to talk my hisband into leaving this small town to join a commune. any feed back is welcome. thank you so much (: peace love and hugs

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by mntbear on 2013-07-31 13:09:20
I guess I need to get down there to 5th in Atlanta. I have only lived here in GA for about two years, and I have been busy building a campground of peace and love. My Lady and I got tired of all the BS and we chucked everything and now live in the North GA mountains now. All you Hippie lovers need to come see us. We get busted on all the time for being hippies, But guess what? I love it and I am not changing for anyone. People see our colors or our signs and If they were meant to be here they come in. Look us up on our web site campskeenahcreek.com

Live simply so others can simply live


Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Stone on 2013-04-18 19:24:16
Lived in Atlanta in the 60's and hung out somewhere that we called the Strip. I don't even remember where that was! LOL! I was actually down in Morrow when Morrow was kind of rural. Anyone remember Daryl Rhoades or Jimmy Royals. I was the stoned crazy guy selling pot on the corner!! Man, I miss those days, music!, the park!!, even Grant Zoo and what was the name of that biker gang that hung out in a bar at Peachtree. I remember selling "Silly Simon" right across the street with Dennis. Hey remember Kung Fu on TV! How about the Atlanta Pop Festival (both years). I wish I could run into Wayne and Wanda and Doug..Remember when the cops searched your place and all the pot was under the boat!! and you cat was so stoned he couldn't climb a tree to get away from my dog!! LOL! Good Times! Peace out everyone!! I wouldn't live in Atlanta now but my brother is still there in Riverdale!!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by kushkindnessr on 2013-01-31 06:48:03
please take me as a member or just give me a chance !!?? peace love hope to hear from you. thanks

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by WayTooMellow on 2012-01-15 08:46:31
I live at the boarder of GA and TN and there is no place like that around here so maybe one day I will come down there and give it a try.

Peace & Love Everyone

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by lightwatcher on 2011-11-23 00:37:29
Im grew up in west Atlanta and let me tell you!"L5P"is not what it once was.Its still ok i guess for shoping that is about it!They have bought up all the flop hoses and turning them into million dollor homes so the crowd is not the same no more!It's turning into a yuppy seen there!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by on 2010-09-01 00:00:00
This is Shane I'm from the old daze i walked the streets of14th and then L5P and even went on to pioneer East Atlanta. The one statement here I like is leave some of yourself...do that and enjoy what you have..we did. It's always on its way just jump on board. When I started hangin' out there were Beatniks or Beats, then we came along as Hippies or Freaks...later groups were Goths, Punks and on and on....it's up to you to be who you all are not to be us, we were already us. Enjoy what you make.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by DiannaSunshine on 2010-05-14 19:23:12
I'm moving to the country area outside Atlanta and I don't know anyone so all you wonderful laid back, 60-70's music loving, pet friendlt, etc. people I'm coming in a year!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by megan on 2010-04-15 01:32:55
hello, I am in need of a job, and I want to work outdoors or with plants/animals, anything where I can get my hands dirty. I live in gwinnett county, if anyone knows any descent jobs around here please let me know. I want to work hard and I love the outdoors and anything nature. I would appreciate any pointers...thanks. My email: meadowwinds123@yahoo.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by summer amick on 2009-08-31 05:14:03
hey, let's just start up another hippie haven :)

