Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Alaska

"After spending the past few summers in the wonderful state of Alaska, I must let you know that the entire state is a great place to be. All summer long there are bluegrass shows, festivals and trips to be taken. Whether you are into the Matanuska thunderfuck, fruity pebbles, or any of the other delectables of the state, or just hitching around to see the land, you surely are welcome no matter what you are. I've had more amazing experiences in Alaska than I could ever imagine. My boyfriend and I hitched over a thousand miles to Homer. We had no problems getting a ride. Jerry's twin (right down to the nubby fingers) picked us up and let us camp in his front yard, fed us strawberry daiquiris and smoked all night. Let everyone know that Alaska is only part of the US because of it's government and monetary units. Go and visit, you may never come back :)"

I just wanted to emphasize how cool Alaska is. I have lived here my entire life, all 19 years of it. I have visited many other places but there is no place, no where like home, because home is where the weed is and we've got the best! Lookin' for the ultimate festival ? We've got the Talkeetna blue grass festival every year in the begining of AUG. its four days of camping in the woods and trippin' to the sounds of blue grass. a must for anyone who wants to meet thousands of other people lookin' for a happy, fun time. keep on tokin'

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Alaska

Hits: 27031

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Alaska
Posted by Lizard king on 2015-01-10 05:50:41
No more blue grass in Talkeetna , sucks ...

Alaska
Posted by Truly on 2012-01-25 05:32:57
Having lived in Alaska 30+ years let me assure you all that Alaska is the perfect hippy destination. No one wears ties or suits, except maybe Anchortown, the boo is top shelf, and there are tons of hippies laid up in the woods all over the state. Politically, the place is dreadful. Think Sarah Palin. Which is all the more reason for you to go there. If 20,000 hippies went there and voted, they could swing a landmass half the size of Europe into the 21st Century and out of the 19th Century knuckledragger mentality it has now. You can build a cabin with zero permits, zero inspectors, any way you want and no one can say anything. I grew super sugar colas the size of baseball bats in the long summer sun outside Squarebanks, and my space cookies were FEARED for the 12 hour trip time, and that was just off the shake. It gets cold though folks. You need a capable vehicle, 4 x 4. You need to work hard to make winters. But there are lots of the real deal dreadheads and kind hippies to go to potlucks with and burn fatties. Lots. And believe me they would welcome you with open arms if you helped combat the right wingnuts running the show. Alaska needs you. Bad. Go. Do it. You will love it.   

Alaska
Posted by meghan on 2009-11-06 02:33:47
alaska is choice, ive lived here for years . its got killer herb and great hiking. two of my brothers teachers go into the alaskan wildness with just a knife and live for a year or so , they survive they live how they want and its nice. Racism can be a problem and so can politics just like a lot of places but overall i would recomend it to any one.

Alaska
Posted by Mr. E.S. on 2009-04-29 20:54:50   My Score:
Talkeetna Bluegrass: I will play on Sunday at 1 pm, its going to rock this year- 20 hours of music per day--- Dirty Ernie's Best Party Ever!! The 28th Annual Talkeetna Bluegrass & Music Festival Friday, Saturday, & Sunday August 7th, 8th, & 9th 2009 TalkeetnaBluegrass.com

Alaska
Posted by Muriel on 2009-04-26 16:26:30   My Score:
I spend 2 summers working in Alaska, at Lynx creek pizza on the border of Denali don't know if it's still open...I had the best time ever and so many nice encounters all kind of people but always interessting a crazy on a good way. only bad part of Alaska, it's part of the US and getting a Visa to stay is almost impossible...almost 10 years that I left Alaska and still think of it everyday ! I'm kind of Alaska-sike for life !

Alaska
Posted by mamajuju on 2009-03-17 01:12:11
MY HUSBAND AND I LIVED IN FAIRBANKS FOR 7 YEARS AND IT WAS A GREAT PLACE. WE SHOULD HAVE NEVER LEFT! THE LOWER 48 HAS NO IDEA WHAT IT IS LIKE TO LIVE IN GODS COUNTRY. IF YOU ARE WANTING MORE MODERATE WINTERS THAN WASILLA OR SOLDOTNA IS WHERE YOU NEED TO GO. ANCHORAGE IS A LITTLE TO CROWDED AND IF YOU GO FURTHER SOUTH THEN IT RAINS TO MUCH. FROM EITHER ONE OF THOSE PLACES YOU CAN GET INTO ANCHORGE IN A FLASH. WE ARE GOING TO MOVE TO JUNEAU, BUT IT IS A RAIN FORREST AND NOT A WHOLE LOT OF SUNSHINE, BUT WHEN IT DOES COME OUT IT MAKES UP FOR ALL THE RAIN. WE HAVE LOTS OF FRIENDS THERE IS WHY WE PICKED JUNEAU. LOTS OF LUCK ON YOUR NEW ADVENTURE!!!!!!

Alaska
Posted by Cris on 2009-01-26 05:14:41
I moved to Fairbanks and have been here for a year. I used to live in Houston and I smoked all day long. I don't feel comfortable asking people to you sale weed? Any other suggestions.

Alaska
Posted by sars pars on 2008-12-21 22:47:22   My Score:
Alaska is a wonderful, beautiful place. I've lived here for 18 years and it's what I would call home. Once I'm done traveling the world, Alaska is definitely the place I will reside at, no doubt about it. The festivals are definitely something you should check out if you're visiting. Only in Alaska will you see people dancing at three in the morning to bluegrass music at Trapper Creek in May! When the temperature isn't the warmest (unless you're the one dancing hah) And Trapper Creek is definitely my absolute favorite festival. Check that one out. Along with Talkeetna...it's more of a mellow Altamont (from the sounds of it, I've never been to Altamont obviously considering my age) with all the Hells Angels and what not. Anderson Bluegrass is beautiful! Along with Forest Fair (which was cancelled until further notice...which will hopefully be soon!) The air is fresh. The people are nice. Alaska can be so isolated in certain areas, especially during the winter, that everyone basically looks out for eachother. If you see your neighbor's car broken down on the road, you'll stop and help them. It's just the way us Alaskans work...and I love it!

Alaska
Posted by Andrew on 2008-10-01 11:09:51
Hi i live currently in New Zealand and are looking for a quiet, peaceful place to settle down for a bit well aslong as it takes to find myself and enjoy the nature. I cant stand the society we live in here and want to find some people that arn't all gang related drunks. What town would be the place to try this out. I wouldn't mind some grass along side as I think it is a part of life. If any one can advice me where to go it would be greatly appreciated.

Alaska
Posted by KalliMa on 2008-04-10 20:55:52   My Score:
Alaska is a VERY VERY conservative state. Crawling with republicans and uptight rah rah millitary. (in Fairbanks alone there are two bases, and about 10 miles away, in North Pole, is yet another one) Most Alaskans vote against just about everything we hippies would vote *for* I lived in Fairbanks (AKA Squarebanks) for about a year and a half. Living in town is a drag. They have a Wal*Mart now :( that made me so mad. They have every modern thing you could imagine, even Star*ucks, and Barnes and Noble. Two Fred Meyers stores, (Fred meyer is like a giant general store, with groceries, electronics, clothing, garden, automotive, toys, all kinds of stuff. Great beer selections, some have a Natural Food section that is pretty big) If you can find a good cabin to rent things are much better. There are almost *no* apartments there, and the ones they have are iffy at best. Once we had moved up to Haystack Mountain things got much better. Built a Yurt on 9.85 acres, (about 5 miles down the road was the Chena river!) that we purchased for $22,000. Cept we had to evacuate 2 times during the construction due to forest fires. That was not so fun. There are a few ok coffee shops, an awesome used book store, supposedly a health food store (though I never found it) a fantastic farmers market, and music festivals just about every month during the summer. (this is all in Fairbanks BTW) I would say that while there are a lot of hippies in Alaska, Fairbanks isn't quite the most friendly towards em. Neither is Anchorage. I've only been a few places in AK though, so there may be other areas that are better. Homer was cool, though a little sketch at times. The Spit Rats made me nervous. (Similar to Tour Rats, but they hang out on the Homer Spit)

Alaska
Posted by Mycom86 on 2008-04-05 02:51:40
I've lived in Alaska my whole life. I can honestly say it's like anywhere else in the U.S. You have your big box stores, chain restaurants and malls. You do have the opportunity to escape into the wilderness. Sustaining a "back to nature" life style is VERY laborious. People have done it, but it is not something you want to do with limited experience. I am an experienced outdoors man myself. I can honestly say I've had moments where I didn't know if I was going to make it alive. When your in the middle of nowhere you cruelly are in mother nature's hands. It can be very humbling and downright terrifying. On the inverse however, you can experience some of the most beautiful, serene setting you have ever laid eyes on. Alaska is definitely a unique place. I would highly recommend visiting before you make the jump to moving here.

Alaska
Posted by Stephen Lovelace on 2008-03-10 06:42:09
My wife and I are going to move to AK. we just dont know exactly where. Shes a school teacher and I like to fish and grow things.Were excited to get out of Mi. People here are mean and they seem to live in a world thats pretend and without honor.Any advice for an alaskin virgin?

Alaska
Posted by Ghanja on 2007-12-10 07:48:39
Whats up everyone...I grew up in Anchorage I left for college...worse mistake of my life...but yeah life there is something entirely different than the lower 48...Anchorage is very very diverse...Once you get out of there you will meet a lot of libertarians...but unfortanetly some racist. People there walk around outside toking...no big deal but its getting more dangerous now

Alaska
Posted by :]] on 2007-11-13 07:12:11   My Score:
I'm 17. Lived in Alaska all my life. Forest Fair Talkeetna Bluegrass Trapper Creek Bluegrass It's where it's at :]

Alaska
Posted by justagirl on 2007-10-22 10:17:06
Reading up on Alaska, it seems like the closest to a utopia you can get. I just want somewhere to let my conscience loose everyday, so something with life that actually has a purpose. I'm looking for simplicity because I feel that is the most fullfilling thing in life. I want a place where most everyone thinks outside the box and shares there knowledge instead of being boastfull about it. The only thing that kind of turnt me off is this whole hippy talk....really, what defines a hippy...I just see the word another one of americans disease....we are all people no matter what our preferences...some classic yes, and some romantic, but its purely all in our heads, right? Is Alaska the place to go if you want to be around people that love life? Festivals and such are definatly a plus...just wandering around seeing everyones creativity go loose....it fills my stomach with an ever burning orb of beauty :)

Alaska
Posted by on 2007-05-08 20:43:53
is there good herb up in AK or not?

Alaska
Posted by alaskid on 2007-01-19 08:51:18
all of these statements are true. good grass, yes good grass. winters are harsh and i try to have a vacation somewhere warm every year. but they are appreciated. i grew up in homer and it kicks ass, well kind of. all of the old hippies that made it what it was sadly are all turning into yuppies of the absolute worst kind. to many stupid people form the states are moving up there and building mansions driving the land threw the roof so that good young people cant afford it anymore. in my early days thats all alaska was people young and built out of wood. capable of taming the wild. well they did it and now people come and come bringing america with them. assholes is what my grandfather would call them. So IF YOU COME LEAVE THAT AMERICA CRAP OUTSIDE THE DOOR. and all ways take off you shoes when you enter someones home. peace and welcome ~e~

Alaska
Posted by aka101 on 2006-11-25 06:48:53   My Score:
Stoner central Weed is as socially acceptable as alcohol -1 Cold

Alaska
Posted by liv on 2006-10-19 04:40:24
Alaska is great. Come to the Folk Festival in Juneau, early April. The weed is the best and you won't regret it.

