Welcome to Hippyland


Main Menu
· Home
 · Login
 · Register
 · Hip Chat
 · Articles
 · Reviews
 · Surveys
 · Topics
 · Videos
 · Photo Galleries
 · Hippie Havens
 · Hip Quotes
 · Hip Glossary
 · Event Calendar
 · Submit Article
 · Submit Review
 · Recommend Hippy.com
 · Advertise on Hippy.com

Search

Search:

In:


Categories Menu
· All Categories
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner

New Articles
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation
· Peoples Revolution
· Hippie Drum (free ebook)
· Book from Roger Rea: Hipppies never die
· Comedy, Cocaine and Cable TV
· Hippie Songs Invade Texas Cowboy Country

[ More in News Section ]

 

Maui, Hawaii

Still full of hippies living on the slopes of Haleakela, the dormant volcano, in places like Kipahulu, Kula, Hana, Paia. You'll need a few gold cards to visit here. This scene is expensive. Water shortages, overcrowding and tourism are making the Maui scene less attractive unless you hide out in the jungle!

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Hawaii

Hits: 16571

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Frank on 2012-05-29 07:18:03
I would love to share beautiful nature and peace with other simple people like myself. I hope to meet a group that shares the same belief. My email is fguglietta@student.monroecc.edu


Thank you

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-05 01:52:42

Does anyone know of any work exchange programs in hawaii? I want to come for the month of June 2011. Please email me at Lmcartnick@gmail.com
Thanksss

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by dave on 2009-07-04 07:26:11
if you go to maui visit "little beach" drum circles, magic tea passed around. dont be thrown off by the nudity, 50% wear swim suits, the web site focuses on the nudity but thats the least remarkable thing. once your are there you will be amazed. google "friends of little beach maui". Willy Nelson lives in paia, nuff said there. local street kids will try to sell to you, just smell it first, some will try to sell something that smelled like moldly hay but it is easy to find the real deal, follow your nose. Jan Feb and Mar the whales are there from alaska, 150tons breaching way out of the water, sssplashhh. See you there ! Peace, Love.

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Jessica on 2009-05-04 02:19:39
Looking for work trade on Maui in Paia right now, does anybody know of anything if so please email me at jessica.lynn.berry@gmail.com, thanks....

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by peace on 2009-04-22 18:55:25
i hippie

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Skye Blue P on 2009-02-06 18:06:34
Well I am from Woodstock NY, Me and my Rainbow Brothers and Sisters wanna take a trip to find and bring some of our local stock to you fellow brothers and sisters....info email me at skyebluep@gmail.com

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Kyl Benzle on 2008-12-25 02:20:32
Hi, Anyone with any specific info on WWOOF on Maui, I'm here now and would love to work. Please please please email if you know anything thanks thanks Thank you Kbenzle@gmail.com

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Jeremiah & Leanne Martin on 2008-02-20 22:53:56
My wife and I are seeking a life adventure in Hawaii. She is 26, I am 30, and we are happily married for 2 years on July 4th. We currently live the average American lifestyle in Denver Colorado. We are both college graduates; she is a dietitian for a local school district, as well as a personal trainer, and I have owned a residential renovation business for seven years. I am proud to say that both our careers have been a great success and provided well for us. However we’ve grown tired of the familiarity of life as well as the accumulation of stress from the long hours, the anxiety, and the pursuit of the materialistic lifestyle. My wife, Leanne, has quit her job and I have sold my business and we are following a new path in Hawaii. We want to slow down, get healthy, have some fun, and grow together in the adventure. I wish to offer my remodeling services to someone in exchange for a clean place to stay, a minimal amount of money for daily living expenses, and some referrals to help us start our new journey. I am very qualified, will bring my own tools and transportation, and will provide many references. I can offer services ranging from simple handyman work to high end custom renovations. To see my work and better understand the value we have to offer, check out my website www.martincustoms.com. We are honest, motivated, energetic, meticulous, and hardworking. We have no expectations other than to experience life in a new way and to grow together in our marriage. If you have any interest I would love to here your story. Jeremiah & Leanne Martin jmartin@martincustoms.com

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Catherine on 2007-10-27 03:20:24   My Score:
Hey! Looking for a job and hippies on any of the Hawaiian islands. I'm doing a cross-island expedition and I'd love to meet some of you. For a lot of different and mutual reasons. lindsaysample@gmail.com

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by DaNdY AnDi on 2007-03-01 22:53:58
me and my boyfriend want to travel this summer and we were thinking of maui or kuai because plane tickets are cheaper. i was wondering if it would be that realistic to live in the jungle for a month or two, do people do thjis a lot. if so, any tips or useful info you could send my way would be wonderful!

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by nyc kid on 2007-02-09 05:05:04
could somebody tell me the easiest way to get that maui waui so i could get some gunja on my lungs

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Corey on 2006-08-27 00:20:25
looking for work in the Area. does anyone know where l can get a job ... l dont like lables so l wont call myself a hippie ... Im am just a martial artist who travels and find hippies to be the best of people so if anyone knows where l can find a job on the Island it would help out greatly Thank you for your time I can be reached at CoreyE814@peoplepc.com... thanks agian

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by DEFINE-HIPPY on 2006-02-11 00:02:15
Can someone define what it means to be a hippy? Is it a flower child, peace, love and harmony? Is it sex, drugs and rock and roll? Is it meth, stealing, paranoia and open oozing sores? What is a hippy these days?

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by love muffin on 2006-02-02 07:57:34
I agree with some people in this discussion. Hawaii in general is wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwonderful. Peace and love persists here, rainbows thrive, birds sing, children dance. If you dont believe me check out tribalrevival.org

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Huelo landowner on 2005-12-13 14:34:18
It is so strange for people to post anti-hippy tirades on hippy.com. I mean, isn't this just a place for hippies to communicate with each other? And it is even funnier to read what the hippies say to each other: i.e., "here is how to find marijuana and sponge off of others." That must be what being a hippy is all about. Yes, Huelo is up to its eyeballs in hippies. Here is the deal: go to somebody who owns a biggish piece of land, at least a few acres. He is probably some rich bastard anyway. Make a deal where you get to live on the land in a tent or a shack, in exchange for "working" on the land. It is called "Work Exchange". Then, do as little work as possible, smoke dope all the time, and bring all your smelly friends to live with you. And while you are at it, give the landowner a whole bunch of head-trips about how they are capitalist exploiters, and tell them you think you should end up being part-owner of the land because you planted a papaya tree or two on it.

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by MIA@kamaole 1 beach park on 2005-11-23 19:15:33
Most of the local drug scene consists of meth users, who fortuneately do not like hippies, and would be more than happy to clip you. Why bitch about the cost of things, sleep on the beach and eat at the church like so many of the local population is forced to do because of the fact that more and more of you bastards keep showing up here and not leaving. Aloha means goodbye too. Anotherthing, fucking bathe, I mean for christ's sake the ocean is right there and most beach parks have public showers. I'm gonna turn my pit bulls loose on the next prick the reeks of dirty crotch and patchouli oil I encounter strolling through kihei. How do you starve a hippy? Hide their parent's credit card under a bar of soap.

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by cari on 2005-08-17 00:48:12
maui is the most mystical place filled with rainbows and journys , i thank the godess that i came and saw and was able to learn more about myself and life

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Selina on 2005-07-26 08:59:17   My Score:
Indeed, Maui is a beautiful place. I was born here and have lived here my entire life. There are ALOT of hippies here, probably just as many as there are private jets, limos, and platinum credit cards. This island could only be a haven for a a very rich hippy. It is super expensive here, gas is over $3.00 a gallon. The average house price is $950,000, and that's the most run-down shack you can find. The expensiveness, the annoying tourits and/or locals, and fat sun-burned losers could be all be handled if the beauty wasn't dissapearing so quickly. Every where you look there are new mansions, movie theaters, and highways springing up. The traffic has doubled in the past 10 years and there is more crime everyday. If you are willing to pay the ridiculous amount to live on Maui and are attached to the hippy scene I reccomend Paia, Huelo, Kipahulu, or Haiku. Stay away from Kula, Kihei, Lahaina, and most definitley Wailea.

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Jesus on 2005-05-30 07:34:19
There are tons of hippies in Haiku/Huelo, just cruze around the town or hitch hike, your bound to meet some cool people. I wouldn't recomend Hana though, I havn't been there much, but the locals dominate it and they want it to stay that way. Weed is super expensive because of Green Harvest, its about $20/gram. So if your coming here, just cruze and go camp in the woods, have a good time. It is getting more and more populated and there are tons of tourists, so like the bumper sticker says - "Welcome to Hawaii...Now Go Home!" Peace

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Julia Reeves on 2005-05-21 00:00:10
I would like information on joining a commune in Hana....

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Haleigh Amick on 2005-01-13 03:16:49
Hi, I've been to Maui three times and haven't really seen many hippies or hippie scenes, festivals, whatever...just tourists maybe I was in the wrong area. I'm going again in June I'm 19 and just wondering if anyone could let me know where I should go to be around the hippie scene. peace & love. P.S. my email is hamick@iastate.edu

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by Kale Boerner on 2004-10-04 05:07:29   My Score:
I live in Kipahulu and i grow all organic fruit and living out there is so amazing it is just too hard to explain you have to see it for your self. peace be with you all

Maui, Hawaii
Posted by PhishMoe on 2003-03-05 20:54:28   My Score:
I visit Maui regularly and suggest traveling through the rainforest up to Hana where you can visit the Sacred Pools. Most beautiful and tranquil place I've ever visited.

Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results
Polls

Votes: 7223
Comments: 19

Old Articles
· The Taliban is Not Hiding in my Kitchen, but MSG is!
· Napalm—Not Your Ordinary Jelly
· The War on Terror is Very Big Business—Using YOUR Money
· The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
· Protest Against War with Iran!
· Former Revolutionary About to Become Brazil's President
· Hippy.com Updated!
· A Real Solution to the Economic Crisis
· Creating a new culture based on tribal values
· Weather Underground Fifth Communication (1970)

Older Articles

New Reviews
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness

Featured Forums
· Marijuana Forum
· Hippies
· UK Hippies
· Music Forum
· Love & Sex Forum
· Psychedelics
· Politics Forum

Featured Blogs
·Skip's Travel Journal
·Inner Journey
·Old Tiger's Gypsy Journal
·My Wonderland
·The Accidental Blog
·Oldwolf's Journal

Hip Videos
Child of Thunder
Views: 5106
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 109

The New LA Folk Festival
Views: 4862
Rating: 2.99 Votes: 108

Scott Davidson: A Tracker in Marin County
Views: 4623
Rating: 3.12 Votes: 113

The Psychedelic Landscape Dept.
Views: 7217
Rating: 3.00 Votes: 141

Summertime - Janis Joplin
Views: 10942
Rating: 3.06 Votes: 217

Summer of Love 1967
Views: 11690
Rating: 2.97 Votes: 201

1967 Video about Hippies
Views: 12856
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 223

The Hippies Were Right!
Views: 9477
Rating: 3.04 Votes: 202


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © by Hip Inc.