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by another hippie to move .. on 2009-08-09 00:14:22
Unfortunately, Atlanta's peaceful crowd is a dying breed! I was born in Atlanta and have lived everywhere from in-town to "the 'burbs" and back again. My favorite place, Candler Park (near L5P) ... most Atlanta hippies would agree, though I have heard that some moved out toward Woodstock now. Candler is only for the older (wealthy) hippies. My prediction is that Inman and Candler Park will soon be what the Virginia Highlands has been for the last 15-20 years ... mostly yuppies and snobs. (yuck!) I now find myself EXTREMELY displeased with Atlanta. I am looking to move to Austin, TX or Costa Rica or anywhere that recognizes humans/nature and our value. Atlanta has become a city of Ghetto-Trash and Red-Necks, neither of which have any concern for fellow human-beings, much less the environment around them. In fact, I believe that between the trashy people breeding in Atlanta and the already poor education system, Atlanta is an inferno of ignorance waiting to implode. Even the current governor is ignorant. (apparently, he believes it is HIS job to "teach" Georgians how to "plan ahead" by not voting with 70% of Georgians who voted to lift the ban on Sunday alcohol sales ... an already outdated "bible-belt" law) With this sort of ignorance running ramped, it's amazing that Atlanta isn't already off the map! Plus, Atlanta City, Fulton County and Dekalb County (not to mention cities within like Sandy Springs and Doraville) police are not out to "serve and protect" (as WE pay them to), but rather to "ticket and imprison" (more profitable). Plus, apparently, the kicker is, if you are imprisoned unlawfully ... they will make it up to you by letting you go! Never mind your time and money involved ... they do all GA citizens (and others) this lovely favor! When they keep you for 2-30 days without due cause, they will just let you go! Whoo-Hoo ... but don't expect an apology, you may be re-imprisoned for asking! And, once again, Atlanta's people do nothing about this, because they are all stupid and ignorant as the Georgia education system designed them to be! Atlantaís people don't care about environment, fellow human-beings or maintaining fair government. Just take a drive through Atlanta during rush hour (6am-7pm) and you will see what I mean. It scares the crap out of me that people like the ones in and around Atlanta actually exist! I realize that ignorance breeds more ignorance, but in Atlanta, we are exacerbating the problem by fueling ignorance with ignorant, poorly educated, close-minded government officials and law enforcement. I can't wait to move somewhere that my tax dollars pay for services I would like, for example, money toward reducing carbon emissions. Money for protecting the NATURAL environment around us, money toward law enforcement that serves out greater good and protects our livelihood. Money toward teaching our children how to think creatively and move us forward. I want a community of people that gives a damn about our government and how it effects us. So if you feel the way I do ... don't move to Atlanta, and if you are here ... move out!! I would say, help me to fix Atlanta, but I feel the cause is already lost! Good Luck and God Speed My Friends! Peace.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Danladi on 2009-06-10 12:11:49   My Score:
Sometimes I think I'm running after a dream that dissapated before my time here on earth. These days it seems to be about what you can get instead of what can be spiritually attained. I have always loathed conformity but it seems I am becomming one of them.My whole life it's been US and THEM them them them slowly but surely we are morphing to machines with heavy carbon shoes ripping though the fabric of time bringing about our certain distruction. Media driven and books have become a thing of the past. Most young people know more about pop culture than they know about peace, love, FREEDOM....and spiritual matters. It's like we live in a rauchy 50's without the beatnicks. I thought that I could change things but I'm turning resistantly but surely to one of THEM. The hippies were easy to find in Arizona, NewYork, Milwaukee and soon I will visit SanFransisco to see what is left behind on Height Ashbury but Atlanta...I just dont know. I know it's not in Buckhead where I currently reside and Midtown was too...well I'll leave that one alone. I'm hungry for kindred spirits I love the trees to much to just leave Atlanta is'nt like most cities so many trees it's a beautiful city it's the people who want to put me in a box expecting me to listen to rap music when the Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Love is what I prefer. Ok I'm off my soap box .....is there anybody of like mind out there?

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Ev on 2009-04-16 05:00:30
if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything, all the negitivity read here is really not very close to anything that reflects the mind set of that age ~ try a little harder, learn to be peaceful with what you've got, see the good in what is around you and then, you may just attract what it is you say you are looking for, unless you are just a malcontent, which is very non-hippy.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by laura on 2009-03-28 23:05:03
i've lived in atl all my life right in the middle of midtown, grew up with the hippies in little five, running around there as a little kid.. and yet if people are searching for the "hippie vibe" go to little five but it's a little over rated now days, people trying too hard or people going to little five to see the ridiculous people who live there along with hippies though, there are drunk people passed out in the street, foreigners from all over starting new businesses, and just pretty much every kind of person, but there are hippies ALL OVER atlanta, and georgia in general, everywhere you go. so remember that when you're in atl and dont look too hard or you'll miss it myspace.com/laurashep

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Free2live on 2009-02-26 04:41:23
Awesome! I wonder when does this event happen

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Haight on 2008-12-04 00:16:56
I hope there is still a hippy scene in Atlanta. Was was a "beatnik", then later a "hippy". I played the Bottom of the Barrel, the 12th Gate, Piedmont Park almost every Saturday and many afternoons, Manual's Tavern. I was friends with Ernie Marrs, a friend of Pete Segars who lived in the dirt basement of a hippy couple's house. We hootenanied in an apartment in the unrestored Margaret Mitchell House where I sat in the second story open door of an apartment that had no balcony attached to it and let my feet hang out while I watched the traffic on 10th street go by. I bought the Martin guitar I still have today from a Georgia Tech student who didn't know what he had for $60 and paid another $60 for a new case. People came down from the mountains to play with us along with drop-ins by Buffie St. Marie, Pat Sky, Fred Neil and many many more. Another occupant of the apartment recently deceased was Tech Professor, Bud Foote who would join us and sing Russian drinking songs. It was a wonderful, peaceful time and perhaps I was naive, but we just partook of gentle spirits, coffee and salami sandwiches. I used to ride my motorcycle down Peachtree in the middle of the night and feel safe in Atlanta. It was a beautiful, friendly time. San Francisco was like that when I moved there too and the sense of love in both places was pervasive. Those were the days, indeed!!! Warm regards to all you hippies, Haight

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Theresa on 2008-11-05 21:07:33
A hippie has been defined in many ways. The media touted the hippie as a person who dressed differently, had long hair, believed in free love, smoked pot and used other drugs to alter the mind. While all of the above could be true it in no way describes what a hippie is because being a hippie is a state of mind and a way of life that others just don't get. I'm 56 now, own my business, live outside the city limits but I'm still a hippie and always will be. I lived in the hippie district of Atlanta during the 60's and until the early 70's. It was a magical time where we sowed the seeds of the future. Don't let anyone ever tell you that what we did was meaninglless; those seeds developed and grew into a country that would elect a man of colour to the highest office of the land, The Presidency of the United States. There is no way to describe what it felt like to be a part of something so awesomely amazing in those years, it will forever be one of those, "you just had to be there" sorta things and for that I am grateful. If you're looking for a hippie experience don't look to the city, look inside your head and heart. Live and let live and you'll attract other like-minded folks. The days we experienced cannot ever be created again, I'm sorry but they were ours. Still...there's no reason you can't create your own environment today.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by on 2008-11-04 08:12:56
atlanta is a shithole with too many idiots and too much traffic, it's horrible and i would never go back.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Wantstogetexperienced on 2008-10-24 00:49:30
I was born in the wrong decade.Im 19 and constantly think about what life would be like in other times.As of late the psychedelic movement really interest me....I want some damn mushrooms and lsd but have no idea where to go.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Mike on 2008-09-25 04:20:28
I'm young: 28 I remember L5P's being more entertaining back around 94-96 when I was in high school. We would go to see the weird people, and to look at the art. Now, it seems to be something all together different. More yuppies and really preppy people. I can't blame the city developers for making the changes it did, but I do agree that it is just another soulless slab of concrete. Atlanta is a city where you have to really work to make new friends. There aren't any places to just hangout and chill with people. We go to work, the bookstore, pickup a coffee, do the drive in, drive in our cages, and sleep. I'm looking to have more adventure in my life. I am tired of my cage!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Rastamon Rich on 2008-03-16 19:44:13   My Score:
ATL's LFivePts
is what everyone is saying... a dying, used-to-be cool but now commercial as hell, hole. It's sad! It still has some shops and stores, like Sevananda Grocery, some Rasta gear stores, a Crystal shop, etc., but many of them are really closing down, like the Hindu Furniture store, the Latin Restaurant, etc., and selling out to the commercial pressures around the area. As far as Hippies, Yippies, Rastas, Frastas(Fake Rastas), Punks,Goths,etc., go, they're leaving.... to where... I don't have a clue. But you can come down anyway.
    Welcome to the New South!!!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by MotherMayday on 2008-02-21 05:26:51
I remember the Bottom of the Barrel..hell, I LOVED that place! May and her brother (that owned it) were two of the nicest people I have ever met. They taught me how to clog when I stayed with them in their big old house a few times on my way through Atlanta. Pat Alger & Happy Traum played gigs in the music side regularly. Pat taught me some awesome songs (Hands Across the Water for one) He's a great writer, that's for sure. I found this string while looking for my friend Kathy Rock. Does anyone know where she might be? We used to drink boatloads of Tuborg at the bob and just have too much fun. Kathy trained Afghans for some people in Sandy Springs (The Feldmans?) and lived in an apt. right next to the kennels...very nicely appointed digs. Also, I remember a sweet old wino named Jacob (Jonas?). He hung out around 14th and was just so salt of the earth and gentle & everyone knew him. Once, someone stole his little transistor radio while he was 'sleeping' so everyone got together and fixed him up. The leather guy made a harness that strapped tight around him and held his NEW radio close to his body and the earpiece ran up through his coat so no one could mess with it. Everyone took care of everyone then. There was a sunken parking lot in the middle of the block where cops would walk through and only check the short haired guys to see if they were AWOL! We walked down there once and you could've bought anything you wanted. We drank some ripple wine ...just once! Pagan Pink, it was all we needed for the rest of our lives, but it sure was fun. How innocent that was. It was in 67-68. Gentler times. Got to play with John Vandevier in Piedmont Park, too...he was an old friend from FLorida. We both wound up in Austin later on. Unfortunately, some bad juju got him in Houston. So sad, too bad. Anyway...what fun to remember the barrel! Does anyone know what happened to May & her bro? I cannot remember his name for the life of me but can see his face as if he were here! Those were the days. That 60 year old fella' should remember all this silly stuff!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by readytomove on 2008-01-20 18:03:20
I've lived in atlanta for 11years now and am looking foward to moving outta here. Atlanta was once a very different and wonderful place when the olympics temporarily brought many cultural and international people here. Since then city government has pressed hard to downplay and replace it's wonderfully known slogan of "Hotlanta". Bar hours have been cut back. The huge gay population that once dominated midtown, is now all but extinct. The rock and alternative band scene has mostly morphed into a scene of country, redneck, and maybe some appalachian folk, so if that's your thing, start packing. Urban sprawl has resulted into such a traffic nightmare that coorporations are now looking elsewhere to locate due to traffic conditions. I rarely run into kind or hippy minded people here and if I do, they seem mostly to be more of the toned down redneck variety than true enviromental, spiritual minded type of people that I enjoy.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Jenny on 2007-11-12 05:56:58
I have lived in Georgia for a while, and I have seen how things are. L5P was a good place, but now it's getting more and more commercial. People go there to shop, mostly, not hang out with their circle friends and talk. LP5 is now prized for shopping. Of course it's still a great place, but Atlanta is gettting more and more commercial, and it is becoming too harsh. Athens is another thing. There people live for peace and god. There are churches on every road, and christianity stands strong there. Everyone there is kind, always smiling and helping eachother. I have not been there for 2 years, but that is how it was. It's a little haven where friends can go.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Lisa Hogan on 2007-09-19 01:49:17
there are hippies in georgia and not just at l5p you just have to know where to look there are a few in warner robins and smyrna but i've learned that if you're truely a hippie, you'll just start to attract other hippies therefor, you'll be able to see beyond the gettoh people of geogia and you'll have your own little circle of friends that you can identify with =] worked for me myspace.com/28064693

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Lisa Hogan on 2007-08-30 21:19:11
omg you guys i just moved from Bisbee, Arizona to Atlanta Georgia. Ugh this sucks man i can't find any place around here that really suits me i'll check out l5p but i doubt anything here could compare to bisbee =/

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Gene on 2007-08-23 23:16:03   My Score:
I am new to Atlanta someone tell me where to go to get that hippy vibe. I love live music in and out doors. I like drum circles. Someone help me find cool hang outs genesstuff@email.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by gene on 2007-08-23 23:09:43   My Score:
Well then Im lost where do I go as a hippy at heart to feel that vibe. I like live music. Drum circles. I live in Roswell but I have no idea where to go hang out at. SOMEONE HELP ME genesstuff@email.com email me info

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Patrick Edmondson on 2007-08-15 14:48:21
Hippies were around the Strip and Park www.thestripproject.com covers this era. Then began the diaspora to Little Five Points and beyond, next addition to our site.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by madbeachdog on 2007-07-12 19:40:12
Born and raised in Atlanta - and am now 60!! years old. Most of you, I hate to say, are really far away (thought I was going to say 'far out' didn't you) from what the real hippie/flower children considered our area. Piedmont Park and the surrounding area about half a mile around was the zone. There is no way to really narrow it down to one street or building. The park was where many met and passed word and got their bodies painted including me! The 14th street area was where a revival the "new" hippies started. It lasted around 6 mo. to a year as a safe place to go. Then turned into a disruptive, drugged, drunk and violent area where the crime rate was approaching the worse in Atlanta. By that time those were our kids out there. There was no peace or love or sticking flowers down gun barrels. If you remember the Bottom of the Barrel, The Bistro on west peach., or our newspaper the Great Speckled Bird - then you truly are a real hippie from Atlanta.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by madbeachdog on 2007-07-12 19:23:31
Born and raised in Atlanta - and am now 60!! years old. Most of you, I hate to say, are really far away (thought I was going to say 'far out' didn't you) from what the real hippie/flower children considered our area. Piedmont Park and the surrounding area about half a mile around was the zone. There is no way to really narrow it down to one street or building. The park was where many met and passed word and got their bodies painted including me! The 14th street area was where a revival the "new" hippies started. It lasted around 6 mo. to a year as a safe place to go. Then turned into a disruptive, drugged, drunk and violent area where the crime rate was approaching the worse in Atlanta. By that time those were our kids out there. There was no peace or love or sticking flowers down gun barrels. If you remember the Bottom of the Barrel, The Bistro on west peach., or our newspaper the Great Speckled Bird - then you truly are a real hippie from Atlanta.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by judy on 2007-06-22 19:52:33   My Score:
I was just sitting here and looked on the net for a cool place I used to go to and it was L5P and I was real excited when this came up. I lived in Atlanta for 6 years and had the best dang time of my life.. Of course that had to change and now I live back in Illinois-- real fun.. I was there over Thanksgiving and never got to go there but looking forward to next time..

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by GeminiShaman on 2007-06-02 13:20:07   My Score:
I live about twenty miles south of Atlanta. L5P is a nice place to go shopping but that's about it. I am a young hippie and I personally find it depressing. The Atlanta area should be avoided if your looking for a community to join. It may have been a haven in the past, but now it's just a strange area of ghetto that just so happens to have a few hip places in one or two areas. If you want to find others who live the lifestyle of peace, love, and fellowship, leave Georgia. That's what I'm going to do very soon now. Freedom 4 Ever!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Kelsea Anderson on 2007-05-25 00:49:18   My Score:
Some of you guys might not think that L5P is a hippie haven anymore...but for us yippies it is! We don't have much left of yall's totally wicked era around, so we have places like L5P, which may not be exactly like they use to be, that have formed into a place that is a new age kind of hippie haven. Nothing will ever compare to the way places were back in the 60's 70's or early 90's but hey come on we're trying! I loooooove L5P and if you're into cool stores with retro clothes, cool trinkets, and really great bongs then this is the place for you!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by MysterE on 2007-05-16 02:51:00
When the Strip died, many of us moved our commerce to a run-down reck neck area that was still semi-dangerous to hippies. But we remade Little Five Points into a place we could tolerate living in a city. A tolerant zone for peaceful life. Anyone who remembers The Strip and 14th Street from '67 to '77, please contact us with your stories. www.thestripproject.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by MysterE on 2007-04-18 22:47:49   My Score:
Hello, Great site! We are The Peachtree Strip Project in Atlanta, Ga We are trying to collect interviews, emails, art, and artifacts about the time from '67 to '77 when all this artistic ideas in Atlanta flourished around the Strip and the downfall. When we were called Hippies. There's a chance some friends will play. An excuse for nostalgic freaks to gather their thoughts; a labor of love and peace not profit. Though we do plan to offer connections to people still creating artistic products people can purchase. Our first event is a "human Be-In", sort of, at the Margaret Mitchell house on Peachtree on July 26th. Know anyone we should talk to? Any way to help get the word to people who were in Atlanta then? Thanking you in advance for any help. Patrick Edmondson, Patti Kunkle, & Charlie Armstrong www.thestripproject.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Ian on 2007-04-16 01:58:18   My Score:
Yea, l5p is right up the road from me. I'm new to the area, but I can tell that it used to be a very hip spot. It's still a really cool place, alternative folks from every genre hang out. Check out Calcutta if you like Indian food. Junkman's daughter and Vortex are pretty cool, as is the bar scene there. Just about every store on the block has a head shop in the back, although there is a police station on the corner, so be careful. Never seen it used though...The area is very expensive regarding housing costs, and don't expect to find a couch to crash on just by wandering around (use couchsurfing.com), but if you're in Atlanta, and you're looking for the Place To Be, it's l5p.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by kathy in the country on 2007-02-07 16:25:40
Yeah, Terry, I remember the old strip. My friend and I were saying yesterday we think the old Krystal is the only thing left. Is that the only landmark you can use to figure out where it used to be. It was right at Ponce and Peachtree, right? A past black panther told me about the night the strip died, that the cops threw someone into the road and they got hit by a car, a near-riot ensued and nobody had the heart for it anymore. Anyone confirm this? I agree about the L5P being yuppified. Looks like the Haight in cisco now.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Karen on 2006-01-04 14:37:52
Little Five Points is not in Midtown, but Piedmont Park is. Little Five Points is due east of downtown, going toward Decatur. Find The Carter Center on the map and you are almost there -- the key intersections are Moreland, McLendon and Euclid. It may seem a minor point, but with traffic being what it is in Atlanta, you don't want to spend time driving around Midtown looking for L5P, cause it's not there!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Dave(tiresmoker@gmail.com on 2005-10-18 09:17:10
I think someone was puttin you on, most everyone who hangs out at the landtrust drum circles smokes pot and trips acid and shrooms. Never really remember any drinkin though. Theres a nice stage for performances and such. Dont forget to checkout the bulletin board on the way out, its usually pretty interesting. I recently revisited the place and was very disheartened by all the construction and developement the residents have done. Especially all the fences closing off areas that in the past were free to roam. It was much better when it was an open, park like refuge. Now its just like everywhere else. In fact it looks now like just a bunch of backyards. The sense of community erodes when residents start fencing in their own private little areas. It used to be this wonderful open area, now its like this little trail in between the fences with a few animals fenced in here and there. From what I was told, there are very few of the hippie type folks still in the surounding houses. It now costs a fortune to live in that neighborhood, so I wouldnt be surprised if yuppies and such now live in some of them. I almost cried when I saw what has become of L5P. Seriously. Back in the early 90s it WAS the hippie counterculture mecca of the south, trust me. The RAINBOW FAMILY used to use L5P as a midpoint stop/gathering place on their mass migrations to and from major gatherings;mainly in FLA and Kentucky. And they were always welcome by all, There were even council sanctioned mini-gatherings at that park down euclid,what is it,peace park? The city of ATL knew very well what was going on and absolutely could not have people from all over the world see this side of their fine city. So it was systematically castrated along with a HUGE police crackdown campaign for the coming olympics. Now its a trendy shopping mecca for area women of all types, and a frat guy/yuppie party place at night at the new bar that used to be the coffehouse on the corner, and directly across the street at what used to be Good ol Days. Some things I remember: There was a great big dormant lumberyard right up from peace park on what I think was Highland ave? And the family that lived there used to let them (OK, I admit) I mean us, take showers in their shower on the side of the building. Just absolute HEAVEN for people who live (not camp, live) in the woods. Later on(right after WACO) that place was taken over by several locals and renamed 'The Compound'. On certain Wednesdays of the month, they had these HUGE partys that you could pay a couple bucks to attend and drink all the low-grade keg beer that you wanted. All the local area bands wanted to play there and if you lived in the area and had a pulse, you knew about these partys. Some of the people who lived in there were: Kenny (KB), Thor, Rick, Laddy, etc. Who remembers the big boycot/protest against the Texaco across from the square? Its not even a texaco anymore. How bout the little 5 points mafia? (undercovers) That L5p pizza you speak of was(is) the original first Fellinis pizza, Chris Robinson from the black crowes used to work there in the OLD days, before he was a rich star. How bout that guy who owned the wolf trading Indian jewlery store across the street who was ALWAYS snitching on people on the park! Rest in Peace Little Five Points You are gone but never forgotten

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Benther Dondat on 2005-08-23 04:12:59   My Score:
For anyone on a journey of self discovery undaunted by the prejudice of expectations walk or run (donít drive) to the exact center of the known universe affectionately known as the Lake Claire Community Land Trust. A magical garden arisen from a kudzu covered garbage dump and now a place and an opportunity for friends and neighbors to celebrate nature and community. One mile from the bohemian ghetto of Little Five Points amongst ancient trees that protect and embrace this wondrous garden oasis. Not for the pseudo hippy wanabes distracted by persistent search for conformity but for the spiritual seekers that have glimpsed the mindís eye and are seeking to awaken to the heart of the spiritual I and to gaze unblinking at the nature of beingÖhuman. Not funded by government or corporate grants nor maintained or managed by executives or bureaucrats but lovingly tended by the gentle hearts of friends and neighbors. Spectacular drum circles every 1st and 3rd Saturday night. Strict NO drug or alcohol policy. You will be asked to leave if you are observed with either. Occasional music fests. Must like reptiles, very large birds and peace and love. All others are advised to avoid this hell whole.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by terry on 2005-08-12 02:04:51
little five points ?kinda commerical.old hippies that i know live in the country.where youdont have to pay to park.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by terry on 2005-08-12 01:59:55
anybody remember 14 and peachtree the strip inthe 70s.any old hippies ?richards. electric ballroom.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by on 2005-08-01 03:23:08
I was lucky enough to visit Little 5 points last year and I must say that it is the coolest little place Ive ever been, and thats a lot of places Ive been to. Anyway, there is a place there called the junk mans daughter, and there is a resturaunt by there called the "Vortex" ...i think. anyway the door is a skull, cant miss it. It was an all out great expierence. I hope to visit again.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by tim on 2005-06-07 17:32:12   My Score:
been to atlanta several times - i just don't see the appeal in it, sorry. even with the areas folks have mentioned, it seems like a very dry city with very little personality. i'm sure it has plenty of places to hang out, but you pretty much have to drive to all of these. car culture is arguably even more prevalent in atl than in parts of so. cali, where i lived for a long time. even in parts of midtown or virginia highland, street life is virtually nonexistant most of the time. atlanta seems like the kind of city that grew because of a boom in jobs, so a lot of people moved there and subsequently an infrastructure was developed to accomodate these people - as a result there is a lot of new development but it's primarily soulless, yuppified, suburban, or a mix of all three. of course there are a couple of blocks of trendy/bohemian stores, but compared to any large city with a true alternative street life, areas like little five points are a joke.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Stoneswart on 2005-03-24 00:38:46
In 1985/86 ish there was an awesome band that played L5P area and L5P festival called Jane Doe. I know they recorded with Mitch Easter and they were touted to be the "next big thing". Around the end of 1986, they disappeared. I figured they had went to the U.K. or New York or L.A. to expand their audience, but they simply vanished. Does anyone know what happened to them, or have a copy of their music?

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by seekingsmoke on 2005-02-25 22:38:21
anyone know where I can get some pot in atlanta? I have heard that you can get it in L5P; is this true?

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Susan Mesat on 2005-02-22 18:40:04   My Score:
I've been in Atlanta for about eight months, coming from upstate New York and Little Five points is where I hang out. There is this Duo that plays the local scene, that will put you in a funky hip-notic mood, their vibe is out of control. They are based in Atlanta, but they are all over the country. This is a group that turns every venue into a Hippie Haven. The group is, Jazzmatic. The website is jazzmatic.com This is one of those groups that if you haven't heard of them today, you will hear about them tomarrrow! Their contact info is on the site and they answer the phone and will talk to you as if your their best friend. I love these guys and you will too. Don't forget the website: www.jazzmatic.com and see for your self.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Joel on 2004-12-28 23:52:17   My Score:
L5P was a lot different in the early 90s. However, it was immature and largely ignored by those who like it today, namely intellectuals and liberals who have found the Decatur/Morland area an island in the sea of rampant conservatism in Atlanta. Emory University, while not the only liberal university in Atlanta, is by far the most influential. In fact, it is probably the most influential in Georgia. So L5P is located in a good spot for those who want to do a little shopping for interesting "tobacco" pipes and check out an anti-war demonstration that might get noticed.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by SP on 2004-12-28 23:00:13
Miami is the true capital of the south!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by don on 2004-11-18 22:57:09
all i have to say is that little five points is being really overated by a few folk from ohio and florida. it only has 5-6 bars/restaurants, 1 record store and a few tacky clothes shops that would be ridiculed in paris of NY!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Thomas just Thomas on 2004-11-16 01:17:15
Well I have to say you folks are really not from the square as I remember it. I lived on the square for almost two years from 94 to early 96 and things were way cool then. I was sleeping in the cardboard recycling dumpster behind Seven Stages and pretty much eating pizza at Fellini's and at the white house over on Moreland (I don't remember but I think it was a food not bombs place). Anywho I remember people like Becky and Jeff and Promethius (asshole) Murdock (you came all the way to NC and saw me) Angel you precious thing and my honees Angie and Michelle. How about Sir Stairway High and Yee ol mayor Paul.And the big black guy with the fork rings.( Dude I am so sorry I forgot your name but I still make some of those rings in your honor). There were others and there will be more who pass this little quaint place on Earth but just remember this folks. It really doesn't matter the size of the place you are in, it doesn't matter the size of the crowd and it doesn't matter how many saw you there. What really matters is that YOU were there! Leave a little bit of yourself in enough places and someone is sure to remember you.Peace my brothers and sisters of L5P I'll always want to come back. THOMAS

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by leo on 2004-11-04 23:49:07
everyone keeps reflecting that L5P is this cool hippy mecca! have you all never been outside of Atlanta! L5P is a couple of blocks in diameter, it has about 5 bars/restaurants, a couple of record shops and a couple of homeless drop outs. if you really think that this is the epicenter of cool then you'll have brain overload in NYC, SFC and london, paris, and any other western city outside of the deep deep boring south! listen, i'm a londoner and currently living in atlanta, and all i can say is that L5P is nothing special.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Gemini Osiris Dream on 2004-09-23 09:40:39
I didn't go to Atlanta this year , but I have been to Little Five Points and I love it . This year , however, I came through Athens GA a fews miles NE of Atlanta and hung out . It's not exactly a " hippie haven " but it's a cool hip town with a great music scene . After all , Athens is the home of The B'52s, REM and Widespread Panic . I saw Urge Overkill one night and another , Ken Stringfellow is co-founder and one half of the great power pop band The Posies . Ken did a solo gig that night. Literally . He played only a Kurtzweil keyboard and one electric guitar and sang . His voice was so fucking good that at one point he moved away from the mic and sang without amplification and his voice was still beautiful . Let Mick Jagger attempt that , huh ? Anyway , I met , and got Ken's autograph. A down-to-earth real nice guy with no ego problems that most musicians seem to have . If you're hungry on Sundays and Tuesdays , the Food Not Bombs group serves vegan meals downtown . ( hi Geoff; hi Jessica , I still haven't got your email) Athens is not a bad little town .

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by leo on 2004-08-16 02:37:18
If you want to see a real bohemian town, go to Camden town, London. L5P is just a pathethic little street, with a couple of bars and a few tacky clothes shops.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by noah on 2004-06-11 06:22:46
I lived in Atlanta most of my life. My Parents started the Land Trust which was mentioned above. I remember seeing this town when it was way more hippy. My parents bought one of the best houses in the city back when it was only $25,000 in 1978. They got 1.5 acres and a house near the hip intown area of little five points. They bought a neighboring 1 acre with neighbors for $27,000. Now doctors, lawyers, and other urban professionals are buying up the homes. Crappier homes are going for like $250,000 and mansions for $600,000 or more. The problem is of course housing costs. Drives the true artsists and urban homesteaders out. I think Atlanta lost much of its charm. Now folks are having to buy up cheap homes by going into the true ghetto. Where crack dealers are and murders all the time. Things are changing even in the ghetto though. They're building a death star sized shopping center right in the real ghetto. Intown atlanta never saw anything like it. Gonna be right next to Little Five Points. Very strange location if you ask me. "Progress" is okay though. The problem is that generally Atlanta is quite like L.A. in architecture: Car City. So in other words all the old walkable neighborhoods are becoming expensive because the suburbs suck. In some other cities the walkable areas are much bigger. Like Chicago,etc.. in Atlanta they drive more than almost anywhere in the world. Many places in the suburbs don't even have sidewalks. The climate is awesome though. And the job market is great too compared to cost of living which is reasonable. I just don't feel connected to people here. Nor do I feel connected to the outside world. People here can be ignorant of things going on elsewhere. I don't meet many travelers. There are almost no hostels in a city of 4 million because there is no particular reason for someone to visit. I feel it is a little bit of a money vacuum. Meaning people focus a lot on money even though there is plenty here. Very gay friendly. Lots of blacks and yuppies and gays. Okay with me but I am a young straight single white male age 25. I'm into community and sustainability and art and activism,etc.. This isn't great place for people my age. Better for career types in their 30's. There are artists for sure and hippies but this city just doesn't have that "mojo" that other places can have. This is a fine place to make money for awhile or it might fit for some people. It definitely has its strong points. But for that mojo feeling you get that makes you feel alive, that you can meet people and have a good time and that life has meaning - its hard to find here. And I've lived right in the "hippy" area for many years. The thing is that it is still the conservative south that surrounds Atlanta. Most of the suburbs are still boring backwards people. Given, they are an acceptable and better form of that type of person than would be found in say Alabama. That what Atlanta is: Boring. I think it is OK in other ways and people are pretty nice. But I think it really is just boring if you are really looking for true alternative culture. So, who knows, Atlanta may be right for you. This is just my opinion and the city is too big for me to be an "expert".

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Shawn on 2004-01-30 06:40:27   My Score:
Anyone in Georgia, im me. My screen name on aol instant messenger is sexdrugsandrock1. :)

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by satori3 on 2003-12-19 21:25:15
Athens Georgia is the next best thing.....even better than L5P if you ask me.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by poppy on 2003-11-30 04:40:06
i have lived in Atlanta all of my life and visited Little Five Points numerous times. I have met some wonderful, hip people there but it is more of a diverse crowd nowadays. If you're visiting it is a neat little place to browse (but expensive)>check out IFO- a cool dead shop. And always a good place to watch interesting charaters. Anyways i encourage all to visit! PEACE!

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Natalie on 2003-10-19 21:57:17   My Score:
L5P is cool, it's become tredny but it still retains some of the charm that led it to be called a hippie haven. I love L5P, there is a health food/co-op there called Sevananda, very cool people :)

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by cookiehead johnson on 2003-09-13 04:20:42
I think some of you folks have a little confusion on the difference between subculture and hippies. Little 5 does have some good shopping, but all the housing is rather expensive due to the fact it is now aimed at yuppies. It is complete with a futon store and a starfucks. Also it is a haven for those damned travelling gutter punks always asking for handouts. Besides some longtime stores such as wax n facts most of the cool folk have moved up the street to east village. Why does all the atlanta neighborhoods have newyork city names? I recommend against atlanta unless you like smoking crack and getting mugged and or a really big gay yuppie community. I am going back to austin myself.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Richard Lord on 2003-08-25 10:30:42   My Score:
Oh yeah, like I even forgot to rate the place.Five Points is like heaven with all the vices, (and a few paisley pigeons to boot!) anyone that disagrees, return fire to rdaniellord@yahoo.com , and no, you can't get $20.00 bags of columbian from that green house Elmira Pl., anymore

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Richard Lord on 2003-08-25 10:11:05
1257 Euclid Avenue... ...was a towering mansion (sort of) straight out of a Jack Flanders mystery. I lived there when I was 13, in 1972, and remember the maxi skirts, the Zig-Zag patches, and the smell of Patchouli flowing through the neighborhood. Little Five Points was a great influence on my life, even if I didn't get rich selling flowers there, well at least not monetarily. I live in Jacksonville,Florida now, and long for the days of Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks blaring over the old Zenith Hi-Fi, and the hippie girls rounding-up to go to the Health Dept. for thier VD shots.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Mushy on 2003-08-24 19:26:10
I am moving to ATL in the fall. So far L5P is the only place I have found (on the internet) that looks interesting. Are there apartments for rent in the area? Can anyone give me some info on this?? Thanks! I am not sure I will be able to check this board, so place email me at Mitchy1127@aol.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Deji on 2003-06-05 17:44:35
I lived in Little 5 (Inman Hills apts.)for quite a few years during the early 90's, and I can only say that after moving away and coming back to Atlanta that I was greatly saddened by the changes. I wish that any younger Atlantians, or new visitors to the area, could have experienced it then; to call it a 'hippie haven' now is almost ridiculous, with the exception of the land trust---perhaps the last true hippie haven in the area. If you visit the area, visit the land trust, talk to one of the residents (they live in the surrounding houses and can often be found working in the gardens there)about the history of the area. Ask about even earlier history, no, not the Civil War, although there's plenty there, too. While it certainly changed a lot over the years, like any neighborhood, the most drastic (yuppified) changes occured around '95, with a write up in an Atlanta magazine and the passing of 'noise' ordinances that banned the drum circles that once took place almost nightly in the square. When I was a resident there was certainly those who did not respect the area, but in general the locals really looked out for each other. Many who would attempt a 'crime' ie, hurting someone or stealing hard earned possesions, were more afraid of the very vigilant locals and shopkeepres than they were of the police, with the exception of Officer McFarland--a sometimes pain in the ass, but a good guy, who seemed to care.This started to decline as many local began moving away. No doubt the yuppies feel much safer now; afterall, they have a Starbucks, a brew pub, The Point and Felini's are gone and those very dangerous trees in the square have all been put in cages.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by melissa on 2003-03-31 15:22:32   My Score:
I think little 5 is an awesome place to find some hippies, but it's not just a hippie haven, it's a counter-culture center. There are a lot of different groups and the last time I visited I found it to be dominated by goths

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by Randy on 2003-02-20 02:43:04
Little 5 Points is nice. Definitely a hip, diverse crowd. If you make your way to Little 5, make sure to stop in Little 5 Points Pizza. It's the best damn pizza on earth and it's a $1.40 for a 1-topping slice, which is big enough to fill me up. When you're broke as hell, L5P is heaven. There's also a lot of really good dining places here and there. Variety Playhouse is host to a lot of shows... recently they had Leftover Salmon, David Allan Coe, Keller Williams... it's a decent little spot. I go to Little 5 Points almost every weekend. I do outreach for some of the homeless out there, passing out condoms and drug information, refer people to the needle exchange, that sort of stuff. Most of the homeless in that area are drifters, but some of them stay year round, and all of them are really friendly.

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by thekid on 2003-01-18 12:23:53
i live about 45 minutes south of atlanta......we are just a few like-minded souls who found one another despite the mess society has caused down here. we have good friends and good times and we love to share. dreadsistah@yahoo.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Posted by noah on 2002-08-20 05:11:44   My Score:
I have lived in Atlanta my whole life. Little five Points neighborhood definitely has many progressive, cool people. Many health minded people and hippies. If you have time, you must visit the Lake Claire Land Trust at the end of Arizona Ave. This is the real hippie/alternative center of Atlanta. You will meet many excellent people here and you can relax in the organic gardens.

 
Main Menu
Search


Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls

Votes 12299
New Articles
· Wrong answer, try again.
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun

[ More in News Section ]
Random Headlines

The Sixties
[ The Sixties ]

·Hippie Drum (free ebook)
·Summer of love
·Old Hippy Soul Revival
·Student Dress Codes? (1969)
·Napalm: Not Your Ordinary Jelly
·Hippy.com Updated!
·Free John Sinclair! (1970)
·Bill Ayers and the Children's Community (1968)
·Rediscovering the Past
Features
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· Irwin Klein And The New Settlers: Photographs Of Conterculture In New Mexico
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy