Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

Click to Shop at Hip Market!
Main Menu
Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls
Search


Random Headlines

Health
[ Health ]

·Margo St. James Streaked the Bay to Breakers Run (1965)
·The Taliban is Not Hiding in my Kitchen, but MSG is!
·Choosing Natural Alternative Medicine Over Chemically Produced Medicine
·Green Tea and Cholesterol facts
·Vitamins: Accessory Factors to Health
·UK Releases Report on GM Foods
·Depressed about America
·My horrible diet
·Pot and Breastfeeding
Categories Menu
· A Trip Thru the '60s
·
Archives
·
Ask The Old Hippy
·
Columns
·
Hip Profiles
·
Hippies From A to Z
·
Hippyland Tour
·
Interviews
·
Letters to Hippyland
·
Links
·
News
·
Reviews
·
Skip's Corner
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness
New Articles
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation

[ More in News Section ]
 

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)

I don't know much of who José Cid is. Apparently he's a big pop star in his native Portugal. What I do know was he's been around the music business since the mid 1950s, being in several bands, including Quarteto 1111 (which existed in the late 1960s to mid 1970s). But in the mid to late 1970s, José Cid decided to pursue the prog rock path.

The last Quarteto 1111 album, Cantamos Pessoas Vivas (1974) was said to be Cid's first journey in to prog rock. The band broke up and Cid decided go solo and continue on in this prog direction. First he released an EP in 1977 called Vida (Sons do Quotidiano), which is loaded with lots of Mellotron, Mini Moog, and string synths. It's a concept disc dealing with life from birth to death (apparently, life ended on this disc with an automobile accident, since you hear a car crash, before the disc ends with a synth solo). I have never been all that fond of the Vida EP, mainly because I found it a bit too downbeat and depressing for my liking. Luckily his next project, this time, a full LP, would be quite an improvement, and that would be 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Vénus e Marte.

This time, Cid went for a concept more to my liking: sci-fi. The album deals with the destruction of the Earth from the usual (wars, pollution). A Man and a Woman escapes in a spaceship only to return to Earth some 10,000 years later to find the planet returned to her former beauty. If anything, this album sounds something like a Portuguese version of Eloy.

This recording reminds me a little of that band's 1977 album Ocean, except the fact José Cid had the sense to sing in his native Portuguese. This whole album is a vintage keyboard lover's dream come true. The gatefold features Mr. Cid standing next to his assortment of keyboards, which includes a piano, two Mellotrons (the small white 400 model), Hohner clavinet, Mini Moog, and several keyboards I can't recognize. He also did the singing, and had a band backing him up, including bassist and guitarist Zé Nabo, and drummer Ramon Gallarza. Scottish-born guitarist Mike Sergeant (from the British band Marmalade, and a former member of Quarteto 1111) guests on one of the songs as well.

The first two songs, "O Último Dia Na Terra" and "O Caos" are nothing short of incredible. The Mellotron choir sound has got to be heard to be believed! I just loved that spacy sci-fi sound that sounds so '70s. And if you're a Mellotron fan, you can't argue with an album in which one of the songs bears the title of "Mellotron O Planeta Fantástico", another great number, I especially like the use of bass guitar and the Moog synthesizers. Of course the Mellotron is ever present.

"A Partir do Zero" is another good one, I especially love the use of synthesizers on that one. But I could not understand why the album had to end with "Memos" which is mainly the main piano theme found on one of the earlier songs on the album, "Fuga Para O Espaço". For all the effort José Cid put in to 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Vénus E Marte, it's too bad the label (Orfeu Records) treated him like shit and was reluctant to release this album. The reason was it was not commercial enough (that, in itself, make a prog rock fan like me happy).

The album featured some very elaborate packaging. It was a gatefold with a killer full color six page lyric booklet with some wonderful sci-fi artwork. It cost Orfeu more money to manufacture the album with the packaging, so Cid decided to give away the album by not being paid royalties. The LP, unsurprisingly, was a big flop in Portugal, and it apparently hurt Cid, so he went the more commercial Portuguese pop route after that album (apparently, anything he did after 10.000 Anos isn't worth wasting your time on if you're a prog rock fan).

A small California-based label called Art Sublime reissued this incredible album on CD with LP-sized packaging, with the same gatefold and elaborate lyric booklet the original LP had. It also included the Vida (Sons do Quotidiano) EP as a bonus cut.

Apparently 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Vénus E Marte is highly sought after by collectors, but I have never met any diehard prog fan who has heard of this album. But still the same, if you like spacy, Mellotron-heavy prog rock, and if you like late '70s Eloy, you're bound to enjoy this album!

Added: November 30th 2002
Reviewer: Ben Miler | See all reviews by Ben Miler
Category: Music
Location: Portugal
Score:

Hits: 31076

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Amttzanda on 2008-03-15 02:59:55   My Score:
encouragements, almost all those different companies, both great home consumption, whether the herrings were cured with foreign or

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Fernando Ferreira (Niu) on 2007-02-08 19:43:20   My Score:
Sou um fã do rock progressivo e do José Cid, para mim este 10 000 anos é um sério candidato ao melhor album de todos os tempos. José Cid nós fãs de prog estamos quase á 30 anos á espera de mais um album de prog queremos ouvir esses Mellotrons e Moogs outra vez. No entanto concordo com um comentario que apesar do Cid ter seguido um caminho mais comercial as suas musicas melodicamente e instrumentalmente continuam a ter muita qualidade .

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Ben Miler on 2006-12-31 10:19:00
I am the one who reviewed this album, and maybe I felt like I needed to redo the review, it's really hard for me to look at reviews a did a few years back. Regardless, I, as an American, didn't quite realize just how big Cid was in his native Portugal! In America, ask an American about José Cid, and they'll be likely scratching their heads, unless they were such religious devotees to the Eurovision Song Contest and caught him performing "Uma Grande Grande Amor" on the 1980 Eurovision Song Contest (which, from listening to that, it's unbelievable how far removed that song is from 10.000 Anos from two years before, it's straight-up pop). I saw that 1980 Eurovision Song Contest footage with him in it on Youtube.com. I also forgot to mention that José Cid's first exploration of prog rock came with the last Quarteto 1111 album, called Cantamos Pessoas Vivas from 1975. I hadn't heard that album, although it's supposed to be loaded with lots of Mellotron.

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2006-01-10 18:40:19
O Zé Cid é o maior!!! EStou a ouvi-lo neste preciso momento, enquanto trabalho. Mais precisamente "A Mansarda", que é uma música excepcional. É pena que este país este cheio de saloios que dão valor a uma merda de músicas só porque são cantadas em inglês e não reconheçam o valor deste grande músico. Só tenho um adjectivo para essa gente: parolos....

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by David Freitas on 2005-12-11 05:37:33   My Score:
Although it is true that José Cid went to more comercial roads, it should also be said that his live performance are still one of the bests and, in my opinion, not at all comercial. About 10000..., this is an historical record for the Portuguese music and, if i may generalize, the world music. It is a tale of resistance and new ways in a country which was under political opression. The taste for this kind of music can be discused but this is an record with unpreceded quality here in Portugal. It is, in my opinion, one of - if not the - finest Portuguese records ever. Thanks José for this!

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Manuel Oliveira on 2005-11-12 20:28:57   My Score:
Ao ler os comentários, senti-me envergonhado porque, tendo em conta especialmente o comentário da Margie, os portugueses fogem a 7 pés de dar apoio aos seus prprios artistas, os quais acabam por ver o seu mérito reconhecido lá fora. Motivos? As editoras promovem muito melhor o que vem de fora, porque o investimento em suportes publicitários já vem embrulhadinho lá de fora. Cá é preciso investir dinheiro nesses suportes, e as editoras nacionais não estão para aí viradas. O velho conceito de encher o bolso com o mínimo esforço. Pode ser que isto melhore! Abraço, José Cid. És o meu ídolo!

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by joseph silva on 2005-03-22 10:54:30   My Score:
I am glad that finally someone recognizes how masterful Jose Cid was and still is. He rocks he is the best then and now. cantando pessoas vivas or comercial material such as cabana will live forever.

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2004-12-24 18:44:46
Sem a menor dúvida, o sr Cid é uma das grandes estrelas da música portuguesa, e como ele diz, a mãe do rock em portugal. Mesmo seguindo a sua recente carreira continua irreverente, genial, melodioso. Qualquer dúvida que possam ter sobre o Sr Cid contactem Os Tós, os Cidólogos de portugal. Abraços.

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by teclado marado on 2004-10-19 18:36:42
infelizmente o José Cid era grande demais para a mentalidade portuguesa de então, e seguiu outro rumo. uma perda irreparavel. de qualquer forma não deixou d pontuar na sociedade portuguesa com algumas presenças marcantes como o ter pousado nu. Os meus parbéns pela irreverência e atitute. teclas

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Rui Oliveira SFC on 2004-09-23 19:10:33
Só quero dizer que José Cid é como um Deus no Olimpo, a voz, a garra, o sentimento, a melodia e as letras que embalam nas nossas mentes. Para repor a verdade quero dizer que Serginho Formiga é o FAN N.º 1

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Filipe Godinho on 2004-09-14 01:40:13
Só conhecia a faceta soft do J Cid, este album fez-me lembrar Triunvirat, Emerson Lake and Palmer e em alguns solos de Guitarra até Genesis, se de certo modo me pareceu já ter ouvido mt daquilo, acho contudo que está muito bem concebido o álbum, pq a "pimbalheira" toda q veio a seguir? mm assim acho q é um "pimba" c mais qualidade do q pelo menos 95 % do q ouvimos, simplesmente deixa muito a desejar apenas um álbum deste género...

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Bestrocker on 2004-09-09 11:21:52   My Score:
Desde que vi o José cid a cantar sentado num cavalo.... o meu sentido de humor nunca mais foi o mesmo!!! Abraço Bestrocker

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by treinadores de fut juv -s on 2004-07-13 02:15:20
Somos um grupo de amigos treinadores de futebol e todos adoramos esse grande senhor da musica mundial JOSÉ CID. Esperamos que um dia o mestre volte a tocar na nossa terra coisa que ja aconteceu mas a muitos anos atras. O mais engraçado é que até um colega nosso que é francês tem na ponta da lingua as canções da soberba colectanea lançada no ano passado. Um forte abraço ao nosso amigo José Cid e os nossos parabens pela sua brilhante carreira. ANDRÉ PEDROSA, JEAN RAVERA, JOÃO PEDRO VIEGAS. HENRIQUE VIEGAS, PAULO VIEGAS, JOSÉ SEQUEIRA, NUNO CABRITA, SERGIO FORMIGA e o FÃ Nº1 RUI OLIVEIRA os treinadores de futebol juvenil do Silves futebol clube nota: o nosso balneario tem o nome de " BALNEARIO JOSÉ CID "

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Rui Oliveira on 2004-07-13 01:56:52
Por vezes é dificil explicar o porque de gostarmos tanto de algo e e-me extremamente dificil explicar o porque de ser um fã incondicional deste grande musico - José Cid. SOU O FÃ Nº 1, acreditem. Ao longo do tempo fui coleccionando as revistas , as fotos, os discos, mais tarde os cd´s coisas que guardo religiosamente fechadas a sete chaves. Não estive no recente concerto do coliseu porque me encontrava ausente no estrangeiro por motivos profissionais situação que me deixou muito triste mas certamente numa proxima oportunidade nao falharei. O meu obrigado ao Cid e a todos aqueles que com ele percorreram as estradas e os céus transportando consigo tantas e tão boas canções, OBRIGADO. Rui Oliveira NOTA: Os meus amigos chamam-me Rui Cid por andar sempre de oculos escuros tal como o Cid

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by serginho formiga silves on 2004-07-11 18:30:40
Tenho 32 anos e durante alguns anos cresci a ouvir as canções do Zé. Há coisa de uns 5 anos comprei o " tão pouco balado" (em Portuga) disco de rock progressivo "10.000 anos depois..." e achei absolutamente soberbo, ao nivel de grandes discos feitos por grandes bandas. Por esse disco também pela sua carreira queria enviar os meus parabens ao Zé e dizer-lhe que desejo que continue a ter forças e inspiração para continuar . Sérginho Formiga silves

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Joao A. on 2004-05-20 14:25:30   My Score:
Aspectos da carreira de José Cid podem ser encontrados em: http://www.geocities.com/vilardemouros1971/quarteto.htm tal como fotografias de um festival pop/rock que tentou organizar no Estoril, em 1969, mas que foi proibido e reprimido violentamente pela polícia, em: http://www.geocities.com/vilardemouros1971/salesianos.htm

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2004-05-09 21:47:17
uau uma pessoa faz uma simples pergunta e o post é simplesmente apagado... acho q sim ha gente mto limitada !

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Pedro Silva on 2004-05-07 13:14:22
RJPF-ILHA DA MADEIRA: A música chama-se UM GRANDE, GRANDE AMOR. Na net no programa Win Mx ou Kazaa talvez encontre.

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Paulo Alves on 2004-02-13 21:06:27
Onde posso comprar "entre vénus e Marte"?

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by RJPF-ILHA DA MADEIRA on 2004-02-10 01:48:48
Olá Estava a procura da música que José Cid representou Portugal em 1980 e deparei-me com este site. Não sabia que tinha tido tanto sucesso nos anos 70, fico contente por isso. Já agora alguém sabe o titulo da canção e onde posso conseguir na net? Obrigado. e-mail:blueatlantik@hotmail.com

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by JP on 2004-02-09 20:46:17   My Score:
Triumvirat-José Cid-EL&P Nada mau, pena ele ter enveredado por caminhos comerciais.Tambem neste pais dá-se muito pouca importancia ao Prog (eu não, sem Prog não existo).E os que existem andam escondidos... De quê??

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2004-02-09 10:59:47   My Score:
Hello... I'm proud of beeing portuguese. I'm proud of beeing Cid's friend for the last 20 years. He still is wonderful in his powerfull music... And you still don't know his latest albums... Congratulatios, ZÉ. PORTUGAL IS PROUD OF YOUR MUSIC: Thank you very much. RN

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by Nuno Ferreira on 2004-01-22 20:19:02   My Score:
As someone did already mentioned here, his music had no positive feedback from the portuguese audience. I think that in the 70's, on a musical level, Mr. José Cid was far ahead for his time. Despite all that can be said and written, I see his whole work as a milestone on the portuguese musical panorama. Como já alguém mencionou, a sua música nao teve uma resposta positiva da parte do público português. Penso que nos anos 70, a um nível musical, José Cid estava muito adiantado no tempo. Apesar de tudo o que possa ser dito e escrito, eu vejo toda a sua obra como um marco milenar no panorama musical português. nsilva.ferreira@clix.pt

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2003-11-25 13:44:10   My Score:
Ao nível do melhor que se fazia na área do rock progressivo

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2003-09-12 22:02:55   My Score:
Hello, first of all want to give you congratulations for being so mature in your critics. I’m 33 and i know this album because he was remasterized in US and here was at the stores again. (God bless America ) I think it’s an amazing progressive rock album. José cid has a brilliant career and it seems he is doing a great internet page. I wish he could have used more synths in this album, maybe from Sequential, Oberheim, and an arp odyssey. He is a great musician and a great keyboard player. For me the track “Vida - sons do quotidiano” is the best of all. First, is Ghilherme Inês that is playing drums, what a musician (Ramon is very good too). Ghilherme produced in 2000 a song from “Amalia” for “Dulce Pontes” called “cancao do mar” Uauuu… man, download this song from the net and listen. And in “vida”, Cid sings almost like no one in the world. The tone he sings is incredible. I think he used very well the minimoog, and the solina with the phase. (Like it very much). He used 2 kind of mellotron´s, a fender Rhodes MK2 for sure, that you called the electric piano and a roland SH1000 that we can see on the floor behind him in the photo inside the album. Best regards David Portugal

Jose Cid: 10.000 Anos Depois Entre Venus e Marte (1978)
Posted by on 2003-02-22 20:56:12
Hi, I'm Portuguese and i'm 20 years old. As you can see I didn't be born in the year of this release of José Cid. But i had contact with this albuns some months ago and I thinks it's just amazing. Cid was inspired by the thinking of the 70'. I'm suprized that the critic of this album in your countrie is much better than here in portugal. If you want more information just e-mail me: nuno.expo@mail.pt