Welcome to Hippyland


Main Menu
· Home
 · Login
 · Register
 · Hip Chat
 · Articles
 · Reviews
 · Surveys
 · Topics
 · Videos
 · Photo Galleries
 · Hippie Havens
 · Hip Quotes
 · Hip Glossary
 · Event Calendar
 · Submit Article
 · Submit Review
 · Recommend Hippy.com
 · Advertise on Hippy.com

Search

Search:

In:


Categories Menu
· All Categories
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner

New Articles
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation
· Peoples Revolution
· Hippie Drum (free ebook)
· Book from Roger Rea: Hipppies never die
· Comedy, Cocaine and Cable TV
· Hippie Songs Invade Texas Cowboy Country
· Off the Grid in the Natural State
· From the Novel, FLASHBACKS THROUGH A PURPLE HAZE
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Hair Rebellion

[ More in News Section ]

 

Las Vegas, Nevada

Yes, even the neon tribute to tinseled affluence is a hippie hangout. The area adjacent to UNLV is "loaded" with shops, pubs and music stores. A Las Vegas staple: "Legends" caters to the deadhead crowd, as well as the "Hard Rock Hotel", a must see while in Las Vegas. A major head shop, Tobacco Road, is always worth a visit. Finally, the Las Vegas Ski and Snowboard Resort hosts a blues festival in the summer which is great up at 7,500 feet.

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Nevada

Hits: 10401

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by messejessi on 2012-09-13 17:34:28
Hey I just moved here and am looking for some company...im chill...easy to get along with....and would love to hang with anyone really thats friendly. like hiking music festivals anything outdoors poetry...but can enjoy just about anything..hit me up!
wwww.facebook.com/jessicaleewoodward
...just lookin for like minded ppl...cant even find a radio station that isn't top 40s

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by meltingfeather on 2011-04-19 01:47:22
I feel so outta place in Vegas all my hippy friends moved...What are the current top ten hippy spots?

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by BlueShrooms4U on 2011-03-18 05:16:48
Yeah mon, I live in Vegas and so far "Reggae in the Desert" every Summer is a really sweet place to meet some groovy peeps!
Any groovy peeps out here in vegas feel free to hit me up as well?
Peace!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Kody on 2010-12-08 20:55:12
Hey I listen to alot of Dead and Shpongle and Bluegrass and stuff like that, go to festivals, love trippin, blaze fat bowls, hitchike around the country, go to Rainbow gatherings and ful moon parties, practice spirituality in my life, and I think Im a pretty friendly dude and people seem to think Im a hippie and I hang out with alot of hippie kids and my Dad and brother live in vegas so Im out there evry few months and it does suck.  So If one of you that wants to find people to kak it with, you should hit me up and we should chill.  Heres my facebook info
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000989036605

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by littlefoot on 2009-11-24 00:56:06
I moved here two months ago and the only hippies I have found were wandering the strip and just came back from burning man! Where are you? I need a friend that will go to red rock and go scrambling with me and smoke and teach me how to play guitar. (: sara_g468@yahoo.com

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by bhatnasx on 2008-10-19 02:45:46
I just moved here from Virginia. Came here for work & don't know anyone here except the people in my new office - but they aren't the kind to hang out... Is there any sort of a kind scene here with good music and a chill enviornment. Not sure how much of the comments below are still valid. I'm into Bluegrass and jam bands...am I out of luck? Please let me know where to go!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by delirium on 2007-12-31 05:20:43
this is for TOBY J. MASTERS: he posted a comment on 2006 01-01. i think ur the fucken moron, if they were no mexicans who do you think would keep the money flowing here in vegas. you fucking idiot! all those low life mexicans that hang out here are hard working people unlike u fat fuck white racists assholes because i bet ur a fat ass pathetic looser that can even get laid so the only thing u can do is talk shit about mexicans

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Katie on 2007-05-05 05:17:17
'I just moved here and i wanna know if their are n-e festivals around here?' The Ren Fair comes in Oct. First Friday is supposed to be cool, I've never been sadly. The Indian Festival. That's pretty much all that happens here. If you want to try and find people, maybe try the Swap Meets or Freemont Street. There's a hookah bar somewhere. In the nice part of town.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by stepdaddy on 2006-08-25 15:50:14
Nice place to visit but I wouldn't want to live there Vegas is the ultimate hippy vacation.. you can blow through all your personal demons and still be in the states (I mean its not amsterdam ferchristssake), but the days are hot, the people are tourists and the locals are out for your cash. I loved it but I didn't overstay, i didn't lose more than I could afford and I got married. Enjoy Las Vegas!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Toby J. Masters on 2006-01-01 16:46:14
If you can get the powers that be to rid us of all the low life illegal mexicans that drape every street corner and roadway and construction site, warehouse, landscaping company, temp agency slave market and wherever else these morons hide, Vegas wouldn't be such a bad place. As it is now, the blue collar job market is a low paying dead end meat market that drives the wages down and cost of living up for us working slobs. And also, send that moron mayor Oscar Goodman packing! Was he legitimately elected? If so, that shows you the mentality of Las Vegans! No class and no culture.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by rainwater314 on 2005-09-26 02:34:20
Husband and I lived in Las Vegas for 2.5 years (2001-2004plus). When I first lived there, I loved it. (Thanks to an established family, we had our own house in Spanish Trails - very nice.) But then the family sold our house to buy 2 smaller ones for rental income, and we were virtually homeless for a day. We had to move to a weekly off boulder and tropicana and I was pretty nervous to even leave the room! Big difference between those two sides of town! Anyways, that was when I was all materialistic so Vegas was great for that. But know that I am centered and have realized whats really important, Vegas is no longer for me. So we moved. Its a pretty city and I loved the dry climate and palm trees, but as for living in peace and doing your own thing, I suggest almost anywhere else. Crime rate is growing there with LA fugitives, etc.... So if you do go, be careful!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Sara on 2005-08-31 06:27:06
Yup Vegas definatley lacks culture and kynd people, but there are a few of us out there that haven't escaped the city yet. Some kinda kynd places to hang are ReJavanate at Pecos/Trop live music and poetry, First Friday events downtown, and the Goddess Temple in Cactus Springs... Know of any others? I'd love to know of some other kynd places and people... itsallbrite@cox.net Peace & Love

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by scottyviaggio on 2005-08-02 20:34:32
If you are liberal, or alternative DO NOT live in Las Vegas if you need a sense of community. People are competitive, keep to themselves, and there really is no culture scene developed. It may change someday, because of all the transplants that you have to draw from. The nature is limited - no trees. This city is about money, and people are competitive there. All the bad things of a big city, but none of the good things. Email me if you're thinking about moving there: realguy000@yahoo.com. I lived there for 1 year in 04-05.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by allaboutthebenjamin on 2005-07-28 10:20:26
my job has me flying in and out of vegas every couple weeks. The people at the office are not at all "kind" and have to watch it. So looking for someone in vegas who would show me a fun time. I am clean cut phish lover. Drop line or email to benjaminrjohnson AT hotmail.com

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by on 2005-07-25 04:42:24
Hello all you Vegans. Is there anyone out there that has the MJ hookup that could help me out?

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by cheryldene on 2005-07-22 23:18:29
Hello all i just moved here and i can't stand the place either. I suppose i would be able to stand it if i at least found some people with the same interests that i have. I'm really just looking for some travel buddies and people to hang out with if any one is interested email me at flo_town02@yahoo.com

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Sarah on 2005-07-12 21:18:55   My Score:
Hey, I am looking for a place that my family could park our bus and stay for a few months. We have a family goat and a couple of chickens and a dog that all come with us, so the average RV park is out, and the national parks only let you stay for 30 days at a time, so we need a good empty lot to park on where no one will run us off for about 6-8 months until we move on out of this giant trash incinerator they call Las Vegas. Any ideas?

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Michelle on 2005-06-26 13:50:29
Hi all. I live in Vegas{Henderson} w/my Hubby and cat:) I guess I'm pretty hippy but I'm mainly Pagan which there are similarities between the two:) I'd like to hang out with some local hippies sometime. Although,really I have and do since I've had and still have some local and/or fairly local{one friend lives in Kingman,AZ}pagan friends:) In response to some of the negative comments about Vegas. I don't like a lot of the drivers here and haven't liked everyone I have met here but you have that everywhere. There are some flaky people here too but again that can be found anywhere. It is also pretty hectic here but I feel there is plenty to do usually and I love the desert. Peace, ~Michelle~

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Capt. Nice on 2005-06-09 16:50:46
I lived in Las Vegas. I left, as I could not stand the place. I moved to North/Central Nevada thinking it would be better and cheaper. The rest of Nevada, perhaps save Reno, is a very conservative place. There are also a lot of problems with meth use and drinking, as there is nothing else to do. The rent is less, but you will be living around a lot of creeps. The right wing conservative that walk around with a copy of the US constitution and the Bill or Rights in their hip pocket need to pull it out and read it sometime, or have someone read it to them. They should put the lines “with liberty and justice for all” from the Pledge of Allegiance in rubrics – if you are “different” you will not be welcome by a lot of people there, which will make your stay unpleasant. Forget about decent medical or dental care! The only thing good about Nevada is no personal income tax, if you have any income that is taxable. Avoid Nevada entirely.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Ex Village Hippy on 2005-02-27 17:12:26
Vegas is the pits... The most unhip, conservative, place is the world. I was there for about a year... Could not wait to leave. There is Hambuger Mary's, a gay/hippy hangout, and a few places around UNLV... that is it. Vegas, since the corporate takeovers and the departure of "organized crime" as become an unfriendly - if not hostile - place. Don't even think about North Las Vegas, an amalgam of Mexicans, Blacks, white trash, and recent arrivals of families or pensioners. It was a riot to see the rednecks at a Herman's Hermits concert, and the "good ole boys" hee-hawing at a "Salute to the Beatles" concert singing along with "All you need is love." It was too surreal, like a Fellini movie with the cast from "Hee Haw." I did not have the stomach to see what the "good ole boys" were doing at the Lovin' Spoonful concert. Vegas has also become quit expensive, due to the influx of CA and NY moneybaggers. Stay away!!!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by tourist on 2005-02-04 15:29:52
Las Vegas is not a place for a politically correct woman. The women on the payroll there are all thin and love to show it, even the waitresses. There are a lot of girly shows. Even the tamer daytime shows still showcase girls in thongs or topless. There are men standing in the street passing out literature about hookers. This is good if it's what you are looking for, but I would not recommend it to the feminist types. Women can have a good time. There is a lot to do, but if this stuff will bother you, don't go.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by ntkg26 on 2005-01-31 07:18:36   My Score:
vegas, can be a kick ass time if you know how to do it right. i have lived here for the past month and a half, and so far i have had shit loads of fun and met loads of great people. careful scoring grass of course... (taxicab drivers many times will know whats up) moe. was here... awesome. local drumcircles in red rock canyon on sundays, i have heard rumor of parties in the desert during the summer, havent found out enough info on that yet. but will post when i find out if anyone is interested. definitley visit, free money floats around, cheap food, and stay... that is if you know how to hustle! peace

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by ntkg26 on 2005-01-31 07:17:34   My Score:
vegas, can be a kick ass time if you know how to do it right. i have lived here for the past month and a half, and so far i have had shit loads of fun and met loads of great people. careful scoring grass of course... (taxicab drivers many times will know whats up) moe. was here... awesome. local drumcircles in red rock canyon on sundays, i have heard rumor of parties in the desert during the summer, havent found out enough info on that yet. but will post when i find out if anyone is interested. definitley visit, free money floats around, cheap food, and stay... that is if you know how to hustle! peace

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by nmhatch on 2004-12-19 22:54:17
Vegas sucks, lots of assholes and traffic, and smog, and parents losing money and taking it out on their kids. All the little kids want to be 50 cent. If your looking for a hippie lifestyle, do not come here. Anyone know any cool little towns with good scenery? I'm looking for a little town where everyone knows eachother at the local bar. Email me nmhatch@hotmail.com

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Hippy to make yet another on 2004-11-04 14:38:28
fuck you

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by jeremy on 2004-08-29 03:21:57
I just moved here and i wanna know if their are n-e festivals around here?

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by sarah on 2004-07-02 02:45:11
no friend but there is tons in auburn, alabama... u should make a visit

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by jake on 2004-06-26 06:17:39
does anyone know where in las vegas i can get salvia divinorum? please email me back at jakepig@aol.com if you know

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by luvguster1982 on 2003-11-11 05:32:10
Hey everyone, I can't tell you how relieved I am to finally find a site like this. I thought perhaps I was the only damn hippie in this god forsaken town. Anyway, I am a music major at UNLV, looking to hang out with some of people that share my views on love and life. Write me, so that we can all talk. luvguster1982@aol.com Denise

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Brodpuffpuff on 2003-09-12 15:27:37
Where are the hippies in Las Vegas? I moved here a month and a half ago, and have not found anyone like me. Where are you all?

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by MattInVegas on 2003-05-05 11:35:56
Problem is, that, there's no place we older generation Hippies can go, and, I think I'm honestly the ONLY older Hippy, IN Lost Wages. :( Matt.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Posted by Viva Las Vegs! on 2002-11-03 12:00:58   My Score:
Ahhh yes! Las Vegas. The glorious and glittering monument of capilalism in the Mojave desert. God Bless Las Vegas.

Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results
Polls

Votes: 6753
Comments: 19

Old Articles
· Protest Against War with Iran!
· Former Revolutionary About to Become Brazil's President
· Hippy.com Updated!
· A Real Solution to the Economic Crisis
· Creating a new culture based on tribal values
· Weather Underground Fifth Communication (1970)
· Weather Underground Frees Timothy Leary! (1970)
· Marxism and Nonviolence (1966)
· The Weathermen (1969)
· Bill Ayers: Domestic Terrorist or American Hero?

Older Articles

New Reviews
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness

Featured Forums
· Marijuana Forum
· Hippies
· UK Hippies
· Music Forum
· Love & Sex Forum
· Psychedelics
· Politics Forum

Featured Blogs
·Skip's Travel Journal
·Inner Journey
·Old Tiger's Gypsy Journal
·My Wonderland
·The Accidental Blog
·Oldwolf's Journal

Hip Videos
Child of Thunder
Views: 4579
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 108

The New LA Folk Festival
Views: 4337
Rating: 2.99 Votes: 108

Scott Davidson: A Tracker in Marin County
Views: 4149
Rating: 3.12 Votes: 113

The Psychedelic Landscape Dept.
Views: 6701
Rating: 3.00 Votes: 141

Summertime - Janis Joplin
Views: 10262
Rating: 3.06 Votes: 217

Summer of Love 1967
Views: 11103
Rating: 2.97 Votes: 201

1967 Video about Hippies
Views: 12264
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 221

The Hippies Were Right!
Views: 8821
Rating: 3.04 Votes: 200


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © by Hip Inc.