Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Belgium

"I moved from Brussels to the little town of Mesnil Eglise (yes, Belgium) and see from the 75 habitants half of them are old and new tekno-hippies. From the solar energy professor to artists and bio food producers all invite friends to spend the summer in the woods of the Ardennes. This makes a lot of people smokin' and roamin' the 3 streets of the village... The melting pot with the original farmers worked well out during the last 25 years."

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Belgium

Hits: 13550

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Belgium
Posted by younghippie on 2005-10-07 22:05:32
Hi, I live in belgium and it's wonderful here ,but smoking weed isn't legal :( this country is getting a bit fucked up by racism sometimes but only a bit ,when you travel to here and you meet the right people it can be amazing i think :) most of us are social I live close to ghent an indeed ,it's an amazing city ,I always feel free when I'm there ,even if it is to go shopping with my mom :D the "gentse feesten" are so cool and many things are free goodbye and... PEACE!!!!! (sorry for my average english)

Belgium
Posted by hippoliet on 2005-08-02 12:18:04
I love Belgium and the best place is Ghent, where it all happens. Music, parties, meeting friends, living and eating Ö itís as if Ghent people are more relaxed about it all than say people in Brussels. Ghent, in general, is a town where you better look out: the art is on the streets. In Ghent, all of those tiny medieval streets can really disorientate you. You never know exactly where they are taking you or where you will end up. The heartbeat of the city goes through it's active nightlife which seems to last for ever. Here, most bars close only at sunrise. I also really like the open mentality people have in Ghent - you get introduced to people's friends, invited out and are always welcome to tag along. The Gentse Feesten is a festival with lots of music and theatre in the city of Ghent (Belgium). It is the largest of its kind in Europe. It starts on the Saturday before July 21 (the Belgian National Holiday) and it lasts ten days. About 2 million people visit Ghent during these ten days, which is four times as much as the carnival festival of Rio de Janeiro.

Belgium
Posted by Bea Bauw on 2005-07-19 15:27:42
I'm Bea and I live in Belgium. Belgium is a lovely place .. I love it !

Belgium
Posted by wilywino@gmail.com on 2005-02-20 05:15:47
Can I spend a summer there? Ardennes; isn't this the area Rimbaud roamed some 130 years ago? I'm Greek and can return the favour:) Kostas

Belgium
Posted by John on 2004-02-05 17:29:16   My Score:
What a wonderful place! Such a lovely place! Belgium is the place to be, I'm American and I actually live in Brussels. People living here are so open. It's gorgeous!

Belgium
Posted by Jessica on 2003-08-16 14:19:24   My Score:
I LOVE Belgium. I lived in Flanders (the north) for 6 months and absoluttly adored it. After living in France, England and Greece i can accurately state that belguim gives home to some of the most laid back, care free, party animal inhabitants. They are open to everything from sex to foreigners. They live freely and for themselves only( not in the selfish way, the more independent sort!) Go there!!

 
Main Menu
Search


Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls

Votes 12313
New Articles
· Wrong answer, try again.
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun

[ More in News Section ]
Random Headlines

The Sixties
[ The Sixties ]

·Hippie Drum (free ebook)
·Summer of love
·Old Hippy Soul Revival
·Student Dress Codes? (1969)
·Napalm: Not Your Ordinary Jelly
·Hippy.com Updated!
·Free John Sinclair! (1970)
·Bill Ayers and the Children's Community (1968)
·Rediscovering the Past
Features
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· Irwin Klein And The New Settlers: Photographs Of Conterculture In New Mexico
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy