Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

Click to Shop at Hip Market!
 

Denton, Texas

I recently moved here for school and was VERY pleased to find that there is a huge music scene here where a lot of fun-loving hippie types gather to have a good time. Everyone here that I have met are just great any hippie would feel at home

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Texas

Hits: 15116

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Denton, Texas
Posted by RockInRolla123 on 2012-04-14 23:25:30
Denton does suck and here is why. Denton used to have a music scene in the 90's after a new police cheif took over in 2000 it has been going slowly down hill. One of my firends just moved into a new place and had music playing at around 9pm some neighbors came over and told him to turn it off, what a joke. The Denton police give you tickets for playing music, riding your bike on the sidewalk and generally everyone there is bitter because of this stupid nonsense. The people there are not as friendly as they are in Austin, and Denton and Dallas no matter how hard it tries will ever have the  music scene that Austin, Texas has.

Denton, Texas
Posted by realityusedtobeafriendofm on 2011-11-03 08:35:32
FUCK AUSTIN! Austin is home to a bunch of whiny, arrogant, pompous californians. Austin is so saturated with arrogant hipster bullshit its hard too breath. Austin is like the pitchfork of the music scene. Perfect for those fuckers who can't do their own research and just follow the hipster heard so they can be 'cool'. Meanwhile Denton is your real underground secret. Austinites just want to be weird to be cool. Dentonites are just weird naturally. 

Denton, Texas
Posted by WBFS Manager on 2009-04-15 05:18:41   My Score:
hippys are trash and need to die.

Denton, Texas
Posted by nighttrain on 2009-03-29 01:21:31
Denton is cool for a little bit then you have to leave. It becomes very peyton place/ twin peaks like. Where everybody knows your name is not that cool. People know all your ex girlfriends and are most likely sleeping with them. If you don't leave you will end up teaching theatre at Texas Womens College. If you have seen dan at dans silverleaf drunk you have seen it a hundred times before. Nothing really changes.

Denton, Texas
Posted by DentonIsOkMuchBetterThanF on 2008-12-23 18:03:23   My Score:
I agree, Flower Mound is a Plano West West West, and fucken Plano SUCKS ASS! The UNT area is a great area for live music, Dans Silverleaf is one of my favorites. Hell you can even go to J&J Pizza and see live music and get $1 cans of Schlitz! Can't fucken do that in Flower Mound or Plano!!!! Fry Street is no more what it used to be, but if you drive down the street where Dusty's is located, there are a bunch of new music places going in and it's great! Denton does need more tye dye people (hippies and also non hippie wearing tye dye) to come close to Austin. I don't like the Denton public school district because those parents don't really have a clue. UNT is Denton and the Denton Square is the place to hang and it's great!! Too bad the UNT football team really sucks...oh well you can't have everything and it's not stuck up assholes like Plano or Flower Mound have !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Denton, Texas
Posted by BRADLAYS on 2008-09-05 22:00:15
There is NO comparison between Denton(sucksville) and Austin(only good place in the whole fucking state of TEXAS) If u think that Denton is even anywhere close to being as kick ass as Austin u a) have never seen the real Austin, b) are mad because u either never have , or used to live in Austin and u are a bitter mofo, or c) you are a crack head. I'm sure Denton has something cool like....... well if u think u can prove me wrong, tell me where its at, i might check it out sometime im up, but nothing compares to AUSTIN.

Denton, Texas
Posted by Nicole on 2008-09-05 20:48:36   My Score:
Denton is so boring compared to Austin! There is nothing to do here, and I can't believe that people are actually dissing Austin and saying Denton is going to be the next Austin, get this. Austin is the shit and Denton is just shit, get over it. This place sucks. 512 shorty!

Denton, Texas
Posted by nathan moran in desoto tx on 2008-03-26 20:44:50
denton sounds fun.

Denton, Texas
Posted by Chiggy on 2008-03-14 21:22:17   My Score:
Dude, Denton is like.... Have you ever slept with the chicks there only to get sand in your sheets because their legs are sandy and hairy? Have you ever had black feet from walking barefoot down to the Howdy Doody to buy a forty ounce and Laffy Taffy? Have you ever ran into the ice box at the Beer Barn on Bonnie Brae with your car? Have you ever eaten at the Kettle at 3 a.m. and thrown up at 4 a.m.? Have you ever gone wading in the drainage ditch at city hall during the Jazz Festival? Have you ever thought about joining the mug club at RipRocks? Have you ever slid up against another sweat soaked body at a Billy Goat show and got naked because they told you to? Have you ever skinny dipped in the pool at West Hall? Have you ever had tea with the Hari Christnas in their tent at Fry Street Fair? Have you ever worked at the State School? Have you ever traded bong hits with Pop's Carter? Have you ever watched the clouds go by from the hill at McKenna Park? Have you ever had a Purple Haze at Igloo's? Have you ever counted spare change to get the buffet at Rockyano's? Have you ever had a Corn Kit? Have you ever played in a drum circle with absolutely no ear for percussion? Have you ever lived in the Buddhist Temple on Locust for at least a semester? Have you ever seen "What's Eating Gilbert Grape" or the "Rocky Horrow Picture" or "Necessary Roughness"? Have you ever walked barefoot through a lawn that Frenchy mowed? Have you ever made the drive to Ardmore, OK at 1:00 in the morning for near beer? Have you been to the Observatory? If not, then dude...you're not in Denton

Denton, Texas
Posted by on 2008-02-03 07:29:26
Dertybird, the aptly named southern rock band from one of music's heartlands... Austin, TX, has been crafting tunes reminiscent of the loud rock and roll bands of the 70's for 3 years running. Recall the bands that used to fill football stadiums and shatter eardrums unapologetically and you will know Dertybird. Stepped on, teeth rattling, street fighting music... the kind that was part origin, part movement, part legend and wholly organic and alive. This is Dertybird and these are their roots. If you were there you'd know, if you wish you'd been there, come check out what it would have looked, sounded and felt like because these are the purveyors of what that time meant to rock music. Performing live in Denton Saturday, Feb 9th@ Dan's silverleaf 10:30PM

Denton, Texas
Posted by Dillon on 2008-01-26 23:14:23
fuck flower mound its a bunch of conservative parents with spoiled kids who cant think for themselves, DENTON is the shit!! ive lived here all my life but ive been everywhere, and theres no where else id rather be its a local thing we do have spirit its a fun relaxed and liberal town with great schools a great community and lots of stuff to do so if you haven't been here your missing out were taking Austin by storm, even though there building lame new shit the real locals no where to shop and who to support so Denton is here and isn't going anywhere

Denton, Texas
Posted by wildekatza on 2008-01-13 02:18:19
Hey, Howard. I know this is a year later, and you may not even check this board, but I would LOVE to get a copy of your Whitey tape! I still live here in the area and used to hang with the band and their girlfriends ( I am a girl) and watch them play in Denton and Austin. I had their tape forever and then had kids and my son when he was a baby pulled the tape out and tore it... :( Sad day. I would love to have a copy of the tape on CD if you could do that so that I can make myself a "backup copy" for my iPod! :)

Denton, Texas
Posted by Travis on 2007-08-17 23:41:28
Denton is a badass place. I've been here for about 4 years and I really don't see too many hippies or frat guys. They don't really bother me all that much. People act like all the alternagoth and anti-fad-act-different-from-everyone-to-be-cool scenesters are running rampant in denton, but in actuality it's probably the same ratio you would find on any other campus. The music scene is pretty good. Playing in a band myself (The Standard Issue) I end up hearing a good amount of great rock music. There are alot of venues and drink specials and such, it's just going to take the collective help of dentonites to turn Denton into the new Austin. The music is there, the venues are there (mostly). It's sad when you go to the bar and there is a REALLY good band playing and nobody is there to enjoy it. The Drink, Ur Moms, Haileys, Andys, Rubber Gloves, The Garage, and even Atticus (starting to have bands play thursdays...we'll see how that goes), and venues south of denton in Lake Dallas like Barflys and Flying Pig. They all have great music and it needs to be heard. Denton is growing where Deep Ellum is dying.

Denton, Texas
Posted by jazzbo on 2007-06-30 11:43:36
fuck what you heard. denton is still alive and kickin. people complaining all over the nation about cookie cutter shit moving in and taking out mom and pop biz... etc. its happening in austin too not just denton. so quit acting like its something atypical. people in austin are afriad of it turning into a round rock. Marriott hotels coming into austin and forcing out mom and pop shops and walmarts taking out old malls.... all that noise. so it continues to happen in denton too. as far as i know there are plenty of cool shops in denton.... and more are sprouting up. give it some time. its a cycle just like everywhere else. the new hip place in denton to be is at the square. old texas jive (used to be on hickory street---near fry) is moving into the square and being called "the boiler room" from my understanding... and the tomato (used to be on fry) is moving next to Hooligans there. rumor is is that rubber gloves is moving close to the square as well... on industrial i think. so have no fear folks... shits changing yeh... but the thing that makes denton denton is still around just evolving. austin has its fair share of cookie cutter shit too so dont single denton out. its the cool mom and pop shops/the people and the spirit that make the town a town thats unique.

Denton, Texas
Posted by Howard on 2007-02-13 04:57:49
I saw Whitey open for Baghdad Jones at the Bottleneck in Lawrence in 91 or 92. They were awesome. I still have the tape and it works fine. El Camino, Taco, Malfunkshun, etc.

Denton, Texas
Posted by bocaz on 2007-02-03 22:23:11
hey guys im not at all into the hippi thing, i dont smoke pod, i dont even share have af the activities you'll talking about, but the true is, this town is huge for arts and music, thats a true fact but like somebody mention already if you walk out of UNT campus two miles this town is gone, is pretty sad. The other day i went to haileys to listen this band from austin call noise revival orchestra, 20 people stay for the show and they dont suck at all, they actually pretty good, what happen with all the people whos involved in arts, who knows, they were probably smoking pod on the hood with some crackwhores. This town is growing a lot in the past 4 years and now this new project to develop on fry street is going to change everything, we are going to have gap on the corner, well in a lot of ways sucks. Denton will be a new town in the next 6 months. So i guess places like karma will be crowded with yupis instead of real people.

Denton, Texas
Posted by 36juan on 2007-01-05 09:37:08
Denton Texas is underrated. I thought Austin had the lockdown on indie-hippie cool for Texas. well i just moved here and i would like to get in touch with someone who is a denton veteren in the area who would like to give me the experienced 411 on this town... because i am enamoured by it. jbernardo77@hotmail.com

Denton, Texas
Posted by Whatthe???? on 2006-02-10 23:54:44
Are you kidding? Denton is a friggin hippie haven? The only thing that I've seen are this area that is even close to a "hippie" is fucking tweakers, aint nothing "hip" about Meth. Thanks for the newsflash, I'll stay here in civilization, aka Flower Mound, we have a minimum of white trash Bush Bashers, and they will not be able to afford to stay here long...WOO HOO AMERICA...LOVE IT OR FUCKING LEAVE IT.

Denton, Texas
Posted by julie anne on 2005-11-16 20:41:14
older hippy (40) looking for other starving artist to chill with. GLBT welcome. uglybeadsneedlove@yahoo.com

Denton, Texas
Posted by dRc on 2005-06-26 03:17:08
www.dentonrockcity.com

Denton, Texas
Posted by ledgirl on 2005-03-26 11:32:20
denton's not so bad...u get used to it...the longer you're here...i gotta say though, voyagers is the coolest shop in denton. it was the first store i went in and now that i work there, it's like a second home to me. i have my qualms and doubts about denton, sometimes it's a little snobby for me, but it needs good people and good vibes. don't let it be overun by the bible belters guys!

Denton, Texas
Posted by Lucas on 2004-10-11 12:25:19
Denton is a pretty dope place. Unfortunately, it's becoming so commercialized that it's beginning to look like Lewisville or a cheap version of Plano or something. I'm not sure why everyone is hung up on classifying it as fratty or hippy. Truth is, if you drive two minutes away from UNT, any direction, Denton loses both of those characterizations quickly. Having grown up there, it's easy to see why people who have only visited wouldn't think highly of it. The hype about the music scene is well deserved. The city just breeds a culture of music and the arts. For such a small city, there is a hell of a lot of public interest in (and funding of) the arts. There are tons of dope, hole in the wall art galleries, as well as the Greater Denton Arts Council, which has attracted such exhibitions as Ansel Adams and Chagall -- to Denton of all places. Music bright spots are Dan's Silverleaf, Rubber Gloves, Hailey's, UNT Jazz, and there are others. There is also a really fun, but sometimes hard to find, hip hop scene budding there. The bar scene is interesting, especially for me, having grown up there, but no longer a permanent resident. Some bars on Fry are exclusively fratty, and others appeal to a healthy, broad mix of people.

Denton, Texas
Posted by K on 2004-09-27 23:03:33
email me at international1996@hotmail.com thanks! I need/want to meet some new hippy folk .. and some new agers

Denton, Texas
Posted by K on 2004-09-27 23:01:57
Will somebody email the most current hang out spots in Denton ...

Denton, Texas
Posted by i forgot on 2004-07-16 00:33:59
bush sucks ass

Denton, Texas
Posted by Eric on 2004-05-12 02:48:05
The band Whitey was formed in Denton in the early 90's, the brain child of Corey Korn while playing in another Denton band called the Cowtippers. The original name was to be Kill Whitey (an ironic twist on a (mostly) white funk band), but Corey thought it might be too extreme and shortened it to Whitey. I was an original member in the group on Trumpet, and again later on playing guitar and background vocals. Other members I can remember include Chris Veon (sp?) lead vocals. David Willingham played guitar, Thad Scott on Sax (Now in Rotel and the Hot Tomatoes), Toby Sheets on drums, and Eric Hansen later on drums. As for others, it has been so long I can't remember last names. Those braincells are gone. As well, there were probably 30 different people in the band over time. There are still some of those tapes around, though I don't have any. Good luck.

Denton, Texas
Posted by C. D. McCullough on 2004-02-10 19:22:51   My Score:
Hell yeah, Denton is the place! Want to hear some more live music in Denton and say thanks to a young man just returning from Iraq? Feb. 21st at Dan's Silverleaf from 1-5 PM. Homecoming party for Dyrick Rainey, a Denton Resident just back from Iraq. Live music provided by The Steve Stone Band (Dyricks dad is the drummer) and Dusk Til Dawn. Cash bar and free snacks. Yall come check it out!!!!!!!!

Denton, Texas
Posted by Tripp on 2004-01-28 22:28:12
Hey, maybe you guys can help me out with something music-related to Denton. When was I living in Wichita Falls back in like 1993 (over a decade ago? GOOD GOD, MAN!!!), I went with some friends of mine to a club/bar/hippy-place called (I think) 721 (if that's wrong, please forgive me). There was a band there that night that played Parliment-type funk, and they had this OUTRAGEOUS, skinny, white-kid that was all pimped out. He was a total fireball!!! I know they were from Denton. I couldn't get their name right - I heard someone say "Denton Allstars", at one point - but I did manage to get a copy of a tape that they were throwing into the audience. The tape label read "Whitey Funk For Free" (was the name "Whitey" or "Whitey Funk"?) and featured a couple of standout tracks ("El Camino" comes to mind now). Obviously, that tape has gone bad over the past ten-odd years - much to my chagrin. Anyway, long story short, I totally loved those guys - even if I never got the name right. Does anyone know who these guys are? What ever happened to them? Did they ever put anything else out? Where I could find anything that exists by them? Dude, if anyone could help me out, I'd be totally indebted. Oh, and sorry I don't know much about Denton...but a hippy-town can't be all bad, now can it? Late!!!

Denton, Texas
Posted by SunLion on 2003-12-16 03:36:36   My Score:
I've lived in Denton all my life and I never want to move. Sure, there are the yuppie-frat types, but don't all college towns? Besides, it's much better than a lot of towns in the area, believe me, and it's not too hard to steer clear of them if you stay around Fry & Hickory St. over by UNT (not to be confused with TWU! They're both in Denton), although there are wonderful people everywhere, you just have to keep an eye out for them. They have the cool shops, such as Voyager's Dream and Voertman's (both over-priced, but fun to hang around!) and the sandwich place, Jimmy John's, and the pizza place, The Tomatoe. Rubber Glove is pretty awesome, as I've heard, but I'm too young to go (heehee). Also, if you like theatre arts, like me, the Campus Theater on Hickory is awesome, it's like my second home. And, if you go to the Golden Triangle Mall (I know, I know, but listen), there is a really awesome shop called Museum Earth. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I have always gotten a positive vibe here, and it's not all that bad, and I'm not going to let anyone bash my home town!!! LOL, peace y'all.

Denton, Texas
Posted by cookiehead johnson on 2003-09-13 05:08:26   My Score:
Denton is the coolest place I have ever lived. It is small and always something to do. There are some frats,but not many. It is primarily an art and music school. If you are in to real indy music not alterna grap you will find alot of bands that only hit london, new york , tokyo, san fran will actually play at rubber gloves. And for the guys girls out number guys something like 6 to 1. Given alot are feminist, but that just means to me they dont like stupid crap like flowers. Also you will find there are alot of good local bands that stayed after finishing school or teach music, such as sub oslo and brave combo. Where else can you find keg parties with freeform jazz.

Denton, Texas
Posted by Jenni on 2003-08-12 20:45:34
I have to agree that dallas is the center of hell but that is just because of the way people act in dallas.. Plus you can find some frat boys if you lie on greenville.

Denton, Texas
Posted by Crow on 2003-07-27 04:34:10
Holy shit, that's a harsh review of Dallas man. Although, denton is a huge mix of annoying frat boys and a bunch of fucking vegetarian miltitant feminist hippies. Yes, I hate starbucks too, but i hate all you alternagoth bastards that try to act different just to fit in as well. And maybe I'm just retarded, but there aren't many frat boys in dallas, in fact I haven't found any really in my years of hanging out around the area. It's mostly drug addicts and young professionals.

Denton, Texas
Posted by Flaminglips on 2003-01-08 23:57:51   My Score:
I havnet spent alot of time there, it seems generally nice. My mom drags me along to see family(i live in tyler where the hippie fad is reasonablly bad). There is an awsome shop called Voyagers dream. Could spend hours. Mainly playin didge. And you can smell it from across the street.yum nag champa. Its right across from the university. Later Darby

Denton, Texas
Posted by allison on 2002-11-12 12:25:35
Yo, I'm from funkytown, a stone's throw away. I love Denton. Sure, there are lots of yuppies and frat types, but for the most part, it's just a cool laid-back town. If you stay near the central part of town you can avoid most of the hyper-materialism. If you're ever there, check out Voyager's Dream on Hickory St at the corner of Fry next door to the print shop. Awesome shtuff...check it out. love.