Alaska
Posted by Cheesehead on 2006-09-03 01:30:13
Yeah Ive lived in Fairbanks for the past year and Ive got to say I dont really care for it. I want to wander down to these places you speak of.

Alaska
Posted by College, Alaska on 2005-09-24 23:31:43
I lived near Fairbanks for about 20 years. I have experience much of what Ak has to offer and now that I have a family of my own. I look forward to the day I can move back to Ak. Ak offers some of the best smoke I have had the pleasure of tokin on. the outdoor life is great summer and winter, if you cant enjoy and Alaskan winter you just don't belong. I miss the Last Frontier......pw

Alaska
Posted by on 2005-02-15 06:24:54
Alaska makes me feel important 'cause you get to use so much more of resources just to survive You can feel like your life is really truly making an impact --on the delicate boreal tundra with your own home-made outhouse chutney-slurry Carve a slice of your very own heaven from the face of paradise Embrace rugged individualism explore the stagant eddy of social isolation whilst exploring the vast realms of career-alcoholic dystopia It builds character!! or is it pathology....I get the two confused oh yeah, you can grow pot, too you'll need it

Alaska
Posted by joshhannum@hotmail.com on 2004-12-12 03:30:15
Dear AK rallier, The human body and mind are capable of a lot more than you might think. Its funny to me that so many people who live in a place like Alaska have such little amounts of faith in sheer willpower and human ingenuity. Sometime in the 1800's, a ship crashed off the coast of Antarctica and a few of the men who were on board survived Antarctica with no supplies or hunting weapons for SIX YEARS!! Living off the land is possible anywhere, including Alaska. IF you think Chris McCandless was an idiot, its because you have no faith in yourself and your own abilities to survive in a place where there are no grocery stores and public utilities, not because living off the land is impossible. Although he failed, McCandless should be heralded for his attempts to unplug himself from "the matrix" of the American machine.

Alaska
Posted by ak rallier on 2004-12-09 11:54:17
chris mccandeless or whatever supertramp (more like super dumbass) is dead. sure going down the colorado river to the gulf of MEXICO was cool, but walking off into the alaskan bush with a 22 and some rice?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? if you applaud this man posthumously for this act of asinine insanity, you really shoudnt come here. if you think for one second that you would have survived in his situation, you are DEAD wrong.

Alaska
Posted by joshhannum@hotmail.com on 2004-12-08 05:53:40
Could anyone please tell me why the hell alaskans hate that dude chris mccandless, alexander supertramp who died in the schoolbus?? It seems to me like he was a brave adventurer and he would have fit right in with the Eskimos and that guy who discovered the north pole, Peary. Maybe yall commercial fishimons are jest jelous cause your wives would have boned him while you was out at sea, if he wouldnt have died in that schoolbus. As a matter of fact, how do you know that your wives and daughters werent up there with him, makin the old bus shake while you thought they were out gathering firewood???

Alaska
Posted by AK RALLER watchouthippies on 2004-11-23 03:33:25   My Score:
ALASKA? ITS TOO DAMN COLD HERE IN THE WINTER (NEGATIVITYRISING) STAY AWAY YOU HIPPIES JUST COME TO VISIT (POSITIVITYRETURNING) TBGF 2ND WEEKEND IN AUG 3STAR MOOSE DROPPING FESTIVAL 2ND WEEKEND IN JUL 2STAR FF JULY4 10 STAR ________________________________________ IF YOU COME HERE DONT EXPECT A FREE TICKET TO RIDE. PEOPLE HERE ARE NICE, BUT IGNORANT OUTSIDERS ARE SHUNNED, POSSIBLY BEATEN AK HARDKORE PR RALLY IN THE VALLY LEAVE YOUR DRAMA STATESIDE

Alaska
Posted by Eric on 2004-10-06 04:29:01
I have saved my pennies for the last 3 years to travel anywhere in Alaska. When I am not there, I am either going through my photos, looking at my video footage or surfing anything "Alaska" on the internet. The people here are the best I have found. I live in Minnesota and they say people here are nice....compared to Alaska, they are mean! Needless to say, I am saving my pennies to spend the next summer there and family and friends here are the only reasons I'm staying home in Minnesota. See you hippies in Alaska next summer! Much Love!

Alaska
Posted by gr8dane on 2004-08-10 07:26:37
The Head shop in Wasilla is called 2k1 Neat Things and it is on Herning Ave behind the Nobodys Inn . It is a good place to stop. They must have 30 different kinds of papers, a pipe room , an adult room and tons of stuff to look at. Worth taking a look.

Alaska
Posted by monseniorDearmoun on 2004-08-01 23:03:42   My Score:
look folks, there is no hippy heaven, i have traveled around the world and Alaska is a great home. I lived here for 12 years then left for 6 now i'm back and loving it again. if you are in the game the smoke here is every bit as good as ADam, its true, been there 6times now and would live there if i could get a job that paid...very hard for non-Dutch. plus Alaska has WAY less people, which for me is a big plus. Oh Yeah, the reason i saw this thread, TBGF is a kick ass party, great national and local band jamin their hearts out. Jerry is there everyyear.

Alaska
Posted by GothicHippie on 2004-07-06 06:58:32
I was wondering about what a hippies chance of moving to alaska to find a new life would be? I like to know what how easy it would be to get work and cheap housing? LA just cant allow a hippie much of a chance to live their life without a huge bankroll....Hell we have over 12.000+ homeless

Alaska
Posted by blue druid on 2004-05-14 23:58:06
if you are a devout christian you will love alaska. if you want a bong dont move to anchorage. the cops are comin down on the head shops. alaska is the usa. dont forget it.

Alaska
Posted by druid on 2004-05-14 23:53:53
shamen hit it on the head....... and i noticed hisher review is still up, negative vibes and all. wow. must be in the hippy loop. i guess i'm not. alaska is a state in the fascist controlled U S of A. need i say more? ok i will.... the pot aint that great up here. im movin' to holland.

Alaska
Posted by on 2004-02-24 04:26:06
I'm a christian hippy and I've lived here a long time. Beautiful state. Hope you other people visit. You will enjoy it.

Alaska
Posted by GreyDruid on 2003-01-25 13:00:19
Been here since 84, State and local govt dominated by right wingnuts, but many excellent local growers; keep a low profile and it's cool.

Alaska
Posted by shaman on 2003-01-24 23:09:26
I,ve lived in Alaska for 6 years. Been all over the state from Barrow to Metlakatla, and I must say that this is a great place to live. If you love getting into the wilderness, it's great. As far as a hippy refuge? To many uptight assholes from elsewhere trying to make it like the place they left.

Alaska
Posted by on 2002-11-06 12:05:38   My Score:
Hell yeah. I visited Alaska once when I was 11 -- I still keep my Alaska poster above my bed no matter where I move, I still have a picture of Alaska on my nightstand, and I still carry around my Alaska keychain. That state has to be one of the most beautiful places in the country, or even the world. I was going to go to college there too but my dad said he wouldn't pay for any of my tuition then... So I guess I have to wait another two years until I graduate, then see about moving up there. Go Alaska, go.

 
Main Menu
Search


Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls

Votes 12255
New Articles
· Wrong answer, try again.
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun

[ More in News Section ]
Random Headlines

Politics
[ Politics ]

·Hopi Prophecy WWIII
·War on Terror is Very Big Business
·Former Revolutionary About to Become Brazil's President
·A Real Solution to the Economic Crisis
·Obama Speaks Out on Race
·A Government Spy in the SDS (1969)
·The Draft as a Means of Repression (1969)
·Democrats Response To Bush Comparing Iraq to Vietnam
·Articles of Impeachment against Dick Cheney
Features
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· Irwin Klein And The New Settlers: Photographs Of Conterculture In New Mexico
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy