Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

Click to Shop at Hip Market!
Main Menu
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Not Sure

Results | Polls

Random Headlines

[ Drugs ]

·Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
·A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
·Woodstock Was Not Stoned on Starbucks
·We're Losing the Drug War Because Prohibition Never Works
·Amsterdam Coffeeshops and Cannabis
·Amsterdam Coffeeshops - Ratings and Reviews
·Largest Single Raid In DEA History Goes Away
·Supreme Court Vs. Medical Marijuana Users
Categories Menu
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner
New Reviews
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness
New Articles
· Modernized Meat
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World

[ More in News Section ]

St. Augustine, Florida

It is a HUGE hippy hangout town. Rain or shine, you can always go down to St. George Street and find street musicians, vendors, and tons of cool kids just hanging. There are drum circles at the fort every week. Also, tons of hippy stores, like Gyspy's Moonrose (they have the best jewlery!) and Dreamstreet, a book store that has couches and stuff to chill on. And everybody there is friendly, you can just go up and talk to random people... some of them turn out to be really interesting.

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Florida

Hits: 10736

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by BlueJ on 2015-09-29 13:32:30
I have a friend near Melbourne Fl, trying to start up community gardens around the county, with goals of spreading country wide, giving all like minded people a safe place, where you work to live instead of living to work, travelers can stop and camp and enjoy good vibes as well as help garden all edible food which they can partake and all excess food would go towards the homeless in the community. trying to see how many supporters I can get to help my friend "Wind" who already has two different locations up and running on his own... more to follow...

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by laura on 2012-11-25 21:42:52
what places in the US still exist for kind nurturing and hones people?

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by Alan Webb on 2009-10-05 22:09:59
Im a traveling hippie stuck in Mayday, GA need to move further south but have no money ... somebody help.. alanwebb20@LIVE.COM

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by Sama on 2009-09-14 03:45:02
I agree with the previous post. I am a native to St. Auggie. As I lived there my species became rare. People just couldnt believe a native existed. The old fishing town of the area has been destroyed by developers. I left a year ago because I couldnt deal with the loads of people and developers and how the slow way of life changed. I went to Vermont, it was too expensive but I had a baby, now I am in GA. I am just lost, wishing home was the same. Sucks to be me, huh

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by Russ (Orange Blossom Jamb on 2009-08-23 13:49:29
I have always loved St. Augustine. I used to spend every summer there growing up because my Grandparents rertired near the beach there. I only visit there maybe once a year now but if you've never wandered around St. Augustine than you must add it to your to-do-list. If your in to cool hippie stuff in Florida check out www.OrangeBlossomJamboree.com May 21-23 , 2010

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by Fern on 2009-03-10 19:03:44
Hi - we are old heads looking at St. Aug to relocate, but don't know what part of town to look for a home in (where we'd feel at home:)...any suggestions?

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by DSampiero@gmail.com on 2009-03-09 20:12:10   My Score:
St. Augustine Drum Circle March 12, 2009, @ 8 PM. Come join us for a night of fun playing drums in the moon light at the St. Augustine Beach Pier.

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by beigekhakis on 2006-05-14 07:19:58
let me know, good hippy places to live, thanks plslvmn@yahoo.com

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by Airyn on 2005-07-10 23:34:19
This town is changing. Its becoming more and more like the rest of Florida. More and more people are discovering its charm and are ruining the old town. Becoming more yuppie and trendy. Beach area is becoming too pricey. Its still a nice place, but that hippy haven label is probably dying down here.

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by Daisy Ramirez on 2002-12-09 23:08:00   My Score:
Still have a drum circle every thursday night at the fort on san marco avenue. Beautiful beaches, goregous weather. Lots of heads hidden all over st. aug. reggae sunday is allways phat on the beach durring the summer. rainbow gathering regional is only a one and a half hour drive from st. augustine and takes place in febuary. overall st. aug is a beautiful place to relax and livley up yourself. if any of you kids/amily ever need a place to kick it while in st. augustine, give me a heads up. no need to sleep in the cold and hungry. hugs and nugs -daisy zionschild@meowmail.com

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by lori wood on 2002-07-27 13:13:12   My Score:
it sounds great how do i reach a commune in that area will someone wriye me at blushlushlife@aol.com ,thanks

St. Augustine, Florida
Posted by KarmaMama on 2002-05-31 18:44:29
Hi, if anyone happens to know anyone who was part of any communes in the seventies that goes by the name of Jacqueline Hiebert-Beuregarde-Christensen (perhaps also add Allan) please let me know My friend David is looking for her. She married him in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada and he wishes to annul the marriage so he can marry someone else legally. Thanks