Welcome to Hippyland


Main Menu
· Home
 · Login
 · Register
 · Hip Chat
 · Articles
 · Reviews
 · Surveys
 · Topics
 · Videos
 · Photo Galleries
 · Hippie Havens
 · Hip Quotes
 · Hip Glossary
 · Event Calendar
 · Submit Article
 · Submit Review
 · Recommend Hippy.com
 · Advertise on Hippy.com

Search

Search:

In:


Categories Menu
· All Categories
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner

New Articles
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation
· Peoples Revolution
· Hippie Drum (free ebook)
· Book from Roger Rea: Hipppies never die
· Comedy, Cocaine and Cable TV
· Hippie Songs Invade Texas Cowboy Country
· Off the Grid in the Natural State
· From the Novel, FLASHBACKS THROUGH A PURPLE HAZE
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Hair Rebellion

[ More in News Section ]

 

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)

click for more info or to purchase!When talking about the hippie scene from the 1960s, especially the music scene, one groups that gets brought up of course is Crosby, Stills & Nash (later with Neil Young). They were definately one of the big icons of that scene, and their self-entitled debut proves that. It's too bad that out of control egos, and out of control drug abuse (especially from David Crosby) nearly destroyed the band. If they band simply stuck to smoking a few joints or taking a hit from the bong, instead of later turning to cocaine, they probably would have gave us many more albums (instead of many albums from Crosby, Stills, Nash, or Young, or combinations of such). As everyone knows, David Crosby came from The Byrds, Stephen Stills came from Buffalo Springfield (he even tried auditioning for The Monkees, but luckily, was turned down), and Graham Nash came from The Hollies. CSN(Y) was very well known for their laid back, acoustic style with three part (or four part, when Young jumped on board) vocal harmonies that had a big impact on everything from various singer/songwriters, folk rock bands, and even prog rock bands (I'm pretty sure Yes wouldn't sound like they do if it wasn't for CSNY). This debut is full of great songs you probably know by heart, like "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes", "Marrakesh Express", "Wooden Ships", and "Guinnevere". Jefferson Airplane did a version of "Wooden Ships" off their album Volunteers, but I always felt the original was the best. Stills' "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes" was dedicated to Judy Collins, who I believe Stills was dating her, if I'm not mistakened. The two Nash recordings, "Marrakesh Express" and "Lady of the Island" was originally intended to be recorded with his old band The Hollies, but since that band would rather record an album of nothing but Bob Dylan songs at that time, Nash got pissed off, and left for CSN. This album truly gives me great memories of my childhood (even though I was born in 1972 and wasn't around in the 1960s). This was what I was exposed to long before I started finding out all these obscure albums that I currently review here. It's little wonder why these guys ended up at Woodstock. It's a no-brainer, if you're a fan of music from the original Woodstock, this album is a total must.

Added: October 14th 2002
Reviewer: Ben Miler | See all reviews by Ben Miler
Category: Music
Location: California
Score:

Hits: 12003

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by Candy on 2009-12-15 15:54:01
In 1975 a friend had a CSNY album (I can't remember the name) in which the last cut on one side was Find the Cost of Freedom and Ohio bridged together by a beautiful acoustic guitar riff. Later when they re-recorded the album but they spilt the 2 songs up...putting 1 on 1 side and 1 on the other. I would love to find a copy of the album or at least that particular version of the 2 songs. Can anyone help me? You can contact me at cjhemet@msn.com.

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by Candy on 2009-12-15 15:36:24
In 1975 a friend had a CSNY album (I can't remember the name) in which the last cut on one side was Find the Cost of Freedom and Ohio bridged together by a beautiful acoustic guitar riff. Later when they re-recorded the album but they spilt the 2 songs up...putting 1 on 1 side and 1 on the other. I would love to find a copy of the album or at least that particular version of the 2 songs. Can anyone help me?

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by BP of bastardpowered.com on 2005-02-07 22:15:31   My Score:
This happens to be the favorite album in my entire collection. And, much like another poster here, it was the main reason that I took up guitar. My goal was to play a recognizable Judy Blue Eyes - it's recognizable but now I have to make it perfect. It may be awhile. And to confirm - it was Dallas Taylor in the back window. They were going to retake the picture on the cover too, because they got themselves backwards and Dallas wasn't in it. But, the house was torn down when they went back. And that's why they have the photograph inside of the album cover. Incidentally, I spoke with Dallas many years ago and, despite his success with CSN, his favorite band was Manasas, another CSN offshoot and one of the better bands of that or any era.

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by Rick Endres on 2004-09-22 23:40:36   My Score:
This album made me decide I wanted to sing and play guitar; I'm still doing it successfully 34 years later, a part-time avocation that affords me a respite from the insanity of everyday life (and a lucrative second income!). One of the finest albums ever made. As far as the question of whose face is on the back cover, it's drummer Dallas Taylor. He wasn't actually at the photo shoot, but his face was stripped in later by photographer Henry Diltz. Just in case no one ever answered the question!

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by east coast wonder on 2004-07-19 10:48:24   My Score:
i try to imagine the album with voices only, no instruments. question: who is the guy looking out the door window? no, it is not neil young. if you know for certain please respond. thanx.

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by Del on 2004-06-14 10:16:23
Crosby Stils and Nash were great trippin' music back when trippin' was trippin'....but even without the psychodelics they were still indescribably brilliant artists. When Neil Young joined them, it made the circle complete.....C.S.N&Y are by far the best songwriters of there day.

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by Nick on 2004-05-29 13:03:20   My Score:
guys... its great work... cant find better words. Im obsessed about CSN (without young preferably). I would advise to listen to it... everyone should hear it... wooden ships, long time gone, Guinnivere... damn any song is jewel... two thumbs up

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Crosby, Stills & Nash (1969)
Posted by sydburnz on 2002-12-19 23:36:13   My Score:
not a bad album, I liked it much more a few years back, but now it seems a bit dated. Still, its better than Deja Vu, by a long ways. Suite Judy Blue Eyes is the highlight of the whole album....

Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results
Polls

Votes: 6754
Comments: 19

Old Articles
· Protest Against War with Iran!
· Former Revolutionary About to Become Brazil's President
· Hippy.com Updated!
· A Real Solution to the Economic Crisis
· Creating a new culture based on tribal values
· Weather Underground Fifth Communication (1970)
· Weather Underground Frees Timothy Leary! (1970)
· Marxism and Nonviolence (1966)
· The Weathermen (1969)
· Bill Ayers: Domestic Terrorist or American Hero?

Older Articles

New Reviews
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness

Featured Forums
· Marijuana Forum
· Hippies
· UK Hippies
· Music Forum
· Love & Sex Forum
· Psychedelics
· Politics Forum

Featured Blogs
·Skip's Travel Journal
·Inner Journey
·Old Tiger's Gypsy Journal
·My Wonderland
·The Accidental Blog
·Oldwolf's Journal

Hip Videos
Child of Thunder
Views: 4579
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 108

The New LA Folk Festival
Views: 4337
Rating: 2.99 Votes: 108

Scott Davidson: A Tracker in Marin County
Views: 4149
Rating: 3.12 Votes: 113

The Psychedelic Landscape Dept.
Views: 6701
Rating: 3.00 Votes: 141

Summertime - Janis Joplin
Views: 10262
Rating: 3.06 Votes: 217

Summer of Love 1967
Views: 11103
Rating: 2.97 Votes: 201

1967 Video about Hippies
Views: 12265
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 221

The Hippies Were Right!
Views: 8822
Rating: 3.04 Votes: 200


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © by Hip Inc.