Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Ashland, Wisconsin

It's in a small town of about 8,000 people. There's an Environmental Liberal Arts college there called Northland College. There's also a vegan coffeehouse called The BlackCat that is totally vegan and it's like the best environment for poetry and reading, or homework even-plus great organic food. Right next door there's a natural food co-op. All the college students are way nice and there are no cliques. It's like one huge family there. They also had a quasi/bluegrass/comedic/folk/rock/funk band there called the Sheeptones (but they broke up). They sung about environmental issues and I'm sure that they left a lasting impression. They even got a cd out. They have this community program with "Sunshine Bikes." It's to stop pollution and all and give people a better taste of community and sharing. It's a great place that has changed my life and it could for others!

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Wisconsin

Hits: 23365

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Che on 2012-09-27 17:58:46
Fish....
Was it really necessary to post your racist views on a forum for a party which has nothing to do with the Ashland School District? Please take your hate elsewhere as Queeb has nothing to do with it!
Peace!
Che 

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by fish on 2012-01-19 10:02:43
i graduated from ashland high in 2011. worst school district ever. they favor stupid indians and let the indians wear shirts that say native pride. get out!!! im moving the hell out of this town by next year for sure and never comming back

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by tommy f. on 2010-10-27 21:40:23
first heard about Floyd in '84.became friends w/ andy noyes,bob donahue,jeff callies,vince, etc.. all the musician types that were so nice to me. what an awesome town to call home.lake superior, indeed.i can still taste the "tea".happy b-day to you all.remember,floyd rules & todd is godd.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Che on 2010-10-13 00:03:25
2010 is the 30th Anniversay of Floyd E. Queeb and promises to be great!!! I, personally, will be making the huge caldron of vegetarian chili that has become a staple of the celebrations! So, grab your tent, warm clothes, your booze, roll a bunch, and come on down!!!

I was born and raised in NYC. When the East coast bored me I went to Northland in the mid-80's and majored in partying. I stayed there until 1991, when I married a childhood friend and returned to NY. After realizing I really wanted to be back in the Ashland area, where my husband I vacationed every year, we moved here permenately in 2003. Yes. The winters are hard. Yes. One slumlord owns half the city. Yes. The work situation sucks. But...it's beautiful. There are bad people everywhere. In every small town and every big city. Choose your friends wisely.


Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Scot G. on 2010-08-05 02:24:00
In the early seventies, we used to bike all over the state to 'hippie' parties. Tornado Watch in Eau Claire, early June, Mem. Day at the now closed Evergreen Campground by Baraboo, Oskosh for St. Patricks Day, Madison, anytime, and many others. You would be surprised to know that we loved everybody. The biker gangs, the dopers, the drunks, greasers, poets, musicians, ect. Thing was we just wanted to be left alone and party our asses off, get naked or not, howl at the moon, whatever. It was all about freedom, not anyone telling someone else that any one way was better than another, just lets have fun, forget about the war for a little while and enjoy each other. Should have been there.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Antivegan on 2010-07-31 06:46:36
I’m a Northland Grad from 99 (should have been 98, but let’s just say I had fun.) Floyd E. Queeb is possibly the best day of the year; seeing people you only get to enjoy once a year amid a festive, psychedelic, music drenched party warms the heart and brings countless smiles! There is always a good cauldron of chili being cooked too, which usually helps you keep all those crazy fungi in yer belly. Costumes, face paint, silliness, glow sticks, and glitter are among the things you should expect to find on 10/28, along with a hearty buzz from tequila and a mélange of other fine treats that alter perception. I have not missed the event in 15 years, and I fret to think that someday I may end up having to sit one out. Hope that day never comes…and that when I do pass onto whatever is next after this world, they can sprinkle a bit of my ashes onto the infamous MooMoo so that I may continue to rock out with Floyd in the afterlife! I urge any young Northlanders or those from the community who enjoy good vibes and good people to come along….bring your tent, plenty of water, a good attitude, bloody Mary fixins for the resurrection breakfast on 10/29, and of course extra warm clothes to change into after you’ve fallen in the mud!! Long live Floyd E. Queeb! Long live Monte!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Lila on 2010-07-25 02:54:41
if you like a hippy area why not try santa barbara ca where the real hippies are... not the dope smuggling type, that get rapped by college professors!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Moosebreath on 2010-01-25 06:57:01
Born and raised there. Just a little too quiet there for my taste these days. Summers are still the greatest there.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Moosebreath on 2010-01-19 13:39:45
Ashland has changed over the years. recently a Northland student was beaten very badly, and they have not caught the person who did it, even though there was a description of the car with four males in it.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by on 2009-10-28 16:22:17
Northland College is a great environmental college, that has some very happy memories for me. I found cool people in the city of Ashland, and at the college. We shouldn't stereotype each other, It’s important to judge people individually for who they are. Gitche gumee, Copper Falls, and the Apostle Islands are just a few of the magical places around there.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by raverchick on 2009-05-05 23:52:10
Ashland's not great at all. Way too many drugs, drama, and terrible people.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by SkyeFly on 2008-11-12 08:00:52   My Score:
I currently go to Northland. I came here for the environmental aspect, small town feel, casual college life. So far, I love it! I haven't been to the Black Cat yet, but the Food Co-op is nice. I missed Queeb this year, but I plan on going some time. I like Ashland. It's like my hometown, so it's cozy! =)

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Katie Rae on 2008-04-25 04:01:00   My Score:
Ashland is a very beautiful lil' city, great for visitors atleast. I lived there for 20 years, also attended Northland, but it is no place to settle down at. About a year ago I transfered to Southern Missouri State University because the bad economy didn't allow me to pay for tutition. One man owns the whole town, and he's a DICK. The local sweatshop is the only place hiring and the managers there are rude and hateful. Ashland would be lovely for an older retired couple living off their penshions. But as for younge college students, it's no place to be if you dont have mommy and daddy paying your way. I am a fellow treehugger, and take it from me, the people at Northland are kind and loving, but they have no sense of what the real world is all about because of their sheltered lives under their parents roof. I would highly recommend to anyone there, LEAVE!, it is so much better every where else! And people moving there, DONT!, you'll be making a big mistake! Peace & Love

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Windy Lips on 2008-02-22 15:19:03
I attended Northland in the late 70's-early 80's. It was indeed a great place to hide from the real world (sex, drugs, rock and roll), but when reality set in after graduation, it was a cruel slap in the face. Still, my memories of those years are sweet and will make me smile well into my golden years.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Ashland Guy on 2007-12-18 05:03:35
Ashland is a great town. I have lived here basically my whole life. I did go to college in another state, but returned home after. I would first like to say that I have read some of these reviews and it gives me a good impression on who has REALLY experienced Ashland through and through. I guess I just dont get the name calling...Redneck? Lily and White? come on now lets be a little open minded here. Does this mean that because I didnt attend Northland College but i am from Ashland that I am too a Redneck? or anti HIppie? I have hung out with and got to know many Northland students and other "HIppies" and I think they are all very intersting and genuine people. However there is a certain group that I have noticed, the "look at me " hippies. These are the people who very aggresively attempt to be hippies...and there for write on this website becuase they feel like Ashlander's have shunned them. I'm sorry, thats just the way it is. The general community in Ashland is very accepting towards our "hippie" sub-culture. There is just a certain few who give us "Townies" a bad rep. So please do not judge Ashland until you have gotten to know us a little better. Thank you

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by MeMa on 2007-11-14 15:54:47
Silly people. Northland College might be fun if you have never been to Ashland before and your parents are paying your way. (Wealthy parents) Northland College is extremely expensive. The local population doesn't appreciate Northland College students much and refers to them as the "Treehuggers" and "Critters". Ashland has a very poor economy with decent wage jobs practically non-existent. Employers in Ashland are brutal. You won't find a job in Ashland that is secure, pays a living wage or provides benefits for your family. The Mexican folks are moving in from some unknown place and taking up the jobs in the local sweatshop. There is a wonderful local businessman who has magically bought up most of the city (with the help of his local political friends of course) you might even see him strolling around town with his slaves in tow carrying his bible or conversing with his queen while she is decorating the side of yet another one of his buildings with her paint cans. Ahhhh weird. Lake Superior is beautiful for sure and the summer sunsets over the bay are awesome. Be very careful of where you fill up your water bottle though as some of the artesian wells are polluted and the water could kill you (see signs posted near wells). Don't attempt to walk out on the old oredock, the city ordinance fine and police harrassement that follows aren't worth it. Another local saying is: Ashland Wisconsin; "Come on vacation, leave on probation." Just ask us, we were fined for public drunkeness after a few brews at a one of their festivals. Not awesome!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Riverdog on 2007-09-21 01:28:04
Hippies? Rednecks? I dunno....were all people. Somedays I'm hip, somedays I'm red......anyways....Northland is a good college for environmentally concerned folks....expensive though! Ashland, Washburn, Bayfield sit on Lake Superior, Marengo, Highbridge, Mellen sit up in the hills....the Apostle Islands are wonderful islands to paddle around in a kayak. The Queeb party is a wonderful experience.....come up on the weekend of October 26th -28th....the part is always on the 28th (Sunday) this year (2007). Hang out listen to Floydian Slip and a few other bands, play disc golf, hike, party.....get to know some folks. Don't let other people's negativity keep you away. We are a community full of diversity.....wouldn't have any other way. Remember 10-28!!!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Troll on 2007-09-15 10:55:09
Attended Northland 92-96. Ashland is a great place to go hide from the real world.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by FORMER Ashland Hippie on 2007-08-24 03:50:57
I grew up in Ashland..went to St Agnes, Ashland High..LEAVING Ashland was THE best thing I could ever do for myself! I spent my entire childhood being beaten up, harrassed and abused for nothing more than being an awkward adolescent! If the laws had been such as they are today, I guarantee the Ashland school system wouldve been held liable for the lack of my safety and education. AND those were just the kids! The adults were even worse: intolerant, ignorant, redneck, bigotted..need I say more? If you want to raise children with the good old fashioned values of the KKK, then by all means, move to Ashland..but if you are looking for tolerance of individuality, faith or/and ethnicity..GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Seasons on 2007-02-14 04:09:00   My Score:
I'm moving out soon... and I wnat to go to a place with good people... just down to earth, do their own thing kinda people... people to chill with and not give a care about anything in the world. preferable kinda on the warmer side, at least compaired to ohio. where re these places?

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Amy on 2006-04-18 20:42:07   My Score:
i went to the Black cat and it was pretty chilll...Ashland is way up North by Lake Superior....also in ashland they have a pretty badass Music store and a really shaweet hippy shop they have alot of cool shit...Ashland is a nice little place i recommend vistiting the black Cat at least once..

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Fieval on 2005-11-03 20:59:54   My Score:
I've heard of this site for a few years, but never took the time to look at it. Well, since we're all telling stories, here's mine. I'm a senior at Northland this year. It makes me so sad to think of leaving this place. I think I'll stick around for awhile longer. I work at the Black Cat and it's not even entirely vegitarian, we do serve white fish soup on Thursdays. I guess Honore has a Catholic definition of meat. Anyone go to Queeb this year! Oh my, it was amazing. On Madeline Island, 60 degree weather, no rain (except Sunday morning), peak fall colors, and all the schrooms, acid, weed, or whatever floats your boat, that you can handle. It was a good one for my last Queeb as a student. The big 25! Happy Birthday Floyd! Ashland in general is an amazing place. I agree, a little conflicted, but generally a small town feel where you can talk to anyone. The bar tenders at the DeepWater will listen to your every word and pour your favorite drink before you even sit at the bar. I love you Tina, James, and Amy! P.S. The Sackinator's Little Bro is a Freshman this year and he looks just like the original, what a trip! Peace,Love From your favorite little town in the Northwoods

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Chaille on 2005-10-09 17:50:46
I went to Northland in the early to mid 90's. I had a great time living in Ashland. There should be an awsome party coming up soon. I don't know if it still happens, but it is called Floyd E. Queeb. It should be occuring at 10:28 on 10/28. If you're in living in Ashland you should go to this party. I live in North Carolina now and I always think of the good times I had at Queeb when this time of year rolls around.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Jessa on 2005-09-27 18:20:17
Hey I live in Park Falls and absolutly love chillin at the Black Cat. I also stop at the co-op quite frequently to pick up some tea. I hope the black pussy stays in business for a long time. That's what keeps A-town alive!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Caleb on 2005-09-02 23:25:52   My Score:
I'm a high schooler at washburn. Ashland seems like a very conflicting town, at the moment. There are a lot of peaceful, accepting, open minded people there. However, there are also a lot of ignorant rednecks. IE: people that vote republican because it's "what their parents vote". Unfortunately, Ashland's local population has a lot of pricks in it. Northland itself is an excellent place to go, but I really don't reccomend trying our local public school system.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by lt96 on 2005-08-17 22:16:04
ashland is a picturesque little town on the northernmost point of wisconsin. i went to northland college for two years and left for no apparent reason. i loved that little town and yes most the people are happy go lucky hippy schnoogles. you should visit if you are ever in the area. i am not sure if they still do it but when i was there they had an amazing summer venue called big top chataqua. good place good acts. and the ice cream at the dairy is not honor system.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by anunknownperson on 2005-04-17 19:05:04
do people use drugs there?

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by John Kolberg on 2005-01-10 18:24:14
I graduated Ashland High School in 1964. After release from the military in 1970, I hung out with the Northland hippies(still am one) to get my head back together('Nam vet). An oz was $12.00. Does anybody know how to reach a Northland alumni by the name of Ralph Brome?I miss my hometown. A Madison resident since '71. Best wishes and peace to all.JK

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Augie Doggie on 2004-10-28 21:11:42   My Score:
After 24 years Floyd E Queeb still rules. Thanks to all my friends from E. 8th Street. P.S. Happy Birthday Floyd! 1028

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Havy on 2004-09-17 15:08:57   My Score:
I attended Northland in 1984-1986 and was introduced to Floyd E. Queeb, 'eating the worm' and pinkball! I made the best friends in my life in Ashland and miss everything about it except the misquitos and ticks! Even had a spiritual experience with some hippie friends during an awsome display of the Aurora when a meteor came crashing into the atmosphere! I'll never forget my times there! It was a great place to gain independence!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by NY Guy on 2004-08-20 07:27:56
I went to Northland back in 1966-67 before hippies. The Science building was just opening and Fenega Hall was new that year. Northland had a football team but not very good. Many of the students were from NY and NJ just going to Northland to avoid the draft. There was a great little bar called Cabbies that just sold beer. It was packed every weekend since 18 was the drinking age. That year Northland offered a course called "Ecology" and not many people knew what the word ment. It sounds like it has come a long way. Oh there was a Chemistry professor that worked on the Manhatten project and made the Atom bomb. I enjoyed the small town but left for NYC after only one year and one winter at 44 degrees below zero.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Leener on 2004-05-20 21:24:24   My Score:
As for Northland and Ashland, I agree they are great places. I graduated from Northland in May of 2003. I couldn't have asked for a better college experience. I'm a city girl, who found herself transplanted into a world she knew nothing about, except she loved it. The small school is supportive and lovely. I was given the opportunity to do whatever I wanted. When I left Ashland in June of 2003, I cried and cried. My bar, The Deep Water, was like Cheers and everyone there was holding me up. When I go back home to visit, I feel complete again... I hope someday I can have this feeling again. By the way- The Black Cat is not Vegan-- it is vegetarian though!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by purplelady on 2003-12-05 02:53:11   My Score:
I am not a hippie but truly enjoyed this website and the comments. You see, I grew up in Ashland and graduated from Northland College. Growing up in Ashland was the greatest. No crime and free living. Northland College is fantastic. All people are accepted for who they are and everyone is friendly. I agree with the one person who said the community/college interaction and acceptance is improving. I think the community at large is finally realizing what a gem Northland College is! If you like small town living and the outdoors, Ashland and Northland College is for you!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Woody on 2003-10-28 15:37:38
Ashland is a great town, very friendly and very cool. I don't know what it was like in the early 80's, but nowadays, it doesn't matter what color you are. The college is very cool and very environmentally minded (in fact the Sigrid Olson Institute is located there) and the town is also very cool. The jam band Floydian Slip is from that area, and plays there often when they are not touring around. People are totally friendly, lots of vegan options and it sits right on the biggest lake in the world. What more could anyone want? I have lived there and worked there for 15 years and couldn't be happier.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by lab rat on 2003-10-08 15:02:35
Ashland was a pretty good place to grow up, IMHO. and northern wisconsin definitely has a wild art/music/hippie scene. Floyd E. Queeb, Baystock, the Big Top Chautaqua, the list goes on and on. Very environmentally-minded. Some town/college non-interaction, but it gets better all the time. Too bad my mom is moving and i'll probably never get back

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by 9-5-03 on 2003-09-05 12:47:09
Ashland may be a great place if you are lily white and hang out with the "right crowd!" I lived there for seven years and was bullied, harassed, and beaten up for no other reasons then not being "the right color!" I had gone to another school prior and ended up graduating from another high school and did not experience the hell I went through in Ashland! I do have fond memories of Northland though! I took swimming lessons there and played in the gym. Also was it called the Boars Head? Had the best cheesburgers! Once I was at the Library and out in the courtyard there was a small band playing. It was the early 80's but they and their fans looked like something out of the late 60's San Francisco!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by PackersAllTheWay on 2003-08-01 12:37:16   My Score:
I was born and raised in Hippieville, Ashland and I loved every minute of it. It was a great place to be raised. We were very free with very little crime. People are still great when I come home. Ashland will always and forever be home. The people are friendly and if you need any help someone will always give you a hand. It isn't as safe anymore I am sure times have changed but I know if there were more jobs I would be home again.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by on 2003-07-13 11:58:17
Don't go to Northland!!!!!!!!!! Ashland is anything but a hippy haven in my opinion. I go to Ashland High School and let me tell you from experience that almost none of the people there accept or like the hippies at Northland. The Black Cat is pretty cool as well as the co-op, but I wouldn't recommend going to school there. sorry to rain on your parade but if you are looking at Northland.......don't go!!!!!!

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by growingglass on 2003-05-27 00:40:40   My Score:
I go to northland and it is a very chill spot most of the poeple therer are fun and loving. If you go there in the summer you should check out bayfield. That is where most people go and stay durring the summer. But if you choose to travel to Northland and need a place to sleep or just wnat to hang out with some chill people the sunshine house is totally the place to go. It is town house number one on campus. You dont have to knock just come right on in we will be waiting for you. Durring the shcool year there are coffe house's on wednesday nights. where there will be some type of mucisian or something going on with coffe. If you show up on campuse there will posters about it so have fun. and remember "that life flows on within you and wihtout you"

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by A Loach on 2003-03-16 19:08:26
I graduated from Northland in '94. Ashland's a great town. For those who were asking, it's in NorthWest Wisconsin on the Chequamegon Bay of Lake Superior. About 70 miles due east of Duluth, MN. This site is a trip. Every hippie cliche I've ever heard, here for the mocking...

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by JMR on 2003-02-03 10:03:14
If you like Ashland check out Tom's Burned Down Cafe' on Madeline Island. It's really Hippie Heaven. Check his website.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by on 2003-01-23 11:06:40
I almost decided to go to Ashland, but instead I opted for Hollins University in Virginia.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by erik scott on 2002-05-23 10:34:56   My Score:
my sister goes to northland college in ashland i have gone up and visited her and her friends numerous times and they are all great people.....its in a run of the mill (backward) little midwestern town....but it seems like the community has really grown the accept the kids for what they are...good, friendly, caring, motivated people who are doing thier best to enjoy life and help as many people as possible along the way this, to me, is inspiring......and fills me with hope for the future "Without hippie culture, where would we be?"

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by BeatleGuy1980 on 2002-05-18 15:26:02
Ashland is way up in the Northwest corner of the state... looks like around Superior. I've never been there but I looked it up on a map.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by drunkenbiotches on 2002-03-15 02:21:37   My Score:
we come from appleton wisconsin man, where the hell is asland hipsters rule

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by hippie@heart on 2002-02-06 21:19:45
My bro went to school at Northland, and i grew up in northern Wisconsin. The hippie scene in that neck of the woods is there, and the people are very original and ingeneous.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Posted by Nina on 2002-01-31 21:57:55
Where is Ashland? I'm in Milwaukee

 
Main Menu
Search


Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls

Votes 12201
New Articles
· Wrong answer, try again.
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun

[ More in News Section ]
Random Headlines

Freedom
[ Freedom ]

·UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
·Peoples Revolution
·Off the Grid in the Natural State
·Creating a new culture based on tribal values
·Lakota Sioux Declare Independence from USA
·Native Americans Fight Back! (1968)
·Native American Anarchists (1965)
·Torture at the 17th Precinct (1970)
·A Pardon for Jim Morrison?
Features
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· Irwin Klein And The New Settlers: Photographs Of Conterculture In New Mexico
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy