Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Alabama

"We've got lots of forests in North Alabama and sometimes a group called the Rainbow People come to Mount Cheaha and harmonize with nature. There are a great number of hippies living in the Calhoun County area; mainly in Anniston, Oxford and Jacksonville, Alabama. If any hippies need somewhere to move to, come on to Alabama. We have plenty of room and the people of our land don't care what you look like."

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Alabama

Hits: 41101

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Alabama
Posted by Cathy on 2015-09-02 01:33:50
I live in robertsdale,al. I would love to have some hips friends in my area. Who understand me and have the same passion for life. Often I'm misunderstood. Contact me cbeck1962@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Walksonrivers on 2015-01-14 12:59:07
I live in Hamilton alalabama I would like to find more hippys here. If you know any contact me on my facebook www.facebook.com/willybilly30 or willybilly30@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Otis Lotus on 2013-08-24 00:05:17
Grateful Dead tribute band out of Jackson Ms. Coming to Mobile Al to Soul kitchen August 31 2013 and to Birmingham Al to Workplay September 13, 2013. Where the Hippies at????? Hope to see some brothers and sisters there!!

Please visit www.otislotusband.net and hear some of our stuff.



Alabama
Posted by Stonerifical on 2013-06-25 06:51:41
Hey =) I'm just lookin' for some peace loving hippy 
friends that I can toke up with,Chill with,And such.
Me and my Boyfriend would love to hang out with 
such people as mentioned above.I'm living in Athens AL.
If you want to email me my email is, Cannablissfully@yahoo.com

Thanks! I know it's hard to find friends here
In Alabama,specially for people in Athens,And outsiders as well!. 

Peace.

Alabama
Posted by Jeph&Tasha on 2013-05-25 05:59:22
Hello there heads!!!! I just moved down here to Birmingham a few weeks ago with my lovely girlfriend and we are having a hard time finding like minded, easy going folks to hang out with if there are any cool cats around her shoot us an email at jeff4152@rocketmail.com I look forward to meeting some cool cats soon!!!!

Alabama
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-08-21 00:32:27

Yes there r hippies around over Alabama! don't yall care wht other people think of y'all? Forgot em! Be ur self! Yea there has hippy event called Drum Circle which there hippies get together. Much love n peace to yall. My email is deafhippiedom@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by SummerInTheCity on 2012-07-31 03:50:13
Birmingham is gradually, hopefully getting a little more open-minded. I've lived here all my life. This is the land of conformity pretty much--I certainly don't like being expected to have all my shirts without holes in them, and my hair coiffed like a poodle dog! Surface appearance, being judged for it, is asinine. People here can be very nosy. They are right-wing, and apparently too uninformed to realize just how much so. They mostly are extremely nice until they find out you disagree with them; then be prepared for some very primitive reactions. UAB cops are incredibly territorial and rude to outsiders, just as the broader culture here doesn't tolerate outside influences well. Things, though, slowly, are getting better over time in those respects as some of the old guard continues to die off. All the things innovative to help people used to come from somewhere else. I've dared my fellow Alabamians to prove it otherwise! Oh, there might be a freak case or two. A lot of people here have a chip on their shoulder. I loved the 1960's music scene, by the way; so many great rock groups. At the top now, are a handful of individual singers by comparison. I related to a lot of the zeitgeist of the 1960's ubermuch. So, you see, not everybody here buys into the conformist, mindless, party line. Yes, there is hope for Albania--er, I mean Alabama.

Alabama
Posted by ifiranthezoo on 2012-06-05 23:58:37   My Score:
Hi all!  I just wanted to let folks on here know about my little shop in North Alabama.  It's called The Eclectic and I jokingly refer to it as my little Happy Hippy Shop all the time.  Here is the website with all the info: www.TheEclectic.biz.  If you are new to the area it can also be a good place to meet other open minded free spirits and find out about events that you might enjoy.  You can email me from the website.  I came here from Los Angeles and it took a while, but I definitely feel connected now and I'm happy to welcome other new comers to the area.

Alabama
Posted by sammy on 2011-12-19 01:29:51
I just moved back to Huntsville AL after a decade.  I grew up here and can pretty much get along with anybody, but it's difficult finding more like-minded folk.  Nature here is lush, so I enjoy going outside and creating artwork.  Could use some people to hang out with.  Find me at my website sammyconcept.com or my email plus1chromosome@gmail.com

Alabama
Posted by i_need_a_miracle on 2011-10-11 17:47:21
I live in Mobile, AL. Wish I could meet more like-minded folks down here. I'm on the hipforums. Find me. :)

Alabama
Posted by liz on 2011-09-03 16:20:16
I am proud to be raised in Alabama...I now live in Hayden, Alabama...Yes I am ashamed that there are narrow minded rednecks here, but every state has idiots. Its the unavoidable truth! Alabama is a beautiful state and my mother has taught me never to judge because others are going to judge all your life. Where else can you drive or walk down the road and have strangers wave at you like they have known you forever? I accept all sexual orientations, races and religions. I do have a hippy state of mind but cannot say "I'm a hippy!" because I am myself and most teenyboppers have basterdized this term...

Alabama
Posted by woahnelly on 2011-07-28 06:25:31
Hey ! i just moved to birmingham al a couple weeks ago from maryland ! im looking for new clothing stores i cant find any like the ones i had i had this great place in maryland called Zeebop that sold amazing 'hippie' clothes im in desperate need for clothing so please help!

Alabama
Posted by Serenity on 2011-05-06 21:14:31
Hi,

I was wondering if there are ever any gatherings...where people can talk about there views on everything. I'm a very easy going girl that loves life's beauty and is looking for others like me! Peace--- Cort :)

Alabama
Posted by HippyHappyMason on 2011-03-20 02:17:47
My name is mason and i just moved to the McCalla area and im a hippy looking for a place to hang out and meet more people like myself 
my email is djdheath@gmail.com

Alabama
Posted by TheGanjaGod on 2011-03-11 20:54:25
Omg your all so wonderful!
im from Canada ! hahaha, south part of Ontario,
near simcoe!
if any hippys want to hangout,
charminglies@hotmail.com
me and my lover would be so happy to see you.

Alabama
Posted by kanel on 2011-02-13 18:35:29
Im new in Huntsville...seems calm and easy so far,but Im missing my " free spirit" friends.Anyone who could help me  find my place in the locale hippie / social scene?by the way,Im Bulgarian,long time traveler,hubby is more like "hippie-curious" but Im working on it:))Please let me know if there are ANY hippie-new age-rainbow "children" here.You can add me on skype:kat.kanel.Love and Peace 

Alabama
Posted by wakey jackie on 2010-10-08 22:28:42
hey you guys i would love to live in the forest but im in london it would be my dream if only i could make it real x

Alabama
Posted by Long John Justin on 2010-09-09 21:09:02
Hey everyone im 21, i'm from north AL. athens to be more procise. Close to huntsville. Huntsville is a pretty good place but it's hard to get to know the right people there because their is no main headquarter to chill at without getting arrested. Use to you could go down to the park and there was plenty of use just chilling on the grass under the trees. Things got a little out of hand down there with too many little kids trying to come and buy drugs, so now the place is ritaled with undercovers. Athens in particular is a very bad place to live comfortably, as is a lot of small towns in alabama. This is solely because of the amount of ignorance that goes with most people here, mostly old mormon or church of christ people that think they are perfect and everyone else can die and go to hell. I mean a rediculuos amount of hatered for anyone that is different. It's so bad that i can't seem to find any good people anymore, they are either back stabbing assheads, or just straight dickhead negative assholes. Only focusing on negative things about people and constantly judging and trying to bring you down. It's starting to even rub off on me because you almost need it as a survival tool just to live here, it spreads like a disease. That is what brought me here today, gotta get away! haha

I'm looking to meet other openminded people in north alabama that are willing to give and share positivity, creativity, and their ideas. I've been making music on the computer for a few years now, use to be a very a visual artist for years before that doing mostly psychedelic art. but because of the people around me i feel no need to do that anymore unless i can find more like minded people. Anyone else that would like to meet up with me, chill or whatever, feel free to send me a message, Peace and have a great day :)   jtw55556t@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Tara on 2010-07-09 00:15:24
Where are the hippies in North Al. How do I get there?

Alabama
Posted by aelinuial on 2010-06-28 20:27:53
hello all. i am a new member as of a few minutes ago. i joined because i am desperate to meet some good hearted people who might be able to help me take a new direction. i am 23. i have lived in new york my whole life. and i think my soul is slowly dying. these people, priorities, this whole way of life. rushing through every moment to get to the next. so self serving. everyone is so disconnected. and my frustration and contempt has grown and consumed me. i am no longer connected to anything. and i am certain this is not how the gift of life is meant to be lived. this is my last attempt of finding a better way before signing up for some school to get some job to get some place to live, until... that's it. thank you to anyone who takes the time to respond. with love, aelinuial

Alabama
Posted by gavin on 2010-01-22 05:51:08
I was filled with joy when I noticed this review said anniston oxford and jacksonville are good spots! I just recently made my way over here from north carolina and was planning to do some work on my dad's farm on the outskirts of jacksonville, but things don't look good, he won't let me stay unless I change my appearance and get a job, I'm running low on dough and may not have a place to stay soon, and I'm alone! any sort of help would be great! love and light

Alabama
Posted by Cody Smith on 2009-11-28 05:10:04
My name is Cody Smith, I am from a small town in southern Ohio and have lived the hippie lifestyle since I was old enough to know they're cause. I absolutely need to know where you all are at. I am a long time and desperate hippie in great need of finding other hippies to share my life with. Please contact me at cody.smith8503@yahoo.com. I am educated in the liberal arts and have a life message that I would love to share with everyone. Peace and love, Cody

Alabama
Posted by destin on 2009-10-06 05:07:18
mentone. lots of hippies there :)

Alabama
Posted by Joel on 2009-08-30 11:36:12
The only hippies I have seen in Birmingham have been homeless teenagers around Five Points south. Definitely no Haught/Asbury. The drug scene is really very sad with all the crack sale, ect. Also, a lot more pill popping here that I am comfortable with. Someone asked if I wanted tabs and I thought they were talking about lsd, but they apparently were selling Lori-tabs painkillers which is widely abused in the area. And they thought I was the crazy one asking about acid. I did buy a starving pitbull puppy from them though out of disgust and saved the beast. Now I have the giant but friendly monster and it is very effective to ward of the aggressive homeless drunk and junkie populations. The only perk here is that it is very easy and sometimes cheap to find weed, well if you can find someone you can trust not to rip you off, which can be quite difficult. I'm just not buying into it, but frankly a lot of people here don't know any better in this vacuum. Alabama seems to go though fads usually ten years later that other areas of the country, especially musicially. Ya'all only seem to want to hear cover bands, geez. I've noted the previous explosion of trust fund hippies in the Chicago suburbans. Everyone knows that that scene is was a fad. Now I see the imitiation in Birmingham with all the fake ass shit like the now defunct Bellbottoms, Mellowmushroom, and grateful dead covers at Base camp. And no, it is not a hospitible place for fridge culture either. Maybe if you are born in Alabama and lived here in the chique all your live, but the locals openly hate outsiders due to the widespread inferiority complex. The grossest thing is that pedophilic fixation on youth here, a lot of rich old farts dating women less than half their age, its like a viagra commercial. Next, the locals are especially hateful of fat people. It is of course a self hatred, since Alabama is in the top third for fattest states. My wife can't even get a job here because of her northeastern accent. She will repeatedly get interviews based on her resume, only to get turned away when her goes in person. Also, everyone is all in your business, but only to give you the stupidest and worst advice in the world. Usually the stupidity of they is so self evident that that it just reaffirms how wrong they are. It's a very naive population. People whisper when they talk, as if they fear they will be whipped. In the northern states, the whites fear the blacks and the blacks just think its funny kind of funny. Here, the whites openly hate blacks and in turn the blacks are underhanded and backstabbing. However, most people here are comfortists. They always want to follow the rules. The best defends is to use their own system of enslavement against them. For example, when the locals have something to say about my wife, she just stumps them by saying that its how jesus made her and jesus can't ever be wrong. They also are hopeless because they don't want to improve or change. Mama done said...

Alabama
Posted by Golden Ratio on 2009-08-21 01:39:17
Im here holding down the southside of birmingham. Plenty of good folks here. birminghamstonemason@gmail.com

Alabama
Posted by Aladamnbama on 2009-06-03 21:15:03
Stay away from Alabama! Crude and stupid people, 'nuf said!

Alabama
Posted by Sara on 2009-03-09 20:22:26   My Score:
Hey beautiful people i live in prattville al and sure it's not the most loving part but hey what can you say nowhere really is and that is our job in life to love and learn to love PEACE FOREVER

Alabama
Posted by erikrukstales@yahoo.com on 2009-02-19 05:41:42
im a hitchhiker from WI lookin 4 a place 2 crash

Alabama
Posted by fwinoker on 2008-12-23 20:19:06
Hi; I am an old hippy recently moved to Troy, Al. New in town, and looking for friends. Like many others I admit I sold out to pursue capitalistic ventures, and buckled under the weight of pressure. I still hold many of the values, and would like to make like minded friends, and get back to that frame of thinking. Iím mid-50ís married with a younger wife and 10 yr. old daughter. fwinoker@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Shaggy on 2008-10-14 10:02:42
I have had the misfortune of living here like a lot of people on here. But the reason I call it a misfortune is because its hard to find others. There are a few in Oneonta, but very hard to come by. I like this state because it really is beautiful. As far as people being judgemental, those kinds of people are everywhere. The most I've ever gotten from anyone was stared at. But I really don't mind at all. Pot isn't that hard to come by if you know people. I guess if yoiu don't, then it serves as a problem. Anyhow, I would like to meet some like-minded people. Maybe even get your problem with not knowing the "farmers" solved :] My myspace is myspace.com/sexandcandy92 I like marcy playground ^ Anyhow, talk to you guys later.

Alabama
Posted by Dennis Harlan on 2008-04-27 19:03:05   My Score:
Hay "My Brothers and Sisters" I"m new in town down here in Mobile Alabama, I ran into a cople of my Canabis Brothers down around Dauphin Island the other day and they were talking about the great time they had down on what they called "Hippy Beach", well the way that they were talking, I just assumed that this Hippy Beach was a well documented place, so I never asked these guys where it was, or what part of the state it was located. So for whom it may concern, I have looked on many websites to no avail. If you happen to know where it is, maybe you culd give this old child of a Hippy a line with the info and any other info of interest. I am 47 and was born on what they now call earth day, I also am a Grandson of a farmer that grew Hemp on his farm back in the 40s for the Government to make rope for the war effort. I got myself wrapped a little to tight in all the early drug movement and had to seek some outside help back in 84, some 12 Step help, so I"v been clean ever scence, but still as Hip and Clean as possible, About 8 years ago was diagnosed with terminal cancer "Hodgkins Lymphoma Stage 4-B" and was put on the medical marijuana to stimulate my appatite it worked great, and with all the other meds, chemo included I have been in remission for over 6 years, So about 3 years ago I got bored and started writing a story about my life with a little fiction thrown in and I actualy got it published. if you would like to see it, just Go to- Google Search or Amazon and type my name in and it will be there for sale. My name-DENNIS HARLAN The Book is called- TWELVE STEPS TO MARIJUANA MAINTENANCE The LULU site is the best "O" and did I mention I was single and into skinny hippy women that liked to ride motorcycles and the drinking of coffee. Contact me anytime hafaharlan@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Lili_super on 2008-03-22 22:15:55   My Score:

Alabama
Posted by Lili_super on 2008-03-22 22:15:54   My Score:

Alabama
Posted by Lili_super on 2008-03-22 22:15:44   My Score:

Alabama
Posted by Jillian on 2008-03-22 03:06:22
Hi I live in a small town in northeast Al and I absolutely love it. It bumbed me out to see the bad comments about al. You people need to realize they are negative people in every state and racist people in every state believe me it's all around us and untill people understand the concept of One Love Don't Judge and Keep It Green than the world will only continue to be a hate filled place. My sister is in a biracial relationship she has been with her husband over ten years and they have 3 beautiful girls and yes they do have to deal with negative people from every race but you just have to hold your head high and smile. You should not care what people think do your thing and what makes you happy. Only God can Judge you. Now I will tell you about some amazing places to go in northeast Albama. My favorite is The Canyon(Little River)I love going into the mouth park there's this wonderful trail that goes so deep in the woods and leads you to what I call my heaven there's rocks and rapids and water so deep that you can't touch the bottom and so clear you can see all the way down. It is so awesome I still go there and take my kids they also love it. Next I love going to the mill hole or hippy hole. It is so awesome the water is shallow enough for children to splash around in it and then there's the waterfall and you can jump off right beside it it's great. Then I love to canoe down Terrapin creeck that is a ride everyone should experience and I like to sneak on someones land and go swimming in it we have been caught so many times but that's what makes it so fun. The water is so cold and just feel so good it's worth being caught. The fields you have to go through are so beautiful and have wild flowers and then there's this little path that goes along the waters edge and best of all there's this old bus out in the woods it just a beautiful thing. Next on my list is Cherokee Rock village but us villagers just call it rock city and man let me tell you if you like to climb or repel and or camp that's the place. At night you always find some one pickin on a guitar and expanding their minds it's a really chill place. Well folks you can take off your setbelts and exit to the right this ride is over. ONE LOVE

Alabama
Posted by sweeta-ph on 2008-03-21 04:58:01   My Score:
Sorry, but what is kimerikas? Jane.

Alabama
Posted by Rachel on 2008-03-19 23:45:04
I would also like to know if anyone knows where the Alabama gathering will be this year. Does anyone happen to know if and when the Rainbow People might be making there way through Gadsden? I am from the beautiful town of Jacksonville, Al and would love to get some information regarding where some gatherings might be held. Thanks, peace and love.


Alabama
Posted by Leah on 2008-02-12 09:09:06
hey brothers & sisters, I was just wondering if anyone knew where the Alabama Rainbow Family Gathering was gonna be held this year. peace & love

Alabama
Posted by on 2007-12-07 04:45:22
High Ya'll! I'm the managing editor of a free newspaper called The Family Times. We are looking for head shops or clothing stores in Alabama to carry the paper. It's free to them and free to their customers! If you know of any in your area please email company name, location, and phone number to The Family Times Thanks for you help. We are well established in the Midwest, but want to expand our coverage. I was just in Birmingham Nov. 9th and 10th for Widespread Panic. You guys sure know how to throw a party! Peace, Todd One Editor@thefamilytimespress.com

Alabama
Posted by stonemon on 2007-11-28 19:11:42   My Score:
If you want a good place to hang with your fellow hippies there is a place in northeast alabama. It is on cheaha mountain there are two main places of peace lake cullman and sweet water. These places welcome you with open arms no matter who you. One important rule here is that EVERONE RESPECTS EVERYONE. If you need anymore info my sreen name is zaksupersk8er@aol.com

Alabama
Posted by rayray on 2007-10-19 09:27:48
i read all these posts before i decided to say anything... and it makes me sad. there are some posts that are here really trying to help people and trying to make friends. thats great. there are some that are ignorant and make me sick. thats also great... for them. i grew up in alabama. i love the place. its not like my love for this place changes after i cross the state line into ga or ms or tn. state lines don't define anything. there are good people and bad people everywhere. there are beautiful places and ugly places everywhere. you will find your niche and your people wherever you go if you are really looking. mentality has a lot to do with it. the land is the land. there are no borders. love the land. love the people. it will follow you and it will find you. can't we all just get along?? haha i grew up in a southern baptist church and learning a lot of things that i agreed and disagreed with. i came out of my small town and was introduced to a group of people that seemed to live what i learned as good and disagreed as i did with the things of this world that were bad. these people come from every walk of life, every religion, every state in the union, and every country in the world. there are people that think like you do out there CLOSE to you. someone is always lost looking for their place and turns out its right outside your door. be open. be loving. you will find what you're looking for. live how you know you would be living if you were on that lot for the weekend. pick up your trash, don't throw down your cig butts, love each and every person (no matter how clueless they may be- they will learn by your example), eat healthy enriching life giving foods, be thankful for every drink of water, and you will find the happiness you have when you are surrounded by your "hippie-friends". take that state of mind with you wherever you are and soon you will forget where you are and it will be about what you are doing. we can't save just a piece of this earth that we all chose to congregate in. we have to save it all. i'm glad we have warriors for us all over this world trying to spread the love mindset over every living thing. i love you all. smile and be thankful. the day is coming when we will see this world do a turnaround. keep believing and it will be true. think of all the beauty that is there to come. its coming to EVERY state! :) love love love love -ing you. :) merryrachel@hotmail.com hooooover, al

Alabama
Posted by Crawl to the state line on 2007-10-04 19:55:01
I lived in Dothan and Birmingham for several years and still visit friends there once in a great while. There are strong conservative, conformist, and socially controlling forces at work, throughout Alabama. If that is your thing, then you'll love it. Personally I find even the most hippest or cool people I've ever met there, to be eventually downtrodden with judgementalism, religeous zelotry, and condemnations from the culture, or lack of. The most progressive family I ever met there, had relocated there from Oregon years ago and eventually was observed submitted to the overwhelming social influences to use and allow frequent and almost statewide use of the "N" word (african americans) to the point where it was used by them in every other sentence. Every other minority gets the same treatment. Don't be fooled by the trees and unspoiled nature there. There might be a reason the masses don't settle there. And by the way, if you pass through Dothan on the way to Panama City Beach, be aware that it's police force has a well documented quota on using K9 dogs on a certain percentage of cars pulled over, per shift, per officer.

Alabama
Posted by Becca on 2007-09-23 02:39:58
OH God I am so glad I found this site. My hubby and son moved here 2 and a half years ago from Vegas because my hubby has some family here and we were trying to get out of the cesspool that Vegas is turning into. We live in Pelham right now but are going thru a boredome phase. For the first couple years we really dug (and still do dig) the family vibe here. And it is so beautiful and different compared to Vegas with the trees and all. My little boy is 3 and I am sure we have moved to a better place to give him a good positive future but sometimes we feel SO lonely here. No one like us. We used to party a little in Vegas and wouldn;t mind (recreationally) doing so again. But can't find anyone except religious zealots!! Or at minimum people who have not been totally sheltered all their lives. Neighbors on one side are square, other side is hoosiers....can't we find some middle ground here people??? We live in Pelham. I'm going to college as an accounting major and work full time and my hubby is a stay at home dad and I just don't feel like there is ANYONE here to be friends with. No one understands. I do have some good friends at work, but we all live so far apart and age difference is wide so we don't hang out all that much. Don't have a my space or anything but if anyone is here in our area please reply to this post and maybe we can hang out. Just be aware that our 3 year old son is our #1 priority but we would love to just have someone to hang out with and have a few drinks w/ etc, on the weekends.

Alabama
Posted by Laura on 2007-09-17 18:42:12   My Score:
Alabama really is a beautiful place. I have lived here all my life and am very content.....the only problem i've had was finding a group of like minded individuals to chill with.... I am a very diverse person and get along with just about anyone (in any group) but I am more of a counter-culture type person..... I have heard good things about Jacksonville and will soon be moving there so i am pretty excited about it.

Alabama
Posted by Bob on 2007-09-07 22:17:26
Alabama is pretty cool with some cool places like in birmingham there are orgainc groceries and markets an stuff. Also we have indian casinos like in atmore and wetumpka. www.casino-trip-reviews.com

Alabama
Posted by Kelli on 2007-09-01 13:47:30
I live in Pell City, AL. I have to travel pretty far to find like-minded individuals. Anyone cool nearby, hit me up.

Alabama
Posted by Timothy Hurley on 2007-08-02 03:05:36
The rainbow people are not there anymore. It,s gone for good. Why? Alabama is very dry state.

Alabama
Posted by laurababy on 2006-12-31 06:41:27
Hello. I live in Fort Payne Alabama, with my husband and daughter. He is a drummer, I am a housewife. It is hard to find open minded people in this state, see..I am almost 14 years older than my husband, so we get alot of looks and people whisper behind our backs. I have black hair, he has long hair, and facial piercings, people do not seem to understand us at all. Just looking for someone to talk to, that does not judge. Peace and Love to all Laura www.myspace.com/laurababy0105 laurababy0105@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by bud green on 2006-12-10 01:31:18   My Score:
I'm new here,in north ALA. from FLA. looking for a safe place for alternative gardening im a pro at what i do,i'm looking for anyone, anywhere in ALA. who is like minded and looking for a friend with HIGH QUALITY SKILLS please leave comment with email address I will check daily,hope to hear from you soon!

Alabama
Posted by Sharp Shooter on 2006-11-04 09:34:58   My Score:
Cum to India !!!!! Its Heaven full of Herbs ! try out the stuff and i am sure u will never think of leaving this place...! catch u here !!

Alabama
Posted by dpolly on 2006-09-17 16:12:32
Well, Alabama really is a beautiful state, esp. the north. The Tennessee River is what keeps me here. Have been here all my life (dying to try somewhere else for awhile) but I know I will end up back here! I am a Girl Scout leader and mentor trying to open up a whole world of ideas, nature, and fun to our next generation! Whatever your ideals; PASS IT ON! We live near Florence, anyone around give us a buzz. Regarding the FLorence area, due to the university there are lots of 20-somethings and quite a few good folks and decent bars with music most weekends. Cops are NOT COOL WHATSOEVER. Guard your shit with your life.

Alabama
Posted by ~*~Queenbee~*~ on 2006-09-11 21:06:15   My Score:
hey yall i was born and raised an alabama im looking for a place for my poppa and i to live and work any assistence will do please were so ver despereate thanks yall

Alabama
Posted by ~*~Queenbee~*~ on 2006-09-11 00:42:43
my poppa and i are looking for a place thats hippy friendly....were stuck in some real bad luck are car was stolen and wreked....we have a way to get where ever but no place to go ........anyone that can help would be in my prayers thank you hippy folk for reading this many wishes and hugs and kisses blessed be ~*~Queenbee~*~

Alabama
Posted by Paul on 2006-05-20 17:36:38   My Score:
Hey I'm from Weaver, AL(close to Anniston) and I would like to know when the Rainbow People come to Cheaha. I'm a devoted Deadhead and hippy, I feel like the only one around but I know it can't be true. My e-mail is pallmallking@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by sunnycynic on 2006-03-26 20:17:07
to all you people who say you left alabama or advised people to leave or are planning to leave because it is so awful....i live inthat same kind of place, a town of 400 in south mississippi, but you know what, if all the hippies in middle america in the 60's had left for a "better" place, where would women, minorities, gays and the environment be today? a true hippie sticks their neck out for what they believe in, no matter what the people around them say, think , or do. so stay where you are, love everyone, and teach through example, you know, pick up trash on the side of the road, smile at everyone, help out any way you can, and never judge. just ride it out doing what you believe in, and eventually, maybe in your children's or grandchildren's time, conditions and attitudes will be better. love eternal, SARA

Alabama
Posted by Oashi on 2006-01-18 05:18:19
Hello everyone just dropping my first line on these threads. I am wondering if there are any festivales coming up in this year. Me and some of my friends out of Moody Al, would like to come to one of these to maybe play some drums and guitar with everyone and have a good time. Send me an email at Pgramer3@aol.com if anyone knows of any Thanks Tyler C.

Alabama
Posted by Paxton McDermott on 2006-01-11 15:29:36
Clayton, GA on the Alabama state line. I am very interested in coming. I heard about the gathering in Clayton last year and I was going but my truck overheated on the way. I was on I-85 out of Montgomery and got stuck. Please post details!

Alabama
Posted by Alabamagetaway on 2006-01-05 17:54:36
I can't vouch for other parts of Alabama, but Gadsden is alright. We have a cool scene here, once you're in. We have some people who's work is making patchwork clothes and stuff. My wife and I just bought a house a few months ago and I had to clear the land around the house a bit and now I have a huge pile of wood that I'm now glad I didn't burn. We are now recycling this wood into nice stuff, coasters, walking sticks, clocks, chairs, lamps, etc. The spirit is alive here, you just have to look. Of course you do have the redneck type folks, bible thumpers, and so on, but I haven't been anywhere where everyone love you (:except maybe in a lot at a show :) You just learn to accept them and see what they can teach you. Sometimes nothing it seems, but that's okay too. My wife went from a barefoot, sundress wearing, flowers in your hair, love people and nature type to a HARDCORE bible type person. Dyed hair, office job, the whole nine. If your'e not careful the opposites will attract down here. I was into it too for awhile, but talk about feeling lost and hypocritical! Now I'm back, but she's not. If you fall off the wagon down here, they'll always help you back on. One of our friends that make the patchwork clothes just got busted the other day and needs money to get their car back, if anyone has any old clothes or fabric to use or just want to check out their work drop me a line! They could use the help right now. alabamagetaway26@yahoo.com PS: If anyone likes to jam around Gadsden give me a shout. We get some grooves going from time to time. You can bring a drum, guitar, bass, flute, whatever, it's all good!

Alabama
Posted by chronos913 on 2005-12-16 03:40:51
hey everybody. i just moved back here to montgomery after leaving the military because i couldnt live peacefully with the idea that the people i worked for and with were directly responsible for the impending doom of humanity.(if you want to talk about the issues, feel free to IM me at chronos913 on yahoo or write and email to the same address.) anyway, i couldnt smoke for the two years i was in the air force, and now i'm looking to break the celibacy with some kind bud--glistening THC crystals irradiating my eyes with their glory, that wonderful pungent aroma filling my nostrils, that heavenly, awe inspiring anesthetic filling my lungs taking me on a voyage through space and time--i miss it. if anyone can get me in touch with some quality bud, i'd be really appreciative. the stuff i'm looking for is usually priced in the range of 50-65 bucks an 1/8th. i'm headed to pensacola this weekend to grab a bong and or spoon, so if you're on the way and can help me...write me. FREE THE MIND! UNITE THE PEOPLE! LOVE THIS PLACE FOR ALL IT'S WORTH AND MORE!

Alabama
Posted by Jonathan on 2005-11-29 19:09:40
Hey Everybody, What's Happenin'? I live in a really small town called Grant. It's about 30 miles east of Huntsville. It's in Marshall County. I feel all alone. Please send some fellow hippies this way!!!! You dig? Keep on keepin' on, Jonathan

Alabama
Posted by lumis on 2005-11-19 05:48:04   My Score:
Steve Griffis is my hero! go Fairhope go!

Alabama
Posted by on 2005-10-21 00:04:51
yes, of course there is school. anyone can smoke pot. if you smoke herb then you know how it feels to not have any...it stinks. someone poin us in teh right direction. it seems as though most of the kids and possibly adults smoke low quality males with no red hairs, which is completely depressing.

Alabama
Posted by themovement on 2005-10-20 22:49:52
Do ya'll have school in Alabama?

Alabama
Posted by on 2005-10-16 06:24:06
yeah im lookin for some dank bud in montomgery too and i cant seem to find any. are there any growers here?

Alabama
Posted by Zach on 2005-10-13 19:50:54   My Score:
I am getting fucking pissed that all you people that just moved to Alabama are being a bunch of pussy about it. Yall are no hippys if you all act like that. I in fact know alot of real hippy here in AL.ALABAMA is a great state I have lived here all my life. I have gone hunting and fishing and if you say hunting is bad for the enviriment it's not if we did not have hunters in AL the deer would die because we have so many because along time ago we hunted up all the wild Mt loins in this region of america yes that is bad to kill the loins but ther is nothing that I know that we can do adout it dammit. All we can do is hunt them and have fun doing it and enjoy the nature around us. PS I would reconmen that yall start grow yall's own pot if you live next to some woods.

Alabama
Posted by on 2005-10-11 21:48:31
where would i get this one hit wonder weed.what part oof auburn. i wanna get liek an ounce and bring it back to montgomery instead of having to keep buying little ammounts

Alabama
Posted by your mom on 2005-10-10 05:44:19
you should just drive 45 min. to Auburn and get that one hit wonder weed

Alabama
Posted by on 2005-10-06 04:05:23
does anyone know where i can get some high quality herb in montgomery? all i can find is mexican shwag. ive recently moved here and it seems like a boring non smoking town. help anyone?

Alabama
Posted by CourtneyAlexis on 2005-09-22 19:15:38
My roommate and I want to find the hippies. We're from Mobile, Alabama. Where they at??

Alabama
Posted by Daniel on 2005-09-07 06:23:00
Oh, sorry... My email is daniel@tannerite.com or kabanger@hotmail.com Hope to hear from some locals.

Alabama
Posted by Daniel on 2005-09-07 06:21:54
Hi all.. I think I can access this site w'/out being a member. I'm moving here from Oregon and am kinda lost. Don't know anyone, and would like to meet some decent people. I manufacture bio-degradable fireworks that are environmentally friendly. I'm not a eco-freak, but I consider it common sense to use earth-friendly chemicals in beautiful pyrotechny. I'm not a hippy, but grew up neighbors with Ken Kesey (author of One flew over the Ku-ku's nest and a few others) I've even painted fireworks on the ORIGINAL bus (Further) Lived there for 20 years and none of the hippies ever pushed dope on me. I'm into nature, wildlife, fun, fast cars ( I drive a red 'vette convertible), and traveling, lived in the capital of the Bahamas but grew tired of island life. I may stay here, or may not, depending on the property I locate for sale. The land needs to be away from any homes, but not too far from a city (for supplies). Thanks for any information... and please email me if you have a chance, Daniel

Alabama
Posted by Alexa on 2005-09-07 03:45:08   My Score:
i live in lansing kansas.im 12 years old,i have blonde hair but now its black,blue eyes,7th grade.if ne1 wants to talk w/me my aim and msn screen name is colesprouseluva9.feel free to im me or whatever.im on all the time.except for when im at school at 6:45 to 3:45.pleaz don't be shy to contact me.

Alabama
Posted by tashunka on 2005-08-25 13:18:10
Our land are free and wonderful. my goodfather was a sioux leader. I am his nephew and i love the hippy style of life. I go in Romania for the 2 months in every summer. in Vama Veche. there are so many hippies. you must come. Peace!

Alabama
Posted by *sniffle* on 2005-08-24 01:33:54
Hey there! Wierd thread here guyses. Im from Alabama (Montgomery), im 15 and a bit of a 60's throwback. Anyone wanna talk IM me HipposRPurple4 Always. Dev.

Alabama
Posted by Rose on 2005-08-17 05:15:41
For all you people who badmouth the state of my birth, where my family has lived and died for 200 years, Get out! You're not welcome here unless you learn some manners. We are not all a bunch of idiots here. We're God-loving hunting rednecks and damn sure proud of it. P.S. My family doesn't use the N word even if I did have ancestors who fought in the Civil War. They didn't own any slaves. My ancestors were poor white farmers who just wanted peace and the American dream. I grew up with black children in the 60's. We didn't know what the Civil Rights movement was. We all got along and still do so stop your troublemaking down here.

Alabama
Posted by Zach on 2005-08-04 21:47:44   My Score:
I live over next to 280 I go to Oak Mt. High it is next to B,ham I was just hopen there was some hippies out I like to listen to jamming bands I also like to do mind twisting drug like cow shit mushrooms and herb just that kind of stuff I wood like to add something I have lived in AL all my life and Al has been good to me we have alot of good people you just have to open up don't just think we are all hicks we got also alot of good places to grow herb to ita pretty cool state but not the best it's ok.

Alabama
Posted by Mark MOrgan on 2005-07-22 16:28:17
notice to all who like to slow ride,have a cold brew and a bit of fume`. The forest roads and the road to Cheaha are now crawling with feds looking for meth etc etc.Road blocks can be found smack bad in the middle of the forest.Seems as though the Rabbit town to points south have become a main route for traffickers. Cost me 725 american dollars last winter.So I know 1st hand. Be quick and be cool............

Alabama
Posted by Nobs on 2005-07-16 04:16:41
Hey selah...i live in the florence area...i dunno how the cops are and the scene's not that big, if there is one. cops suck, basic stereotype crap. im not a hippie myself but im interested in the culture of it. there are some ppl if you look for em...

Alabama
Posted by Selah on 2005-07-14 11:41:08
i am moving to florence al in late august, i have lived in cali most of my life and am used to real kind people - should i be scared? are there many hippies in florence? how are the cops there bout herb? aahhhh im getting more and more scared the closer it gets to moving time....

Alabama
Posted by GhostwindowdrummerDEGA on 2005-07-02 23:08:24
Everyone in the anniston Gadsden area needs to do what ENVIROGROOVER said and come hang out with us at Brothers bar up in J'ville. It's a comfortably numb experience for all. TUESDAY NIGHTS are OUR NIGHTS with jon and jud and GHOST WINDOW.

Alabama
Posted by hey Trader on 2005-06-08 01:55:44
If Ray and Trader read this with the Rainbow "clan" this is Cathy and Will from PC we Love you guys

Alabama
Posted by EnviroGroover on 2005-05-22 07:03:55
Wow, I think most people know that hippy has become a "hip" word and doesn't really describe what most youngsters are these days. I feel that it shouldn't be used for the gen x'ers. But what is our label? We know we are different, while media and business is trying so hard to mainstream the mysteriousness. If consumers like it, maybe they will go for our ideas as well: peace, love, music, nuclear disarmament, and sustainability. I agree that we should still stand up for what is right, I've been very involved politically and environmentally, and its pulling teeth to get my age group motivated. Oh, and a question, what is mr. nelson doing here to spread hate, yet posing the question :what have you done for the earth lately? He must have some interest in our ideals.

Alabama
Posted by Old Man Nelson on 2005-04-30 10:16:36   My Score:
For sll you longhaired,Whack Tobaccy,Flower Lovin,Fairies and Queers Wake up shit for brains,hippies no longer excist you"all are just a dim shadow of what a real hippy used to be,just because you like the old music and free love and weed you think your a hippy,Let me tell you i lived through them old days and seen what a real hippy was,they stunk there teeth were rotten and i used to have to chase them of my farm from having one of those orgy parties all the time,those dipshits were always out of there mind on drugs and never had jobs,look at what they all become now,worthless pieces of shit.They stood for freedom and peace and they practiced what they preached,You want a be hippy's now days aint done shit to help anybody out but yourselfs,what have you done for mother earth later?,you cant even stand up for your beliefs,you only do what the others do,an what is the new fad,I dont see any of you new hippies living off the land nowdays cause you cant your a fake,Now im not sticking up for hippy's i hated the son a bitches then and i hate them son of a bitches now,always trying to free those ignorant negro's,damit we needed those niggers for work,farm life was hard we needed a extra hand.And tellen me i cant fuck my cuision,if she wants it i got a right to give it to her,The real hippy's sttod for self freedom and human rights and no goverment making you do things you dont want too.What are you fake hippy's doing about that stuff today?NOTHING you'all would rather smoke your weed,be lazy and just say your a hippy cuase it must be cool again,you take the easy way out you little assholes,you done shit to be called a hippy.If that is how it works today im gonna call myself the President,because i live in a white house. and you new hippy's dont be messin around my farm trying to grow weed and having sexual vd parties.ill do you like i did the old hippy's when i catch you either shoot you with my scatter gun or put my pecker in your butt,

Alabama
Posted by Graffitisoul on 2005-04-27 03:50:19
hippies in alabama???hahahahahah i made the mistake of visiting alabama once...worst vacation ever

Alabama
Posted by EnviroGroover on 2005-04-13 05:43:33
Ok, Alabama is different. For nature, it really has it all, "from the deepest canyon to the highest mountain" there is something to do here. Just dig a little, and you will find all kinds of naturalistic and outdoor things to do. Jacksonville State has a great field school program. Little River Canyon is absolutely beautiful and it is one of the newest national parks! Go get out and see our beautiful places, Alabama has a huge amount of biodiversity!!! If you really love the music, check out Foggy Hollow off 431 between Anniston and Gadsden. There is a wonderful family of friends in J'ville and my guys run the bar on Tues. night. Go check out Brothers Bar if you get the chance. Bigger names come on the weekends, but it's not limited to groovy music. Panic, Dire Straits, even the Allman Brothers played at Brothers Bar in their early days. Anyway, like they say Stop bitching, Start a revolution! In other words, stop the rhetoric, get off your lazy ass and have a great day! If you show our politicians how much support the environmentalists have, there will be just that much more pressure, and there is a tipping point! See you at Uphonia!

Alabama
Posted by shekkownzYOU on 2005-04-12 21:18:11
YOH MY HOMIES, alabama is the shizzle fo rizzle.. i smoke the best pizzle in the whole stizzle. if you wanna hang out in ttown and eat some chocolates, maybe goto the lake hit me up. PZ

Alabama
Posted by Chachi420 on 2005-04-10 16:31:27
I'm not a hippy per se, but I enjoy jam band music (along with several other generes) and concert going.Hit me up if your going to John Scofield in ATL tonight... etree.org/Chachi420

Alabama
Posted by Evan on 2005-04-06 05:47:29
So Im currently at UAB and looking for some hippies to hang out with... anything that doesnt involve consumerism and TV pop culture ... thrifting, chilling at parks, beading, writing, harmonizing, relaxing... it will be excellent. People who are not two faced and backstabbing would also be great. My AIM screen name is ecl1085, drop me a line and tell me you saw my post. peace, love, and bush out of office... Evan

Alabama
Posted by jan on 2005-04-06 02:32:07
hi, will be living in marshall county, near guntersville, in the near future...any kind folks would be a welcome change....36/f...jan

Alabama
Posted by shane on 2005-04-02 05:52:34
Stay as far away from this state as possible. I have to come here every so often for work and it is torture. I travel a lot and Alabama is definetely the worst state in the country.

Alabama
Posted by ILoveMyHouser on 2005-04-01 12:13:39
Hey mommas, names kris, i go to school in mobile when im not on the road. i went out west for a while a few months ago, ended up snowboarding in utah for a week. im in birmingham now, fixing to head to athens, GA tomorow for 3 nights with STS9, just got back from the florida keys for 2 nights with Cheese and Langerado Music Fest. ill be at Wanee, Jazzfest, Trey at the Fox, few choice panic shows. looking for some kind folks to pass the days with, I collect live music, have over 300 hours of panic, some cheese, 200+ hrs of phish... drop me a line sometime, ILoveMyHouser@aol.com Good Vibes, Kris

Alabama
Posted by Jeff on 2005-02-27 01:48:35   My Score:
Hey guys, listen up!! --- for all you that have posted and are trying to sound like thugz... just stop... this state is eat up with thug wannabes who are nothing more than little boys... i am against the whole "thug" scene that has overcame this state. I've lived in Montgomery,Alabama for 21+ years and this state has its downfalls, but Alabama is a really beautiful place to live and harmonize with nature if you can find the right places.. unfortunately, this state is trying to grow ... grow too much... and as someone else stated earlier in the posts, wal-mart is taking over everything.. i have seen some beautiful land tore apart to build a wal-mart. I am a true hippy at heart, but sometimes this state calls for you to act cold-hearted on the outside to survive even though on the inside your thinking... "PEACE, POT, & Microdots!!" hehe..!! The downfall of this state is the REDNECK, DRUNK ABUSIVE ASSHHOLES, the RACIST ASSHOLES, the RELIGIOUS FREAKS, and the OLD people who have lived here forever, GOD BLESS EM, but they are so stuck in their ways and blinded as to what is really going on in there on city, or even right across the street from where they live. Well everone I am off for now, if there is anyone in the montgomery area that would like to talk, I always love meeting new people with strong feelings and beliefs as I have.. e-mail me at jeff420@charter.net. -- PEACE, POT, & MICRODOTS!! Jeff ; )

Alabama
Posted by Tara Star on 2005-02-25 22:12:55   My Score:
I've lived in Burmingham for five years and there is no hippy scene here, but, I've learned that the scene is were you take it. There is a group I saw in Atlanta that reminded me of the music drove your spirit in the 60's. I will encourage everyone to check these guys out. Jazzmatic is the name of the group and they are only a group of two, with a sound of five. Their site is Jazzmatic.com I talked to them and invited them to play at my loft if they can't find a venue here. Check them out, let's bring them to Alabama.

Alabama
Posted by SativaStarr on 2005-02-14 00:33:48
I'm born and raised a Wisconsinite but I love the road and have been to southern Alabama several times. I have an old friend from junior high who moved to a small town in Covington County called Andalusia.. I've driven throughout the state and in all of my travels have not come across one person who I would call a hippie.. although I was met with numerous stares and a number of rather ignorant questions.. you see I have dreadlocks and most of my clothes are handmade. I cant count how many people commented on my hair and clothes and said they've never seen anyone quite like me... Having lived in Madison, WI for the past 4 years, I'd forgotten how odd I look to so many sheltered folks..

Alabama
Posted by Justin on 2005-01-18 03:07:48
I live in north alabama, I really dont know any hippies at all. It sucks because I would really like to have some to hang out with.

Alabama
Posted by Justin on 2005-01-18 03:06:58
Hi

Alabama
Posted by Calvin on 2005-01-04 21:32:40
I live in a small south alabama town, it is definately not a hippy haven, we have strict ass cops, zero tolerance laws, (you can go to jail for 1 seed), and no hippy culture, but Tuscaloosa is a hippy college town, and Auburn has a small semi-hippy pop.

Alabama
Posted by Leigh on 2004-12-29 07:47:13
My AIM screen name is AnnaL0011 if anyone has AOL Instant Messenger, please send me a message

Alabama
Posted by Leigh on 2004-12-29 07:41:50
Yeah born and raised in Alabama. A small town called Troy. Everyone here is at least one of the following...1 a god freak 2 hunter 3 redneck 4 racist 5 homophobic 6 sexist 7 conservative republican. I HATE it. I'm totally oppostie of all of that. I recently became vegetarian and as soon as someone finds out, "That's stupid, animals are here to eat." The only good thing is the nature, which is rapidly being ruined. The animals are dieing and Wal-Mart is buying everying. Yeah as soon as I hit 18 I'm getting out of this fuck hole. BUt until then... anyone wanna talk... Anna_Leigh@juno.com

Alabama
Posted by kidfrommobile on 2004-12-10 03:19:42
hey. i just moved to mobile from the atlanta area where i had grown up around friends with hippie parents, so when we moved here i felt the deep south stereo types about my hair, but it's not that bad. i mean you can go to fairhope and be around some pretty cool people.

Alabama
Posted by Alabama wildman on 2004-12-08 06:01:30
My name is really josh and i was born in denver colorado but ive lived most of my life in oregon. i dont know why they call me alabama wildman, maybe i look like an alabaman. anyway im kind of afraid of alabama cause some of my relatives are from the south and most of em use the word "nigger" (not niggah but nigger) Well to make a long story short I have been thinking about visiting alabama since i got my beloved nickname but it sure seems like a place thats still stuck in the pre-civil war era. Do you guys have real live alabama woodsmen or does everyone live in cities and plantations??

Alabama
Posted by Sunshine on 2004-12-01 06:25:01
I was born and raised in Birmingham, Alabama. I have only met a few people who could even be close to being hippies. It's really discouraging, but not discouraging enough. I used to want to leave but now as I am beginning to realize who I am and who I want to be and what I can do it's liek I've found home all over again. The only thing lacking are the neighbors. Granted I have the redneck neighbor who has 20 differnet cars in his yard and looks at me funny because I walk down the street barefoot and braided, but I am looking for other barefooted and braided neighbors. People in Alabama are not as accepting as I'd liek them to be and that's fine, but the few like-minded people there are around the B'ham area I'd LOVE to get to know. "Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity."

Alabama
Posted by aronhienas on 2004-11-24 17:01:15
I grew up in Birmingham (the "Heart of Dixie) in the late 50's and 60's. When I was about 6 years old I saw a bumper sticker that said "IF YOUR HEART'S NOT IN DIXIE GET YOUR ASS OUT!" They didn't have to tell me twice. I've been up north (New York State) for 25 years and I can't imagine ever wanting to live amongst those Bible-thumping rednecks in AL again. My whole family lives there and it's all I can do to visit them for a few days every 3-4 years. I lived in Southside for a few years in the '70s but the neighborhood ain't what it once was. Bama is Bushland.

Alabama
Posted by tom on 2004-09-28 23:22:41
hey guys im wondering if theres any hippies here in southern ontario area..cambridge

Alabama
Posted by chris on 2004-09-23 23:30:38
lets toke it up. csbruhne@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by chris on 2004-09-23 23:24:54
moving to mobile october 1st. 22/m. looking to meet some "far out" people to hang out with. from oklahoma. just coming for a change of pace and to experience some negative ions. e-mail me. csbruhne@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Berkeley Bama on 2004-09-22 02:28:17   My Score:
I moved back to my home state this summer, and it's as 'straight' as it ever was! I haven't seen any of my fellow hipsters, but then, I haven't been looking! As far as the Rainbow clan cruising Mt. Cheaha, I've asked around and it seems the locals believe them to be family, but I never knew any of us to come to Alabama year after year. So I will be checking this out and will let you know! What cha gotta remember here is to low-profile yourself; 'specially if ur doing something not quite legal, 'k? I mean, John Law has nothing better to do but look for someone who's too damn obvious, catch my drift? Alabama is a pretty clean state with lots of waterways and forests, camping acreage and hiking paths and I would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to see the outdoors around October; it's beautiful then!!! But if ya come to be rowdy...expect the worst!!!

Alabama
Posted by shawn on 2004-09-09 18:40:33
alabama mostly sucks but it is beautiful and it really just depends on where you live. Tuscaloosa is pretty cool just go to the strip or downtown your bound to meet some alright folks.i wouldny recommend staying to long it will drive you crazy

Alabama
Posted by candy0987 on 2004-08-30 05:06:40
Hey, I just moved to the B-ham area from Montgomery and I'm trying to find out what there is to do in this city. I was wondering if there are any younger hippies like me here. E-mail me at candy0987@hotmail.com

Alabama
Posted by ashlei on 2004-08-28 18:06:23
hey my name is ashlei and i live in DeKalb county in alabama...there are a few hippies here but not many..my boyfriend and i would love to hang out with some hippies that are around our area..sometimes we feel like fish out of water with so few hippies..we live in a very small town. so if there are any hippies out there around north east alabama that would like to hang out please e mail me ashlei2100@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by nonretard on 2004-08-15 14:05:21
fucking and smoking pot does not make you a hippie. As for these so-called Rainbow Gatherings in North Alabama, they are just a bunch of people who don't work or take baths and try to live off people who are too stupid to understand what a mooch is. but label yourselves as much as you want. it only reinforces my decision to stay away from people.

Alabama
Posted by alabamasux on 2004-08-14 03:12:47
I dont know what you people call hippies now but I have never seen one in the 5 years Ive lived in mobile or the 10 that Ive lived in alabama. When I think hippy I think of making your own clothes, soap, taking baths outside and dopers. All of these things sound really nice and all if thats what your going for but I know that a fuckin 16 year old kid going to narc-infested phish concerts is definately NOT A HIPPY!! I mean come on man, how did you pay for that ticket? workin the fields?!? If richy-riches living in the very to-do town of Fairhope or mommas boys going to expensive ass cow college in auburn smokin nugs is what all of you are calling hippies then hell, ah-come-on-down-hur because we gots plenty of those!! Every one else is like fuk bama Im moving as soon as I dont have to worry about in-state tuition. Police are harsh, baptists are harsher, and if you have long hair your a doper. If you like stereotypes then alabama is the place for you.

Alabama
Posted by barefootin on on 2004-08-12 05:07:35
Dude, it's not that bad. go to the north and then try and email me back about how much it sucks. Maine is full of a lot more hostile people. shann

Alabama
Posted by allyson on 2004-07-30 23:37:26   My Score:
alright, i live in alabama, and yes very true, it's a tad on the slow side. there are lots of bible thumpers and closeminded people. however, i live in florence (a university town), it's very small but actually pretty accepting to everyone. as of now there is a large hardcore emo scene but there is also a very large group of i would call semi-hippies. it's a slow small town but a large array of different types of people. peace

Alabama
Posted by mollymolly on 2004-07-29 06:31:58
sweet home alabama......great song but too bad i wont be coming home to you what can i say...alabama isnt the worst place but why anyone would choose to live here blows my mind. the people are mostly either redneck closeminded fucks or "thuggish ruggish" with the exception of a limited hip crowd but everyone i know feels the same as i do...get the hell out as soon as possible. i know a lot of really great people in alabama but i would deffinately not consider it a hippy haven.

Alabama
Posted by jonny-o on 2004-07-28 00:33:59
hello there you fairy. do you want to befriend jonny-o. jonny-o needs a special friend. do you fairy girl want a special friend. hahahahhahahhah. i love you ilove youiloveyou. jail sucks. make sure you know how to break out before you get in.

Alabama
Posted by peacefairy on 2004-07-24 04:36:08
jonny-o...you are not a loser man. im sorry that you feel like only "freaks" are attracted to you but i am deffinately one sane moma whoo would love to bust you outa that joint so if you are interested email me at hippiesister5@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by jonny-o on 2004-07-20 02:17:05
sometimes i really feel like a fucking loser.... you know when i only get e-mail from freaks. how would this make you feel? ok well i am crazy and i have to go back to my cubicle. somebody wanna bust me out of the asylum.

Alabama
Posted by Dead@20 on 2004-07-14 17:04:57   My Score:
Whoever is reading this and is considering to go to Alabama because they beleive this "great" state is friendly to hippys DONT GO MAN!!!!!this state hates you they're a bunch of bible thumpin closed minded 9-5 "dont take my american dream" bitches. Its just Rednecks and they HATE people like us. I grew up in Alabama (Bawldwin Co) and it was truly the worst expirience of my life, Alabama in my opinion is one of the least hippy friendly places you can live. And heaven forbid you even get busted with a little bit of pot................CUZ YOU'RE GOING STRAIT TO JAIL FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Alabama
Posted by jonny-o on 2004-07-06 01:08:42
hola bitches, it is me again and i am fucking pissed cause none of you fuckers e-mailed me. so pretty please e-mail me. notatruesmoker@hotmail.com

Alabama
Posted by Kaya on 2004-07-02 22:33:04
'Lo I'm a hippy from B'ham and there are some hippies here. B'ham has lots of trees and a few "organic based" communities near here. There's a Waldorf elementary school that all the hippy kids go to. (Used to go to. Now it's more wealthy people and the true hippies can't really afford it.) Some really cool people in Southside but if you go farther out the people are more hostile to difference. Kaya

Alabama
Posted by hannah on 2004-07-01 02:05:20
oh yeah... i live in Auburn so thats kinda close to B'ham. i know some cool people up there. But yeah... i am also a young hippie, 18. Is anyone going to Coventry????? I hope so.

Alabama
Posted by hannah on 2004-07-01 02:01:28
uh... i am living in north carolina right now but will be going back to alabama after the summer so if anyone needs a friend you can contact me at jollyjugler00@yahoo.com

Alabama
Posted by Hippie on 2004-06-10 20:53:16
Lol...yes, I know, but that is my nickname. Anyhow I just wanted to say hey yo all my borthers and sisters out there, and let you all know that i will be back to good ol alabama soon enough, but for the past few years have been kind of screwing around, been out to Kent OH, and all over Cali, and several other places. Anyways, the point is, anybody feel free to write to me @ fellondarkness@yahoo.com or contact me on myspace.com (my name is anthony, or just look for me on eff you see kay s friends list). Well, hope to hear from ya'll!!!

Alabama
Posted by Sarah on 2004-06-02 00:12:54
I love being a young hippie! I'ts the best thing in the world. I've grown up in Alabama and Florida my whole life. I'm looking for some young hippies to help me find a place to stay once I get outta school, if you have anywhere in Alabama contact me at boycrazy_2589@hotmail.com

Alabama
Posted by JadeRainbow on 2004-02-18 06:32:33   My Score:
I am a younger hippy in Alabama. I actually live in B'ham area yeah its hard to find any but once you do they come out really strong. I don't know about any other areas. I lived in jacksonville, fl for 3 years and pretty much yeah that sucked! But, if any of ya'll are goin to Bonnaroo this year hope I see some of ya'll bama hippies up there. Hope it will be fun. Laters. Rain. (that's muh nick not muh real name above). giggles.

Alabama
Posted by kate on 2004-02-10 18:45:18   My Score:
hey kate, and i live in england, im here right now. never been to america. v kool hippy page. there aint many hippies in southampton.i have to do a gcse project on hippies in america and thought hippyland was a good place to start researching. i cant think of anything else to say. love kate x x x x

Alabama
Posted by Joshua Rickly on 2003-11-25 17:10:45
hi everybody, I just found this page with my mother's post on it. I did take off for a while, I was actually on the road for a while. 2 weeks turned into months and months. I'm in contact with my Mom, and have been home a few times since I left. I just wanted to post this because I felt like there should be some sort of closure here. Take it easy, Kids. Lovin' you! Josh

Alabama
Posted by naturalistic1 on 2003-09-08 23:23:23
pensacola florida over here,not far from south alabama.the scene here is really starting to grow.if yall come to the glass show this friday(sept 9th),you will meet alot of good people.olde town tavern on the corner of palafox and cervantes underneath the days inn downtown pensacola.i run an open jam there too every sunday night from 10pm till 2am.late night jams.if anyone is coming to pensacola and needs someone to show them around/make some connections,let me know.ive lived here all my life,and i know alot of people.peace love and respect yall

Alabama
Posted by tripps on 2003-09-01 16:55:56
anyone lookin to do a cross country on foot kinda thing post and let me know...

Alabama
Posted by tripps on 2003-09-01 16:54:11
ok, i noticed someone looking for hippies in mobile... fairhope and mobile are huge... widespread panic came and the hippies came out of the woodwork... i am a sixteen yr old hippie in mobile and it is awesome but i'm thinkin bout goin to haight in francisco

Alabama
Posted by Ashley on 2003-08-31 16:04:00
I'm from Gulfport, MS and want to hang out with more people like me. I didn't know Fairhope had it's share of hippies. Sounds cool, though. Anyone willing to show me around, e-mail me at ginchychik@yahoo.com. Peace.

Alabama
Posted by David Hinkle on 2003-06-23 22:54:14
Any "Homewood Park Hippies" who hung out at Homewood Park in the 1970's please e-mail me at Davidh2136@hotmail.com. Thanks!

Alabama
Posted by vera on 2003-06-06 19:51:30
im a hippy chic.. and i live in the suburbs of birmingham. I dont see alot of hippies around here... but id like to meet some.

Alabama
Posted by samiam on 2003-05-26 04:58:35   My Score:
Im in alabama, there are lots of hippies around, just kinda hidden from the local normal folk! The Auburn and Montgomery scenes are okay, and Mobile is really cool. Tuscaloosa is getting worked over right now, the arent enjoying their party-school status like they were. Huntsville used to have a great free hippie music fest, but its been lame the past few yrs. The locals are getting used to having hippies live among them, there are worse places! Plus we got lots o trees!

Alabama
Posted by Jessica on 2003-04-07 22:18:03
I am in Foley, near Fairhope and Robertsdale. Anyone around here interested in hanging out or something, email me @ sweetincy@hipplanet.com TY! Peace, Love, Light

Alabama
Posted by HaschischFixer on 2003-03-20 10:57:59
he, I'm a german guy. I want to be a real hippie. I try everything to reach that but it's impossible where I live. I travelled a lot in Asia and so I got contact to real comunities. It was wonderfull. But i had to leave soon to get back in the daily boring live at home. When I finished school I want to take action and leave the country to live together with people of my attitude. Can anybody give some advice? Perhaps there are some interesting people in Germany or Europe? If not, I guess I will try to find the real luck on earth in asia forever...!

Alabama
Posted by jason on 2003-02-23 22:41:54
im from mississippi, i would love for you to send me information and directions to all of the communes in north alabama. i have always wanted to live on commune with fellow "true" hippies. i would love to come this summer and stay and possibly relocate. please email me at acidrain@hipplanet.com

Alabama
Posted by on 2003-02-20 02:51:59
Quote: "the people in alabama don''t care what u look like? maybe not where u go, but where i go, if ur different in any way shape or form, they don''t want u there." Amen, that's why I left the state. I used to live within walking distance of Huntingdon College tho Momma

Alabama
Posted by MammaShaggy on 2003-01-23 19:56:33   My Score:
Peace and love to all of my fellow hippies!! I live in Montgomery, AL and we are loaded with many people who enjoy the herb and love to love one another! Come for a visit and visit Huntingdon College while you are here. You'll definately feel the love here!! May Peace be in your path!

Alabama
Posted by Haley on 2003-01-19 22:26:33
Ok not sure what thing is for didn't read "the instructions". I just wanted to talk to some cool ppl from here. Didn't know AL had any real hippis. Anyone wanna talk to me it'd be awesome...later!

Alabama
Posted by stacy on 2002-10-20 05:17:54
peggy did you find Joshua?

Alabama
Posted by dreamer on 2002-10-13 02:24:33
hey i go to college in B'ham and i would love to meet people...e-mail me at cbkeen@samford.edu

Alabama
Posted by on 2002-09-09 17:25:17
I live about 20 miles East of Birmingham. I do not get out alot because I have two kids. 10 and 8 years old. But I would like to meet new people and make new friends. Anyone hang out in Birmingham? Southside maybe? tray_c72@hotmail.com

Alabama
Posted by david on 2002-08-29 22:02:29
hello all im in bham, just curious to know where all the like minded people are? especially the cute hippy chicks.

Alabama
Posted by ambersunshine on 2002-08-27 14:01:55   My Score:
Also one more thing,could y'all give me a rough idea where about that most of the hippies are?Id highly appreciate it.Email me please angel_of_fate85@yahoo.com.I would really like live with/around people like myself and me best friend.Thanks. Peace & love!

Alabama
Posted by ambersunshine on 2002-08-27 13:49:58   My Score:
From what Ive already heard alabama is a great place and my best friend and i wanted to move there.Now we have more of a reason.Thanks!Peace,love,and happiness!;)

Alabama
Posted by Clay on 2002-07-22 22:35:55
Im just looking for any young hippies in the Mobile area.

Alabama
Posted by christy on 2002-06-29 18:13:43
i live in auburn, Al and i wanted to know where the hippies were in Al. i would love to move where my fellow hippes are. my e-mail address is christyt9@juno.com peace & love, christy

Alabama
Posted by DesertRat on 2002-04-27 16:14:39
Any place for ole hippies into green living? Don't have the looks still have the attitude.

Alabama
Posted by peggy rickly on 2002-04-18 09:00:31
my joshua is still gone no infro yet he was last seen headed to mount cheaha in alabama and we miss him so much please contact us if you meet him or see him anyhwhere we just need to know he is ok thanks again red hair blue eyes 5 10" about 150 lbs please call if you have seen him 904-797-6557 or 1904-540-0437

Alabama
Posted by Rayne on 2002-04-14 17:18:24   My Score:
Hello, I live in Robertsdale, Alabama, it's alright, I wish I could find more people who share my views and things, but maybe one day when I get out of this place, I will!

Alabama
Posted by PEGGY RICKLY on 2002-04-10 21:53:39
MY SON IS MISSING WE LAST SPOKE ON MARCH 20TH AND HE SAID HE WOULD BE HOME IN 2 WEEKS AND HAVEN'T HEARD A WORD FROM IT IS NOT LIKE HIM NOT TO CALL AND I JUST WANT TO KNOW HE IS OK HIS NAME IS JOSHUA DAVID RICKLY AND RED HAIR A BIG TATOO ON BOTH ARMS AND A LION ON HIS BACK. PLEASE CALL IF YOU HAVE SEEN HIM HE WEARS GLASSES AND LOVES TO PLAY GITARS MY NUMBER IS (904)797 6557 CALL COLLECT ANYTIME

Alabama
Posted by dakotaphish on 2002-03-06 21:36:48
the people in alabama don't care what u look like? maybe not where u go, but where i go, if ur different in any way shape or form, they don't want u there.

Alabama
Posted by liz on 2002-02-23 19:38:03   My Score:
you can expect a new member in a little while!! My friend and i fell like were the only ones...and were 15!! i guess were young but i love ya man!!lol

Alabama
Posted by old_hippie on 2002-02-10 16:48:54
I moved to north east Al. from Pa. in 1972 and all my friends asked what the hell are you moving there with all the redneck. Let me tell you it was one of the best places that i ever lived. There were about 4 to 6 couples and we all lived with out running water and power.we all had our own pleaces. Only 1 couple was from al. the rest of us came from different parts of the country. The best thing about the place were the local people, the older people 60 and over taught us alot about the way we were living, because that the way they lived growing up. Like how to bake bread by the fire place and there nothing like a turkey baked in an old wood cook stove.

Alabama
Posted by Tom on 2002-01-29 21:50:07   My Score:
I live in Fairhope!! It really does have a culture of its own. Yes happy to say MTV can get ahold of every town!!! Fairhope is a hippy paradise

Alabama
Posted by Anonymous on 2001-12-31 01:47:56

Not in Opelika, Auburn (alothough I havent' been ot Auburn in a while), Layfette and close places! I visit there soemtimes, and there are soem, btu not many hippy people!

Alabama
Posted by Anonymous on 2001-12-22 16:44:45

down a little further south, in fairhope, alabama, the scene is exploding. i remember when there was only a few of us, and new friends keep popping up out of the woodwork. it's wonderful. if anyone's ever in town come check us out. the view of the sunset over the bluff looking out onto the bay is amazing. come share with me!

 
Main Menu
Search


Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls

Votes 12255
New Articles
· Wrong answer, try again.
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun

[ More in News Section ]
Random Headlines

Music
[ Music ]

·Hippie Songs Invade Texas Cowboy Country
·Listen to Neil Young's New CD! - Living With War
·OH NO YOKO! Plastic Lennon Doll!
·BONNAROO 2002!
·Music, Capitalism & Revolution (1969)
·Bootleg Records (1970)
·Rolling Stones Concert Review (1969)
·Rock Concert Review by Sandy Darlington (1968)
·Music With A Message
Features
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· Irwin Klein And The New Settlers: Photographs Of Conterculture In New Mexico
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy