Welcome to Hippyland

Click to buy Posters!

Main Menu
· Home
 · Login
 · Register
 · Hip Chat
 · Articles
 · Reviews
 · Surveys
 · Topics
 · Videos
 · Photo Galleries
 · Hippie Havens
 · Hip Quotes
 · Hip Glossary
 · Event Calendar
 · Submit Article
 · Submit Review
 · Recommend Hippy.com
 · Advertise on Hippy.com

Search

Search:

In:


Categories Menu
· All Categories
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner

New Articles
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation
· Peoples Revolution
· Hippie Drum (free ebook)
· Book from Roger Rea: Hipppies never die
· Comedy, Cocaine and Cable TV
· Hippie Songs Invade Texas Cowboy Country

[ More in News Section ]

 

Provincetown, Massachusetts

This town is right by the top of cape cod. Considers itself alomst a sistertown to Key West. Ferries come from Boston. Even a shipwreck tourist spot. Lots of fudge. Tie-dye clothing.

The year-round population of 5,000, largely comprised of gays, lesbians and various artsy types. 50,000 visitors in the summer on the beaches. A premier gay vacation spot.

Added: August 12th 2004
Category: Place
Location: Massachusettes

Hits: 7897

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Posted by Kate on 2008-01-15 21:43:36
A lot of the cape is still hippie in a way espescially up near provincetown. Provincetown is a beautiful area. It is right by the beach and has lots of cool hippie shops. During the summer you don't see to many hippies around though, tourists have mainly taken up the popular commericial street in the summer months. However it is still a very open, accepting, and beautiful town. If you're ever near the cape you must stop by.

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Posted by granpametal on 2007-07-21 18:08:30
I lived in p-town as a youngster on the beach whith my family and my mom and dad used to let hippies crash in the garage at night as long as they were cool and did not do drugs or party all night and no loud music. that was cool and i had some really cool freinds.

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Posted by granpametal on 2007-06-16 19:54:58   My Score:
p-town was in the late 60's and 70's full of hippies i remember as a boy we camped on the beach know as race piont. in town we would buy ice and other needed stuff. the hippies would beg for food some would entertain by singing or with art work. My brother and i would get up in the morrning run to the dunes and see the hippies sleeping in the sand. we had a girl -(she went by the name melody) that would pay us to collect large shells and pieces of drift wood and she would paint the shell and sell them to beach commers ( tourists in beach buses) that was how she lived. That was so cool how the hippies lived just free and easy in love with all,nature and even with thoughs that did not understand. the hippies were right for the time and now p- town is the safe haven for the gay. Provincetown is a place i will never forget peace love and down with the war.

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Posted by hippiechicksrule on 2005-12-15 04:32:41
The previous 2 posters are so so true. Better be a trust fund millionaire if you want to do P-town. Come to Greenfield, Mass..,. seriously. Plenty of super cheap apartmnets in cool old pharmhouses. Hippies, musicians, artists, poets, craftspeople. Easy to hook up. Friendly kynd folks. Cafe Koko, Greenfields Organic Market, the Peoples Pint, Herm's, Famous Bill's, free summer concerts at Industry Park, skinny dipping along the Green River. Greenfield, Mass -Summer of Love 2006

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Posted by old timer on 2005-07-27 04:45:04
I frequently visited Provincetown for 30 years and then lived there full time for ten. In the 60s and 70s it made a fair bid to be called a hippie town, but real estate prices soared in the 80s and 90s, and now the tourist businesses have to bus in their kitchen and housekeeping help. A plain 2 bed & 2 bath house costs about $500,000, and one can't make enough in tips to pay the rent. The tourist season and its Manhattan-high prices extend from early summer to Hallowe'en, sometimes to New Year's Eve. There was a time when the various factions of the town were: 1) Portuguese (mostly fishermen who owned the property and businesses), 2) the aging straight artists (mostly seasonal and fairly well off---more than a few were/are famous, and their painting and writing sells), and 3) gays (mostly male). There were also Cape Verdeans and some black-white couples who found Provincetown comparatively tolerant in the 1950s - 1970s, as did the gays, and there has always been a straight alternative crowd that varies from biker types to ecologists and artists to hippies. The hippies are gone. Provincetown is for the rich. Few could resist cashing in their houses. AIDS did a number on the gay male community (who kept the theatre companies going summer and winter), and many who died found that their straight families took their property and their lovers were shorted. Gay women probably now outnumber gay men. Gays own half the town. Professionals took early or partial retirement. Ptown is safe, well kept, and town government is more professionally run than 30 years ago. But it is no place for hippies. There are no places for hippies on Cape Cod. It is too expensive, increasingly crowded and more a place for professionals and yuppies, straight or queer. If you simply wish to visit for a short while, you'll find several camp grounds. The further you go out on Cape Cod (Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, North Truro and Ptown, the more beautiful the land is.

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Posted by tourist on 2005-02-03 05:46:23
Provincetown is good entertainment, but I wouldn't want to be a heterosexual guy without a female escort. All of Cape Cod is gorgeous. Provincetown is very scenic because it is surrounded by coast. I also liked Hyannis and Yarmouth and other Cape Cod towns that welcomed tourists. I recommend the Cape to anybody who likes scenery and to any guy looking to meet chicks from Ireland.

Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results
Polls

Votes: 7248
Comments: 19

Old Articles
· The Taliban is Not Hiding in my Kitchen, but MSG is!
· Napalm—Not Your Ordinary Jelly
· The War on Terror is Very Big Business—Using YOUR Money
· The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
· Protest Against War with Iran!
· Former Revolutionary About to Become Brazil's President
· Hippy.com Updated!
· A Real Solution to the Economic Crisis
· Creating a new culture based on tribal values
· Weather Underground Fifth Communication (1970)

Older Articles

New Reviews
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness

Featured Forums
· Marijuana Forum
· Hippies
· UK Hippies
· Music Forum
· Love & Sex Forum
· Psychedelics
· Politics Forum

Featured Blogs
·Skip's Travel Journal
·Inner Journey
·Old Tiger's Gypsy Journal
·My Wonderland
·The Accidental Blog
·Oldwolf's Journal

Hip Videos
Child of Thunder
Views: 5137
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 109

The New LA Folk Festival
Views: 4888
Rating: 2.99 Votes: 108

Scott Davidson: A Tracker in Marin County
Views: 4648
Rating: 3.12 Votes: 113

The Psychedelic Landscape Dept.
Views: 7243
Rating: 3.00 Votes: 141

Summertime - Janis Joplin
Views: 10969
Rating: 3.07 Votes: 218

Summer of Love 1967
Views: 11722
Rating: 2.97 Votes: 203

1967 Video about Hippies
Views: 12888
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 223

The Hippies Were Right!
Views: 9507
Rating: 3.04 Votes: 202


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © by Hip Inc.